United Overseas Bank Employee Reviews

Found 144 reviews matching the search See all 215 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Renumeration/Stability Trade-off
Vice President (Current Employee) –  Singapore, SGDecember 4, 2018
Working at a local bank is pretty straightforward regardless of position/department/function. There is a tacit understanding of job stability but with a trade-off of lower renumeration relative to industry peers in other companies.
Pros
Job stability
Cons
Poor compensation and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place for a fresh graduate
Senior Officer, Financial Protection Advisor (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 26, 2018
This organization is great. The best place to work.
Flexible in working out days off, the friendly environment
able to learn a lot of new stuff
manager are all willing to guide new people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long working hours
Global Trade Product Analyst (Current Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 28, 2018
Long working hours with very senior ppl in the dept, very difficult for young ppl to adapt there. ppl there seems contented to be working there for over 20 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Investment in Infrastructure
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  RafflesOctober 22, 2018
The firm is proactive and dynamic with good working rapport and teamwork among fella colleagues. It is very result oriented with high expectation that drives result. However, firm understand that it needs to invest more in FINTECH and IT infrastructure to keep breast with the market development.
Pros
Friendly environment / Good working rapport among fellow colleagues
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
VP, Group Retail Business Finance (Former Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 7, 2018
Overall team work is good and very productive. I enjoy working with the company and have work life balance. Colleague are friendly and willing to provide guidance and help each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good too
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  AlexandraSeptember 29, 2018
Not too heavy on the office politics side, adaptable. Work/life balance is alright.

Very good working environment. Love the people there. Very helpful when it comes to assistance needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced and Supportive Environment
Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 10, 2018
• Proactive in engaging clients and prospects to understand individual’s financial needs and providing them with timely information, advice and recommendations to fit their banking requirements
• Dedicated management and monitoring of existing clients' portfolio and customising financial planning and solutions to meet clients' ever-evolving financial objectives
• Call on and source new individual prospects while maintaining strong long-term and on-going relationships with existing clients
• Compile required documents and conduct KYC/CDD in compliance with bank's prescribed standards and industry regulatory requirements
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping board
Bank Officer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 30, 2018
Good stepping board for new learners in Trade Finance. Volume is relatively high. Specialization in work. Good culture and good immediate bosses. Job rotate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun learning place
Administrative Assistant (Contract Staff) (Former Employee) –  NovenaAugust 23, 2018
colleagues are easy to get along.

do have lots of work to do but we all work as a family kind of work place. management is good and easy to get along too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivating and fun working environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tiong BahruAugust 7, 2018
Learned a great deal on banking and finance products knowledge

Polished up communication skills with through contact with colleagues

Being able to learn more on the banking and finance industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your standard banking workplace
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 22, 2018
As a major bank in Singapore, most of the things that can be said has been said. They have great benefits, many career path and work environment.

Due to how big the institution is, there is no telling how great your immediate work environment is, it can be really good or really frustrating due to colleagues or supervisor.

People say that employees rarely leave jobs but they leave managers, I think truth can be said about myself when my department had a change of manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Management was amazing.
Remittance Officer (Former Employee) –  AlexandraMay 18, 2018
The management in UOB was really family based and everyone was there for one another. The team were really there to help you be better. The environment was just a fun loving team all around.
Pros
Amazing view from the office
Cons
Salary was low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  SingaporeMay 9, 2018
Just not the retail service sector where hours are getting long and loaded with long list of targets from personal to corporate. Good Benefits for health, hospital.
Cons
Really long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-oriented bank
FI Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 28, 2018
Good bank with strong family-oriented culture. Hard to comment further due to relatively short tenor here. Good place to learn and strengthen knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Bank Teller/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 26, 2018
Typical day at work. Company need to practice work life balance too. Open doors to employers for career advancement. Long working hours and lack of mutual understanding and communication between employees and employers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best platform for learning
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  AlexandraApril 23, 2018
Helps me to improve my coding and design skills with good work culture.Apart from this,helps me to improve my multi tasking ability which is most relevant in IT sector.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a productive and motivation team
Personal banker (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 18, 2018
Normally we had daily routine job such as we need to communicate with client and provide some professional advice to them. The company always give us valuable training such as how to handle customer, how to serve customer better. I had learned a lot of experience while i worked in the UOB.
Pros
Have been trained to be independent, handle customer
Cons
stressful job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Support
Business Support (Former Employee) –  Telok AyerMarch 27, 2018
Checker role and scanning of documents submitted by RM, good working environment and lovely colleagues, manager was good and understanding. learn about bank operations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Bank
Part Time Bank Teller(4yrs now) (Former Employee) –  UOBMarch 1, 2018
A warm friendly working place. Nice meeting people from different walks of life during operation hours. Enjoy serving others the way we want to be served.
Pros
Uniform provided
Cons
Need to work on Sat/Sun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice colleague
Service Executive (Current Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 28, 2018
Nice colleague,although everyday work till 7- 8pm, but i learn a lot from here, i have a brunch of nice colleague here to teach me,help me while i face any problem
Pros
can claim my air ticket and accomodation
Cons
Long hours, not enough lunch time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Overseas Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 215 reviews
537
489
365
213
111

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

United Overseas Bank Reviews by Location