United States Postal Service Employee Reviews for Rural Carrier Associate

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance or appreciation Dont Do it!
Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  Granbury, TXOctober 15, 2018
No work life balance or appreciation Don't Do it! Can take up to 15 years to become career and get benefits until then you get treated like dog pooh. And don't even guaranty more than 1 day a week.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work and hard on your body
Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  Lees Summit, MOOctober 11, 2018
I have worked as a trainer for Serco as a contract employee for 4 years and when the contract was ending I decided to try something different. I have been looking for the opportunity to come back.
Pros
Money is ok
Cons
enviornment is bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mail carrier
Rural Carrier Associate (RCA) (Former Employee) –  Purcellville, VAOctober 11, 2018
I was promised 1 day a week, worked more like 6 days a week for 6 months straight. every time i had a day off i was called in. At least 1 time a week you would end up doing 2 or more routes because full timers called in sick
Pros
money, easy for full timers
Cons
part timers pulled in 10 directions
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managerment
RCA Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Oxford, NJOctober 11, 2018
RCA's get treated terribly, harassed, mistreated, expectations are high right from the start, expect new employee to be as efficient as someone that has been there for 20 years. Company policies are ignored or carried out however the supervisor dictates them.
Pros
None
Cons
Be ready for continued harassment from management and fellow employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Co-workers
RCA Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  Gallatin, TNOctober 10, 2018
Over worked due to management not able to do their job. Disparity of treatment with employees. And you seem just like a number to them like they can just replace you
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unorganized
ARC (Assistant Rural Carrier) (Current Employee) –  Pine Bluff, AROctober 8, 2018
Its too many chiefs and not enough indians with rotating supervisors from different locations and different attitudes is what causes the mix up and confusion. If everybody would be on one accord and stay on one accord, then I think things will run smoothly, but I guess people don't see that because it's the post office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, Inconsistent, Mandatory No Holiday Pay
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MIOctober 8, 2018
RCA's are required to be on call 7 days of the week. Management has an attitude whenever you ask for days off. If you have a family/personal life this is not the job for you. They own you. The location I worked at had a estimated 10 years until further advancement for a permanent position. Also, mandatory holidays with regular pay! Ridiculous!
Pros
Co-Workers
Cons
Work/Life Ratio, No Holiday Pay, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic job
Rural Carrier Associate (RCA) (Current Employee) –  Greenfield, TNOctober 5, 2018
The USPS is an American cornerstone and an amazing place to work. I’d highly recommend it to anyone with the skills necessary, and would point out that it’s one of the few companies that provides a living wage from the jump without having to have a degree.
Pros
Career advancement, pay, important work
Cons
The initial hiring process can be slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural Carrier Associate
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  New HampshireOctober 5, 2018
You start out at the postal service as a non career employee. This means not eligible to receive benefits. You are expected to work 7 days per week in multiple offices and with little training. You must work at a very fast pace and be able to multi-task. In the smaller offices you must supply your own vehicle and are expected to have a backup if your vehicle is unusable. The starting salary has decreased, however, you can make a significant amount of money because you can work as many hours as possible.
The union and management are still in an old mentality and have not addressed the changes that the postal service have faced with Packages and the major increase in package delivery and how to properly compensate for these changes. The amount of time it takes to deliver packages to each door as opposed to just delivering mail to a mailbox on the side of a road. There doesn't seem to be a place you can express these issues and have them addressed. It is very unfortunate for the postal service, the workers and the customers.
Pros
Decent benefits, fast paced, customer service, dealing with the public
Cons
Stressful, little to no support
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rca
Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  VirginiaOctober 4, 2018
-17 plus dollars an hr is great, if you get the hours.
-Must be willing to go to other offices for work.
-No benefits for RCA or CCA positions.
-In 5 yrs we have had over 8 different managers.
-Most routes do not have bathrooms, its just you and nature, if your lucky.
Pros
Great hourly rate
Cons
Lack of hours and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  Johnstown, OHOctober 3, 2018
Awesome people always willing to help and bail each other out. I will miss it when I'm gone. I make enough money working 2 days a week to help me survive as our business gets growing. Great atmosphere!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, KYOctober 3, 2018
my experience as a RCA. Management will hold you back if you're not in the cliche. Don't waste your time with this boss if you're not willing to be a yes man...
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Rural Carrier Associate (RCA) (Current Employee) –  IndianaOctober 2, 2018
It takes too long to get a regular position. Subs are on call 7 days a week, 363 days a year, and expected to work whenever needed. Working 6 days a week is typical. Subs get NO benefits. It takes years of this before getting a regular spot.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Demanding, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, great manager and co-workers, very stressful and fast paced.
RCA Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Scio, OROctober 2, 2018
Good place to work, intend to work long hours around the holidays. All in all i did like, but the maintenance to maintain my vehicle became to expensive to stay.
Pros
Driving around, listening to music, no micro managing
Cons
Short breaks if any at all, personal maintenance on own vehicle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and constantly in motion
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Wimauma, FLOctober 1, 2018
High volumes of mail to sort and case before delivering. Everyone is kind and willing to help you out however you need it. Once out on the streets, you work alone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  parts unknownOctober 1, 2018
No review just typing this because this website is making me, hope you're having a nice day so far and I hope you find the job that you're looking for. :)
Pros
good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, every day is different.
Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  Wilsonville, ALOctober 1, 2018
Much harder work than many people expect, but it can be a great experience. You are out in the elements of the weather every day. Great benefits and pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Buford, GASeptember 28, 2018
They work you seven days a week without and off day and if you do get a scheduled off day they call you in to work and ask for an doctors note to stay off on a scheduled day off.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Horrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
RCA Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Walls, MSSeptember 28, 2018
Most dangerous job during OEF/OIF has always been route clearance. The use of heavy equipment and mine detectors to locate, detonate, and/or remove IEDs and explosives from specified areas.
Drive up and down different Urban Routes in foreign countries to help maneuver other soldiers and civilians through vigorous terrain, and clear routes of any explosive devices.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the people and atmosphere
Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  Fort Valley, GA 31030September 28, 2018
The USPS It is hard you have to learn the casing and the route you trained on . The casing take about a month and half or more another thing is getting to your route I had no problem with learning the route.
Pros
No lunch if you a RCA
Cons
You half to take a break especially when its hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Postal Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17,212 reviews
55.6K
44.5K
34K
21.6K
11.6K

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture