Total Wine & More Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Okay PT job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  River Edge, NJJanuary 22, 2018
I did really enjoy working here, I stayed almost 6 years.
The best part was learning about wine, beer and spirits.
I liked my fellow employees, but management left something to be desired.
Pros
learning about the wine culture
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and tasty
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Claymont, DEJanuary 21, 2018
A typical day at total wine and more is pretty much laid back I get to learn about wines and spirts from around the world the management is quite overloaded but they are starting to incorporate updated practices the culture is mature and diverse the hardest part is the amount of product to be handle the most enjoyable part is that its wine and spirits
Pros
Great culture
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best job i ever had...........
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Broward County, FLJanuary 18, 2018
this was a good work place the people was respectful they know how to run a work place inside and out i wish the job was not seasonal i would do it agein with no qustions
Pros
free lunch
Cons
fun work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Stressful
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDJanuary 10, 2018
You typically work at least 50 hours a week at Total Wine. I learned how to reconcile statements for month end. Management is horrible; nasty attitudes and inconsiderate. The hardest part of the job was meeting deadlines that were impossible to meet. The most enjoyable part of working there was receiving a pay check.
Pros
Learning about reconciliations
Cons
Inconsiderate, Rude, Disrespectful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I thought it was a good learning experience
front end customer service (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, WIJanuary 9, 2018
It had some very nice people working there, pay was low and it was quite physical. Would consider a sales job there if I were to reapply. They could be critical instead of encouraging on occasion.
Pros
some of the busy days free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked at 2 Total Wine stores
Sales / merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, MNJanuary 8, 2018
Two stores like day and night. LOVED the Maple Grove store and HATED the Woodbury store. Would go back in a heartbeat, if it was like Maple Groveā¤ I wish I never transferred from there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill work place
Spirit Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJanuary 4, 2018
It's nice and relaxed. You talk to customers and help them with their purchases based on your knowledge. I learned the differences between all types of spirits.
Pros
free lunches, relaxed
Cons
competitive hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 3, 2018
Loved this company. They are super nice, they want you to succeed. They want to promote from within, and very eager to train! They make sure to take care of all their customers as well as their team. It felt like a family!
Pros
Gave extra hours, catered lunch, games & contest
Cons
late shifts and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZJanuary 2, 2018
Coworkers are great and supportive. You can ask anyone questions and they will help. Managers are fun and good to work with, they also help out on the front end when busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Merchandise Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 28, 2017
If you wanna about wines this will be the perfect company to apply for they will fill you in about all the different wines and beers they carry you can always sip the wines and beer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning potential
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXDecember 13, 2017
Fun company to work at for the most part. Monthly team engagements helped unite us as a team. They offer classes for certifications in Wine, Beer and Spirits.
Pros
Fun, supportive team
Cons
Work-life balance almost non-existent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tasting and self guided learning
Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXDecember 7, 2017
Very structured and controlling atmosphere. Lots of opportunity to learn and tasted many different wines and spirits styles.Very large selection, however only the Winery Direct (house brands) are what company is interested in selling.
Pros
Monthly wine allocation
Cons
Micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier/Sales (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CANovember 26, 2017
Good place to work great atmosphere. lots of growth opportunity for those who are in interested. lots of fun perks as well like discounts and tastings of popular wines. You learn a lot about wine and other alcohols.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced place to work
Front-End Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Union, NJNovember 25, 2017
fast pace and fun place to work managers work with you. and discount on wine purches. light money counting and closing paperwork is eazy. employees are great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Merchandiser & Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLNovember 25, 2017
Hours were very long and pay was terrible. Pay raises were almost non existent and as well as advancement opportunities. Management was not always aware of responsibilities due to positions usually being held by people from outside of the company to fill the roles. No rapport with management in order to fill out daily duties in an efficient manner.
Pros
Knowledge of different spirits and wine
Cons
No advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wine
Wine Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 23, 2017
I was a wine consutlant and they did compensate with 12 free bottoles of wine every month to rate. There was alot of climbing up and down ladders and getting cases of wine from stock. I learned aolot about wine as they do send you to wine tastings and i did get to meet some winemakers.
Pros
free wine
Cons
hardly any breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wine Manager
Assistant Store Manager (Wine Manager) (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaNovember 23, 2017
The culture of Total Wine is holding it back from being a really great place to grow a career.

Most days feel like I'm trying to fit 10 lbs of *stuff* in a 2 lbs bag.

Management sets unrealistic expectations and fails to hear the solutions to opportunities. Employee turnover is high, even for retail, and the amount of training that is required to be even the most entry level of positions means that you're constantly having to train new people without the support of veteran staff.

A typical shift is 10 hours long with a single 30 minute meal break.

The culture is toxic and negative at the store level.
Pros
Free case of wine every month and ample training.
Cons
Low pay, Long hours, No WL Balance, Toxic culture, no upward mobility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sales/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 18, 2017
i love it it was great. hopefully i can work somewhere like that again. helping people. and making people feel great!!!!!!!!! I appreciate the opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temporary Christmas 2012 position
Front End Team Member (Former Employee) –  Huntersville, NCNovember 16, 2017
Day was pleasant
Heavy load of physical work for a cashier position
As a cashier the manager expected the cashiers to clean
bathroom and trash bins
I ended up having to load grocery carts outside
Heavy volume of work moving cases of beer and wine through belt at cashier counter
Manager expected me to be on a ladder 30 feet in air loading boxes on shelves, when she knew I did not have medical insurance.
Pros
It was pleasant working with people and helping them with billing transactions at cashier counter
Cons
The manager I had was not considerate of safety for someone with no insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Spirits Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 16, 2017
sold and managed the liquor department, merchandised aisle. stock freight liquor bottles. had to meet sales quota. maintained aisle to company standards
Pros
relaxed enviorment
Cons
meet sales quota
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Total Wine & More. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 329 reviews
576
486
390
252
125

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture