University of Illinois Employee Reviews for Teaching Assistant

See reviews about:
Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 271 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Champaign, ILApril 8, 2017
Great school in terms of educational opportunities, as well as a balanced lifestyle. The university does an excellent job in preparing the students for the demands of the real world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commitment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 13, 2017
An institute which believes on experiential learning . Humility and modesty among co-workers is a quality that I would appreciate.
------------------
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Alma-mater
Undergraduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 8, 2016
UIC is great environment for learning and growing together.
The team skills helped work in a smooth manner.Highly qualified staff was a plus.
It enabled me to hone my teaching skills as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Urbana-Champaign, ILFebruary 16, 2016
a lot of kids , vibrant atmosphere , creative ideas floating around
it has been a fun place to work
professors are knowledgeable
fellow colleagues are from everywhere of the world
which is a nice thing.
Because you can learn so much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place with the opportunity to learn while teaching
Chicago - Teaching Assistant-Operations Management (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 25, 2015
As a Teaching Assistant, I learnt how to interact effectively with students. It was a wonderful experience to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University and Employee
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILJuly 30, 2015
There were a lot of opportunities available to gain new research experience and utilized cutting edge technology in daily research. Work/Life balance was very manageable and it is a beautiful campus and a nice area to live.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work is intense here
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 14, 2015
As a graduate student (MS), we have to work as teaching assistant to maintain our status. meanwhile we also need to work in lab to do research work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2015
It was fun learning new things and trying out different things. Creative students and challenging questions to be answered. I would say it is a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork is key
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Champaign, ILOctober 3, 2013
grading 300 papers and meeting with various students can be taxing but having a strong faculty team soothes stressors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable learning environment
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 6, 2013
As I was only a teaching assistant for the laboratory portion of the class credit, the job was variable in hours and durations. I learned new techniques from my supervisor that will help me in future laboratory settings. Overall, it was a great place to gain some experience in the work field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at, interacting, teaching and at the same time also learning from undergraduate students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 24, 2012
A typical day at work begins with me teaching the class about that particular day's lab exercise and the necessary theoretical points underlining the lab. I go about helping and guiding the students with this work as and when they come across some problems. It was my first experience as a 'teacher' and I must say I loved it. It gave me immense satisfaction to share the knowledge that I had. My students were enthusiastic about learning new stuff which made my work very simple.
Pros
good fun interacting with students
Cons
loads of lab reports to grade
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more University of Illinois reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Illinois. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 271 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1