United States Postal Service Employee Reviews

Found 20,123 reviews matching the search See all 20,129 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Putnam, CTApril 24, 2019
We work as a team. We work in a fast paced office. We strive for customer satisfaction. We work to deliver proficient services to the public. We are a worldwide family.
Pros
Great work enviroment. Great pay and benefits.
Cons
Its a physical and mental job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career opportunities
City Carrier Assistant (CCA) (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, KYApril 24, 2019
long walking hours regardless of weather, very tedious about deliveries and have required time frames, constantly being tracked via handheld. Good pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The trucker does everything, everyone else does nothing
Tractor Trailer Operator (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 23, 2019
You work at least six days a week 10 hours a day. Not bad right you get overtime. But you move serious weight. Load and unload and fast. Sweat your butt off then take the blame for every supervisor mishap. Thank God for a union cause without them you will never get paid right or time off right. It's North Korea with Trump constantly stepping in. The pay is just barely enough for cost of living your wife better have a job. It's good if your ex military but you will not be used to the work load.
Pros
Lots of hours and union
Cons
Skilled labor is not welcomed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced working environment long days .
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Naples, FL 34104April 23, 2019
Good job with good pay also good part time benefits after your 90 days. After you make seniority u get full benefits. Long hours durning season end of October thru Feb. All in all good job to have just couldn’t manage being a single father and not having much time with my son.
Pros
Good Pay / hours
Cons
No family time or time at home for Parenting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow work area.
USPS mail handler (Current Employee) –  Manchester, NHApril 23, 2019
Lack of management and a strong union leads work to a stand still. People are not friendly when you start working there, strong negative feeling in the building.
Pros
Union benefits
Cons
Lack of teamwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary but very mundane
Mail processing / distribution clerk (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 23, 2019
The salary was great for the work that you put in. The work is often boring and not challenging. Management seems to but more work loads on those that work rather than managing those that do not.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love my job
USPS Clerk (Current Employee) –  Lawnside, NJApril 23, 2019
It is a great job, with good benefits, and great people to work with. I have never had a bad day working at this job. The post office has taught me a lot in my business and personal life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best most mature coworkers I've ever had.
Mail Handler (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 23, 2019
I loved working for the post office but it was a contract position for the Christmas season. It was very hard work and very fast paced be prepared to lift heavy loads and work quickly. The people here are all very mature and grown there is rarely ever any workplace drama because we are all too busy for that. I will always appreciate the time I had there and the coworkers that I got to be around every day. This is a government job and everything takes forever to get done if you want a job here expect to wait anywhere from 3 months to a year for a call back.
Pros
Mature work environment
Cons
Takes forever to get a steady job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great but not always!
Rural Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Mancos, COApril 23, 2019
When weather is good job was wonderful. When weather was bad was horrible. With current ability for people to order anything online causes difficulties getting everything delivered in evaluated time. During summer months when days are longer was ok. In winter was very stressful delivering in the dark. Hardest part of job was keeping a vehicle operating. Was very rough 74 mile route.
Pros
People, nature.
Cons
Weather, vehicle space constraints, keeping vehicle operating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just for the money!!
Peak Season Employee (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 23, 2019
You will work over 8 hours. You will be expected to do the jobs of 3 or more people in one day. You will be harassed to do more work while watching others not do anything. And you will be the only person in your area working for a couple hours. It is extremely stressful. And they do not care about your personal life. But they pay well, get your money and get out if you have other goals in life.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably the worst job on the planet!
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 23, 2019
If you enjoy working in a very competitive, highly stressful environment for practically nothing and getting treated like garbage by management then the United States Postal Service is the job for you!!! They are hiring right now! Trust me, they are always hiring...at least you get to work outside I guess.
Pros
Working outside, customers really appreciate you, people are always happy to see you
Cons
Salary, Management, Stress, Competitive environment, no teamwork, i could go on forever!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
PTF sales and service clerk (Former Employee) –  Stanton, NEApril 23, 2019
THe individual postmasters in the smaller communities were in it for the numbers. They played favorites and only wanted you to do the menial tasks as fast as possible. They pitted co-workers against each other.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
No hours and no set schedule. Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The past was good
Rural Carrier Associate (RCA) (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSApril 23, 2019
The pay was good and the workers were friendly. The things I didn't like were how they would not give insurance to people that are not there as full time but you worked as if you are full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
MAIL CLERK (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCApril 23, 2019
Process the mail sort mail, distributted incoming and out going mail into the correct address of postal boxes. Operated various types if equipment, bundled, labled and routed sorted mail to designated areas based on the destination and according to establkished procedures abd deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USPS Carrier
Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Hudsonville, MIApril 23, 2019
Very difficult company to work for. Never know when you are getting out for the day. Very stressful and not family friendly. Very demanding job family, mind, body.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usps
United States Postal Clerk (Former Employee) –  Macon, GAApril 23, 2019
USPS is a fast-paced working environment. A lot of different things going on. But gave me the opportunity to advance within a short amount of time. Long work days but great pay
Pros
Good hours great pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United State Post Office
Casual Mail Handler (Former Employee) –  New Castle, DEApril 23, 2019
I help build boxes
Rap mm and emm trays
Put mail on to a ramp
Load and unload mail trucks
ship and receive mail according to location
take two 15min breaks and 1 half and hour break
learn new thing so that you can lean a helping hand if someone is
out or sick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your job and nobody will bother you
Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Southwest philadelphiaApril 23, 2019
Do your job and everything else will follow. If one person doesn't do there job everything else will suffer. Start your work with a good attitude and leave with a good attitude. Try to help new employees understand there job keep a good clean and safe work environment. Talk to people the way you want to be talk too.
Pros
Working outside in great weather
Cons
Working outside in bad weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Degrading
Rural Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  East Stroudsburg, PA 18301April 23, 2019
USPS does a good job on in class training, but not enough on the job realistic training. There is no balance between personal life and work life. Work hours can be long, there are no days off, no sick days, vacation days, you work 7 days a week and health benefits is the worst.
Pros
$17.78 an hour for location
Cons
Breaks are not paid. You are expected to work fast and lift heavy items
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work
CCA- City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, OHApril 23, 2019
It's difficult work, moreso than you'd guess, and they ask an awful lot of it from you. Winter is steady 14 hour days, 6 days a week.

Summer is more like 50-60 hours a week, and they have an exaggerated sense of what constitutes a fair work day so it's not just long hours, they're whipping you on top of that.

But it pays well, it's satisfying, it affords you the status of being a mailman, and let's be honest, you have no other decent choice without a degree.
Pros
Status, pay
Cons
Prepare to be perpetually exhausted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Postal Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 20,129 reviews
56.4K
45.2K
34.7K
21.9K
12K

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture