University of Illinois Employee Reviews for Research Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative, learning and team work
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Urbana-Champaign, ILSeptember 30, 2016
Innovative job environment with flexible work timings, team work and helping each other when required makes work fun. Team work and time management are very important skills here. Working along with graduate studies helps you to be a better time manager.
Pros
Good learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity for anyone willing to learn
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILJune 1, 2016
Although you spend much of your time deep inside large research facilities where human interaction might be minimal, you get a chance to work alongside some of the leading experts in their field and be a part of something that is much bigger than yourself. The faculty were professional, personable, and conscientious. The hardest part of the job would be performing at the standard of the institution, which is high. The best part of all this is, once you're finally able to relax, being able to look back and say "I did" instead of "I could have".
Pros
Learn from the greatest
Cons
Strenuous work weeks, extra hours put in to reach deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great source of learning
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Urbana-Champaign, ILApril 23, 2016
Working with UofI, I received an opportunity to learn, grow and utilize my skills the best way I can. Teammates, work environment and hours are very suitable and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the top engineering colleges in the nation for excellent researches
Research Assistant, Mechanical Lead (Current Employee) –  Urbana, ILFebruary 23, 2016
In the Power and Energy group in the Electrical and Computer Engineering department, I was surrounded by the top engineering minds in research and academic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Research Assistant under Prof. James T. Allison (Former Employee) –  Urbana-Champaign, ILAugust 6, 2015
If you get a chance to go here, do it!I thought it was great for my career as it is full of brilliant people. I also enjoyed the fact that the town was nice and cozy, and fairly cheap.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carle Hospital
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILJuly 31, 2015
I had a great experience working in the nursing education department. I learned the importance of continuing education and training for new nurses. I was able to shadow nurses on the floor and learn more about a typical day for a nurse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 24, 2015
It was a Volunteer position for one month. And it was fast pace and learned so much in that one month. Supervisor was very good and have place for personal improvement aswell.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment for research and good people
Research Assistant (RA) (Current Employee) –  Urbana-Champaign, ILJune 22, 2015
graduate students usually work at least 8 hours per day. they are required to take classes in order to graduate. the required credit hour varies among the departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraged huge intellectual growth and maturity
Research Assistant and Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Champaign, ILApril 8, 2015
Typical day:
Check emails, respond to emails, work on manuscript, carry out experiments, manage undergraduate employees, and prep for the lab section that I teach

What I learned:
I learned how hard I can push myself in order to achieve the goals that I want.

My co-workers:
Working with mainly foreign lab mates has given me a wider knowledge in how to communicate with people.

Hardest part of the job:
Long hours

Most enjoyable part of the job:
Meeting new people and constant learning
Pros
constant learning, exciting, allowed for easy collaboration with others
Cons
long hours, competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, low pay
field research assistant (Former Employee) –  EBIJanuary 12, 2015
Enjoyed working for the university besides no overtime, a limit on how many hours can be worked. No health insurance and low pay.
Pros
Driving tractors and learning maitenence
Cons
low wages, no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well academic and research environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Champaign, ILNovember 9, 2014
I appreciate the disciplined and rigorous academic and research environment in UIUC
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating environment
Research- Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Urbana illinoisJuly 29, 2014
A lot of smart people to engage in intellectual discussion. Great supervisor. Wonderful campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UIUC CEE Dept
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Urbana-Champaign, ILOctober 14, 2013
Hard to balance life and work when you are a PhD student
Co-workers are very nice and helpful
High standard classes and research
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional lab experience
Lead Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILSeptember 17, 2013
Enjoyed working with a variety of cultures gathering information for experiment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, friendly, positive, cohesive workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Urbana, ILJune 6, 2013
The environment is accommodating to students' schedules. The management is friendly, encouraging and understanding, Fellow students and co workers are supportive and friendly. It is enjoyable to work with fellow peers and have the flexibility to manage work, academics and activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Research Experience
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 28, 2012
Great experience. I was able to learn how to conduct research studies analyze the data and gather participants.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start a career path
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 26, 2012
The professors are nice to students. Good to learn basic profession skills from school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more University of Illinois reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Illinois. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 270 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1