United Overseas Bank Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Senior Telesales Officer (Current Employee) –  United squareNovember 30, 2017
Routine,I learned to be more aggressive.Management is fine,culture is fine too ,The hardest part of my job is when i'm struggling to reach my quota.Best part of my job is when i reach high commission and free travel.
Pros
Tea break morning and noon
Cons
To much OT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working with a family
Senior Telesales Executive (Former Employee) –  NovenaNovember 1, 2017
Work involves promoting UOB insurance products only to UOB customers. Learnt alot about banking related matters and its more like a family. Management identifies and recognise individual potential. Most challenging in this job is rejection and handling customers' various objections in buying the product. Most enjoyable is when a satisfied customer gives his compliments. At the end of the day you feel proud that you have done job well
Pros
Annual leaves and medical benefits
Cons
Need to do overtime occassionally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treasury Specialist
Treasury Specialist (Current Employee) –  Orchard RoadOctober 29, 2017
Updates on overnight market
Update clients portfolio
Structure notes for clients

culture is toxic, people are accustomed to security, no motivativation
Pros
job security
Cons
bad culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and fun
Bank Clerk (Current Employee) –  AlexandraOctober 21, 2017
Processing of business internet banking applications and data maintenance. Scanning of efx, filing, handle internal mails, pack and synchronize tokens.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company
Manager (Current Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 14, 2017
Depending on the department you are working in and the culture within, you can be either be joining the Zumba workouts while enjoying the sunset or greeted by the security officers in the empty lobby. You will know when you are there. Good Luck.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Associate Vice President (Current Employee) –  AlexandraOctober 8, 2017
Good working enveronment for beginners
Slow learning curve when starting to gain years
Political - some are political and never really given trust to youngsters
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning opportunities
Bank Officer (Former Employee) –  Raffles PlaceSeptember 18, 2017
Good working culture. Fun learning environment. Good advancement opportunities. I was promoted twice in my 7 years of service with UOB. Work life balance.
Pros
Office environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay job
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cecil StreetSeptember 10, 2017
Work/life balance was low, but the bonus could be very good if your performance met the management's expectation. Overall the workplace culture would be great if the management could cultivate team spirit in the office. Hardest part of the job was the long working hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was the time when you received the bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet
IT Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  AlexandraSeptember 7, 2017
There isn't a lot to learn whilst working there. I've picked up a few skills in excel. However, the work environment there is actually relatively good.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Not much to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security but very poor work life balance on most teams
Senior Software Developer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 26, 2017
Overtime work is very common, very often and unpaid. No food allowance, only taxi reimbursement. Job security is good as they retain even contract staff as long as service is required even through a recession.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Unpaid overtime work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a bank what do you expect?
Personal Banker (Senior Officer) (Former Employee) –  HarbourFrontAugust 25, 2017
Culture here is everyone for himself. The management lets you survive on your own. They only care about sales and don't even bother to teach you on the job skills. System is very old and time wasting.
Pros
Branding
Cons
Never see the sun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Exp
Test Analyst, Project Executive (Former Employee) –  RafflesAugust 23, 2017
Open colleagues willing to share their experience and allowing newcomers to learn.
Work life balance depending on which team you are and the workload assigned.
management is clear about the direction of the project and what needs to be pushed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Environment
Senior Officer (Former Employee) –  TampinesAugust 17, 2017
The working environment in my department - Factoring - was a good place whereby the team is always on a lookout for one another and always providing a helping hand to whoever in need.

Knowledge of the system and the product is also widely shared among colleagues and we keep check of one another to make sure that we always adhere to the strict deadlines and Service Level Agreements set between Business and Operations.
Pros
Fun Envvironment
Cons
Long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Personal Banking Associate (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 14, 2017
Big and strong company. Asian kind of management, culture is ok, most staffs are Asian from different countries. lots of benefits, from medical and entertainment.
Pros
recognition
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Personal Banker, Senior Officer (Former Employee) –  Paya LebarAugust 6, 2017
working in teams for sales. Meeting customers and introduce finance products to assist customers in their finance goals

Expertise in selling insurance and investment products
Pros
many incentives and rewards
Cons
long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Senior Officer (Current Employee) –  Jurong EastAugust 2, 2017
I have learned about customer service in banking sector, some customers are demanded, we need to serve them fast and it is quite a challenge job for me. The enjoyable part of the job is actually when we talking and serving with customers. I treated the customers as our family members or friends so tha they feel happy when banking with us.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Senior Bank Officer (Current Employee) –  Central SingaporeJuly 25, 2017
I love the people that I work with because they help me get my job done no matter how hard some things are and no matter how long it takes. Things were really hard for me at first considering that I am the only who cannot speak Mandarin in the bank but everyone has been really supportive and helpful.
Pros
Free food, company events
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and grow
Senior Executive (Current Employee) –  Alexandra Road, SingaporeJuly 16, 2017
Nice place to learn and grow as they focus on training and grooming their staffs will required skills and knowledge. Good and productive working environment and very good people to work with. They believe in the organization core vales and work hard in achieving the bank's mission.
Pros
Benefits - Lifestyle, Medical
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In Cards team always work
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 30, 2017
A typical day at work is, you start at 9am and on the average leave at 8-9pm. From technical perspective you'll learn a lot because they have in dept knowledge of mainframe technology. But on the other hand, they don't make use of new technologies to improve their system.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Extended work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced environment
Customer Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  AlexandraJune 19, 2017
I worked at the call center. The training provided is comprehensive. The people are friendly and willing to answer queries of newcomers. There are several food place options for you there.
Pros
free buses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Overseas Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 172 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2

United Overseas Bank Reviews by Location