United Overseas Bank Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No worklife balance
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 17, 2018
Expectation is to work every weekend, without taking compoff, even for developers.
Have no process implementation.
Have many project with very less resources and limitation of dev environment.
Pros
Have lots off work to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 13, 2018
- Flexible job & working hours if you are able to meet your target.
- Good benefit with different kind of event held every year.
- Training and coaching provided to ensure staffs' capability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Associate Officer (Former Employee) –  Little IndiaFebruary 4, 2018
Very good progress and future job prospects. Wished I hadn't leave the company at that point of time when i was younger. Would have been in a capable position than where i am now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable yet lack of work life balance
Bank Officer (Current Employee) –  TampinesFebruary 3, 2018
Working in UOB is generally great. Their employee benefits are reasonably good.

However, career progression in my current job is close to impossible. Furthermore ,the working hours are long (from as early as 0730 to as late as 2100). Because of this, I hardly have any work-life balance. Both career progression and working hours are probably the hardest part of the job.
Pros
Great and understanding colleagues
Cons
Long hours, little or close to no work life balance, no career progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the Call Center. Compensation and benefits are good.
Senior Officer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJanuary 24, 2018
I worked in the Call Center. Compensation and benefits are good. You get paid vacation leaves immediately. Not much advancement. I learned a lot. It is extremely fast-paced.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Limited advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable workplace
Associate Officer - Operations, Retail Banking (Former Employee) –  Raffles PlaceDecember 12, 2017
This is a local bank with a long history in Singapore. Job is stable however in retail banking, there is a high volume of workload and my role is customer facing so it can be heavy at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Murex Consultant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeDecember 4, 2017
Pro:
- Excellent company to work
- Good package
- High profile
Con:
- Overtime during project deadline and production cut-over
- Poor project managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Senior Telesales Officer (Current Employee) –  United squareNovember 30, 2017
Routine,I learned to be more aggressive.Management is fine,culture is fine too ,The hardest part of my job is when i'm struggling to reach my quota.Best part of my job is when i reach high commission and free travel.
Pros
Tea break morning and noon
Cons
To much OT
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working with a family
Senior Telesales Executive (Former Employee) –  NovenaNovember 1, 2017
Work involves promoting UOB insurance products only to UOB customers. Learnt alot about banking related matters and its more like a family. Management identifies and recognise individual potential. Most challenging in this job is rejection and handling customers' various objections in buying the product. Most enjoyable is when a satisfied customer gives his compliments. At the end of the day you feel proud that you have done job well
Pros
Annual leaves and medical benefits
Cons
Need to do overtime occassionally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treasury Specialist
Treasury Specialist (Current Employee) –  Orchard RoadOctober 29, 2017
Updates on overnight market
Update clients portfolio
Structure notes for clients

culture is toxic, people are accustomed to security, no motivativation
Pros
job security
Cons
bad culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and fun
Bank Clerk (Current Employee) –  AlexandraOctober 21, 2017
Processing of business internet banking applications and data maintenance. Scanning of efx, filing, handle internal mails, pack and synchronize tokens.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company
Manager (Current Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 14, 2017
Depending on the department you are working in and the culture within, you can be either be joining the Zumba workouts while enjoying the sunset or greeted by the security officers in the empty lobby. You will know when you are there. Good Luck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Associate Vice President (Current Employee) –  AlexandraOctober 8, 2017
Good working enveronment for beginners
Slow learning curve when starting to gain years
Political - some are political and never really given trust to youngsters
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning opportunities
Bank Officer (Former Employee) –  Raffles PlaceSeptember 18, 2017
Good working culture. Fun learning environment. Good advancement opportunities. I was promoted twice in my 7 years of service with UOB. Work life balance.
Pros
Office environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay job
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cecil StreetSeptember 10, 2017
Work/life balance was low, but the bonus could be very good if your performance met the management's expectation. Overall the workplace culture would be great if the management could cultivate team spirit in the office. Hardest part of the job was the long working hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was the time when you received the bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet
IT Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  AlexandraSeptember 7, 2017
There isn't a lot to learn whilst working there. I've picked up a few skills in excel. However, the work environment there is actually relatively good.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Not much to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security but very poor work life balance on most teams
Senior Software Developer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 26, 2017
Overtime work is very common, very often and unpaid. No food allowance, only taxi reimbursement. Job security is good as they retain even contract staff as long as service is required even through a recession.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Unpaid overtime work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a bank what do you expect?
Personal Banker (Senior Officer) (Former Employee) –  HarbourFrontAugust 25, 2017
Culture here is everyone for himself. The management lets you survive on your own. They only care about sales and don't even bother to teach you on the job skills. System is very old and time wasting.
Pros
Branding
Cons
Never see the sun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Exp
Test Analyst, Project Executive (Former Employee) –  RafflesAugust 23, 2017
Open colleagues willing to share their experience and allowing newcomers to learn.
Work life balance depending on which team you are and the workload assigned.
management is clear about the direction of the project and what needs to be pushed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Environment
Senior Officer (Former Employee) –  TampinesAugust 17, 2017
The working environment in my department - Factoring - was a good place whereby the team is always on a lookout for one another and always providing a helping hand to whoever in need.

Knowledge of the system and the product is also widely shared among colleagues and we keep check of one another to make sure that we always adhere to the strict deadlines and Service Level Agreements set between Business and Operations.
Pros
Fun Envvironment
Cons
Long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Overseas Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 182 reviews
532
471
357
213
19

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

United Overseas Bank Reviews by Location