United States Postal Service Employee Reviews for Postal Clerk

Found 1,164 reviews matching the search See all 17,647 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
PSE Mail Processing Clerk (Former Employee) –  1300 evans san francisco, ca 94124November 15, 2018
Easy competitive work. Makes day go by faster. Able to work various positions if help was needed. Management was great she was really concerned with well being of employees.
Pros
Pay
Cons
No career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lot of work
POSTAL SERVICE CLERK (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TX 78504November 15, 2018
great job for the time being. lot of hours and late nights to early mornings. had no real home time. takes about 2 years to be a real full time employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job but poor management
PSE clerk (Former Employee) –  Oak Creek, WINovember 11, 2018
The job itself was great, but to much drama with management, also very unfair favoritism. management always seemed to favor the workers that never did their job and they were very hard on the good workers. Also didn't care for being fired while on FMLA while I was taking care of my dying mother. Management was very disrespectful when it comes to performance with work.
Pros
great pay, plenty of hours
Cons
poor health insurance, and poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace place to work
PSE Mail Processing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 11, 2018
Come in get to a station run mail through a machine to sort mail to different areas of the state. hard fast pace place to work but can be fun. I learn to move at a very fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wanted change
Postal Clerk (Former Employee) –  Goleta, CANovember 9, 2018
I had a good experience working there but needed a big change I wanted something different to pursue in a cheaper area and also it was stressful with the long commute and just did not feel like it was worth the money no more I prefer my health over money
Pros
good benefits good pay
Cons
too far commute area is way to expensive to live around work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good life
postal clerk (Former Employee) –  New JerseyNovember 8, 2018
tedious often
patience
nice people
what you make it
showing up
meeting people
sometimes exciting
hurry up often
lots of classes and memos filled
with info.
going home late
going home
Pros
steady work
Cons
snow rain etc etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good place
Postal Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALNovember 7, 2018
Start the shift off at different times of the day. Set out to deliver mail and other items. drive anything from a 2 ton truck to a small vehicle that belongs to the post office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It
PSE Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA 90009November 2, 2018
I enjoyed working at the Post Office. The environment was fast pace and the time went by quickly. The other employees were easy to work with and very helpful. I would do it again if ever ask or offered.
Pros
Night Shift Is The Best Shift
Cons
Need more overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on location
Post-master relief, PSE Clerk (Former Employee) –  Plainview, ARNovember 2, 2018
Best place to work in small towns, but may be very stressful in bigger cities. Bigger is the office, more challenging it becomes to keep all under control and make sure no mail is misplaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career
PSE Mail Processing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Redford, MINovember 1, 2018
When you start off at the Post Office you have to know what you are there for. If you are there to support your family and have awesome benefits, this is the place for you. If you are there to make friends and be liked, definitely should think about something else. You meet good people but you are there to complete a job and go home.
Pros
meet lots of wise people, career advancement oppurtunities, good benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USPS is a great place to work
PSE Clerk (Current Employee) –  Brookville, KSOctober 31, 2018
Offer benefits, good coworkers to work with. . I love the customers, and how friendly they are. The job always has you learning something new everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Postal Service is definitely a career path
PSE Mail Processing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYOctober 30, 2018
Had my ups and downs, but overall nothing shabby about the company. I give it two thumbs up. Good Benefits some good people. We are all just trying to make iur money and and retire.
Pros
Benefits, compensation, breaks
Cons
Management can sometimes be annoying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postal Service Employee
Postal Service Employee (clerk) (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, INOctober 30, 2018
This job wile although a government job I would never recommend to anyone. You are over worked and held to a higher standard when you show that you have an decent work ethic while all full time employees that have been with the post office take advantage of the Union.
Pros
competetive salary
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my facility, other facilities are not as great
PSE Mail Clerk/Safety Captain (Former Employee) –  Pocatello, IDOctober 30, 2018
I had great mangers and co-workers. The atmosphere can be a little hard because seniority is everything. Career employees get away with doing very little work because they are protected by the union.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable career
PSE Clerk (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 25, 2018
I have had the opportunity to work for the United States Postal Service organization and would highly recommend it to anyone seeking employment within a government agency. It is a fast paced yet safe work environment where one can learn new skills and potentially secure their future retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government job so it isn't bad
PSE/Clerk (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXOctober 25, 2018
If you are in a smaller town post office it is really good. If you are in bigger towns it is cut throat and quick paced and there are people trying to bring you down to get you out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelling & Diverse Work Experience.
Postal Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Scranton, PAOctober 23, 2018
Working for the United States Postal Service provided the upmost experience in customer service, networking and professionalism. The experience was great.
Pros
Massive experience within a multi-fasciated work place.
Cons
minimal work hours to which accommodated my schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful environment
Postal Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 22, 2018
I enjoyed working at the post office even though it was a stressful environment , i do enjoy working and all the people i get to interact with , that be the best part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pse clerk
PSE Clerk (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIOctober 18, 2018
typical day at work when you start you train with a regular for a week
learned how to sort mail to the right address and use the machine to sort mail
management is alright not the best
hardest part of the job is learn quick and do it correctly
enjoyable of the job working for the usps
Pros
good pay, working for usps
Cons
too many hours no steady schedule if your not a regular
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and minor micro management
Pse Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAOctober 18, 2018
Be ready to train and have tough skin. Do your work and go home because making friends is NOT apart of your job description. Avoid the regulars who are rude and gossip. Listen and follow all of the rules. Meet your shop steward and stay professional at all times with everyone. Write down EVERYTHING; military time, time clicks, disputes, emergency contacts, verbal agreements and important details you hear and see in regards to your well being. Purchase comfortable shoes because you'll be walking or standing most of the time. Most importantly always be on time and have a good attitude.
Pros
Earn a decent pay
Cons
Some labor and minor micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Postal Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17,649 reviews
55.7K
44.6K
34.1K
21.6K
11.7K

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture