United States Postal Service Employee Reviews

Showing all 18,423 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career
Consumer Affairs Representative (Current Employee) –  Boston, MA 02205December 5, 2018
Simple Yet important
Fulfilling
Allows an individual to bring their personality to work in efforts of providing a great service. Will give you the tools needed to advance your career according to your will.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a nice jobbbb
MAINTENANCE (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 5, 2018
working for the post office is a great opportunity.. fun friendly environment.. great training... management is good. they do train.. the test that you are giving are basic knowledge test.. great pay plus benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day.
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 5, 2018
Signed receipts for registered, certified, and insured mail, and complete any necessary paperwork. Sort mail for delivery, arranging it in delivery sequence. Deliver mail to residences and business establishments along specified routes by walking or driving, using a combination of satchels, carts, cars, and small trucks. Management was tough depending on the supervisor. Some supervisors were very cut-throat meaning they care how yo got the mail out as long as you get it done. Others always mentioned safety first. Workplace culture was great seasoned carriers would give good advise on what to do to make things easier. Hardest part was delivering the mail at 930PM by yourself. The daily exercise and money.
Pros
great job and benefits.
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Rural Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Madera, CADecember 4, 2018
Not a job for all. very stressful. a lot of political bs. you deal with customers everyday and your a post office on wheels. Can be over whelming. All offices are different.
Pros
good money
Cons
drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Casual Mail Handler (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 4, 2018
Casual mail handler. First off pay 12.00 hr, no benefits, no pto no vacation must work every weekend and every holiday and paid straight time for holiday, if your off day falls on a holiday you must work on that day.
Supervisors talk to you bad and if you respond to them they call the postal police real fast.
Overtime. They are supposed to give you at least an one hour notice before the end of your shift to have to work overtime but they will sometimes give you only 15 minutes. As a casual worker they will let you work 360 days then lay you off for 5 days so they don't have to hire you in Baltimore md.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor pay no benefits horrible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable employment with competetive wages
Window clerk (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIDecember 4, 2018
Postal Service offers stable income with competitive wages. Paid holidays allow you to be home with your family for most of the holidays. Job security and freedom for upward mobility if desired.
Pros
Competetive pay and job security
Cons
6 day and now in some areas a 7 day work week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Mail Carrier (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 4, 2018
You go in, throw package, sort out mails, load your truck, go out and deliver then have to answer any question that customer have. Deliver packages and mail at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postal Serice
PSE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 4, 2018
The Post Office is a great income employment and if hired permanently have great benefits. It's long hours and work weekends. The work is not really hard.
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
second usps
pse clerk (Former Employee) –  Cherokee, TXDecember 4, 2018
first usps office i worked for was amazing an understanding boss the second boss i had when i relocated did not want to help when personal matters happened.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great.
Casual Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MADecember 4, 2018
They had me and another girl doing the completely wrong job for two days and didn't realize some how. We were supposed to be clerks, typing into computers, but they didn't have the position at all even though they offered it on the page.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
Uninformed workers, you have to pay for lunch, many ways to get in trouble
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great upsides. If you can get past the downsides.
CITY CARRIER ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Concord, MADecember 4, 2018
The job has lots of benefits such as good pay and great benefits. But the job is physically demanding and puts you through the ringer. They are severely understaffed and while they are eager to take in new people, they push new folks very hard. When I was hired, they were down seven full time carriers. I was one of three new hires, we all were either fired or quit. I think people tent to underestimate how tough this job can be. Also, do not try if you aren't willing to dedicate your life to this.
Pros
good pay and great benefits
Cons
physically demanding and lots of pressure from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
PSE MAIL PROCESSING CLERK, MAIL HANDLER (Current Employee) –  FloridaDecember 4, 2018
collate, bundle, and transfer processed mail from one area to another, and may be required to handle heavy sacks of letter mail or parcels weighing as much as 70 pounds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Substitute Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Townsend, DEDecember 4, 2018
Job was demanding but I enjoyed being a mail carrier. The job could be stressful but overalll rewarding. Hours were long sometimes short notice to report. Most PostMasters were great
Pros
Meeting People
Cons
Long Stressful Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job ive ever had
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  La Fargeville, NYDecember 4, 2018
Truly was a career I would have continued if I could of been placed when I moved to new area.. great area that I did work in.. and all my customers were sad to see me leave the area
Pros
Wonderful customers
Cons
Couldnt relocate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preparing Mail
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Trenton, NJDecember 4, 2018
Distribute mail to patron and businesses. Assisted the main deliver with delivering mail and was not given my own route. Workplace culture unfriendly and bias.
Pros
Customer Service
Cons
Bias
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Parkville, MDDecember 4, 2018
i loved to get up everyday and go to work at the post office i was working there for the holiday and i loved it and didnt want to leave when my contract was up i loved the pay i loved the hours and the manadatory overtime i loved the breaks we allowed to get and take and to interact with other employers in different departments and meeting new ppl
Pros
pay hours benefits
Cons
seasonal work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Postal Services is Competitive but Fun work Place
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Lehi, UTDecember 4, 2018
At US Postal Services I enjoyed working friendly management and co-workers. I have learned how to drive right hand side vehicles and deliver mails in a fast and reliable was even in winter stormy days.
Pros
Overtime was great
Cons
Stressful during winter holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
City Carrier assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 4, 2018
It was the greatest experience. Beautiful people to work with. the only bad thing is you have no life and if you have a family it is not convenient. Barely spent time with my children and had no rest at all. If you have no children, go for it. Will be working as needed and that is over 12 hours a day 6 days a week.
Pros
great co-workers, good paycheck
Cons
bad weather, too much overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No personal life
PSE Sales & Distrubtion (Former Employee) –  OHDecember 3, 2018
Pay is great but there are no benefits. Shifts are split so you basically work at any time they need you. Your whole day is belongs to them. You could work a 5 hour shift in the morning. Go home 3 hours then come back to work 7 more hours the same day. You get very few days off. No work/life balance at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management sucks
USPS Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, ILDecember 3, 2018
Great place to work , got along with other employees and the people I delivered to but some of the supervisors are a little tough to deal with, probably because of pressure from upper management who don’t have a clue on just about everything from its employees to the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Postal Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 18,428 reviews
55.9K
44.8K
34.3K
21.7K
11.7K

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture