Total Wine & More Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at.
Cashier, Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 31, 2017
I loved to work at Total Wine but they recently switched me to night shift. So, I'm looking for a little more money at a new place and only work the day shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Facilities Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDAugust 25, 2017
The employees there are great. I established some great friendships there. Extreme favoritism in upper management and the turnover ratio is extremely high and the pay scale is terrible for the amount of hours you spend there and the volume of work they're asking you to do...
Pros
Store discounts, team members and location..
Cons
Short breaks, pay scale, long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  North Miami, FLAugust 25, 2017
Total Wine have the potential to be a great company to work for depending on Management. The store in North Miami the staff is cool, Management is extremely lazy and just don't care. The more money you spend the more they try to assist you. Spanish workers run the store.
Pros
they make sure you eat. They take care the workers on holidays
Cons
Management sucks and they lazy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Learning
Spirits Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 24, 2017
You will find yourself organizing, cleaning, doing shipment, saling,making labels, doing orders and at times other people jobs. Very relaxed , sometimes demanding ,overrall the weekend is what makes it fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment. Great knowledge
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  FloridaAugust 17, 2017
I never had a problem with an associate or manager, they are very friendly. You learn and even taste a variety of wine, spirits, liqueur and beer on a daily basis. By the way, you can't swallow the alcohol. It's a good work environment.

Recommendations: Manage your delivery more wisely, because every day we have delivery, there is a mess. Unfortunately the store and stockroom doesn't have the space needed for all the products that come in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's retail
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJAugust 16, 2017
A typical day for my position involves a delicate balance between stocking shelves and interacting with customers. I learned how to better manage my time effectively to satisfy both needs. Management isn't 100% terrible, but isn't great either. Workplace culture is mediocre as many of the employees are cool people and enjoyable to be around, but the job itself in uninspiring.
Pros
free lunches + nice discount on Winery direct wines
Cons
no discount on beer and poor pay scaling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work!
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Silverdale, WAAugust 2, 2017
Great place to work! The management team is very responsive to the needs of its employees and customers! There is on-going training which allows for you to say up-to-date on new products and services so that information can be passed onto customers.
Pros
Responsive management team; on-going training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
Co-Manager/Manager (Current Employee) –  VirginiaJuly 31, 2017
I would pass on Total Wine. It is a temporary place to work if you need it. There is no upward mobility, and rules are not applied evenly across the company. Turnover is roughly 60% for management and wine associates.
Pros
Free Wine, Free Lunches
Cons
Work/Life, Winery Direct Products, Associate Training, Upward Mobility, Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work but be ready for a fight
Wine Associate (Current Employee) –  Allen, TXJuly 20, 2017
I have to push for things that were promised during my interview. I like to learn so that is really the only thing holding me there. I feel like if i need something fixed i have to beg and fight for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Customer Service, Cashier (Current Employee) –  Claymont, DEJuly 17, 2017
It's a job! One break 30 mins. If you smoke(cigarettes) you can take about 5 smoke breaks (only 5 mins though). Need better Management and some Management needs to be retrained or trained in all departments so they know knowledge of products and procedures.
Pros
Discounts on wine and free class knowledge on wine and beer plus spirits
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Corporate Madness!!!
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 17, 2017
A company that boasts it's profits, and sales numbers should compensate the employees better. There is no advancement potential, as all management is hired from outside of the company. Company spends tons of money on training these people, and neglects the current employees that are already working there. Total lack of respect and understanding of work/life balance. The job requires standing all day, and watching management chit chat while you bust you're back. Always understaffed, and you watch employee after employee leave for a better job. Raises are a joke, and you can forget about the promises you were told when hired. The company has no connection to the back bone of the company (the workers), and it shows with it's high turn over numbers. Look elsewhere, if you are seeking a job with growth potential.
Pros
You're co-workers
Cons
Management, pay, promotions, work/life balance, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lynnwood, WAJuly 15, 2017
If you know nothing about wine, spirits and bet you'll learn a lot. However, the pay is low and they run their stores understaffed. Working retail could be a lot worse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work.
Retail -Receiver/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Union, NJJuly 11, 2017
Responsible for all merchandise that is delivered to the company. Duties include cross checking of vendors bill vs store purchase orders. To review cost and quantities of all merchandise.
Pros
Day goes by quickly!
Cons
Long hours. Never an 8 hour day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place but empty promise in advancement
Wine Associate (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 9, 2017
Fun place to work if you are a sales driven individual with more energy than a hamster on cocaine. The best part of the whole company is the education. I learned more at this job in one year than i did in my entire 5 years at a previous job. For the most part management is good at the store level. Regionally, however they are more disconnected and don't understand the needs of the employees. There is a lot of miscommunication and some kinks to be worked out in HR. Hardest part is moving up and most enjoyable is the experience and the education
Pros
very giving company, great education and fun environment
Cons
bad communication, and no clear advancement oppurtunities within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Front End Team Member (Former Employee) –  Palm Desert, CAJuly 9, 2017
Working there was great and fun. Enjoyed working with my coworkers I had. Holidays were fun got to be in theme with them. And contests on selling a specific product or quantity of them . Overall enjoyed my time there.
Pros
Free lunches, incentives, contests
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive workplace.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLJuly 6, 2017
I loved working here and for he most part the people were very nice and helpful. But some of the management was more towards the money and less towards the employees and customers.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Management and corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance, low pay, long hours
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 5, 2017
Be prepared to work long hours regularly, eleven hour days are a standard. The systems, training videos, computers, and equipment are extremely outdated and unnecessarily tedious.
As in most retail settings, it's moderately fast paced, and you're encouraged to push the Store Brand merchandise, instead of the name brand things, because the profits are higher.
You will work late at night (eleven or even midnight) and/ or early in the morning (six or seven a.m.)
Management is constantly changing, and you're constantly understaffed.

You can move up fairly quickly, but the pay isn't worth all the extra hours and sweat you'll be putting in.
Pros
Decent discount on certain items
Cons
Long shifts, outdated technology, zero support, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Merchandiser / Sales Associate / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAJuly 4, 2017
It's a fast paced environment. You are on your feet a lot but what Retail Job are you not? You have some movement up, but most likely you will have to relocate to another store. Not sure what that is about.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough retail
Beer Associate/Merchandiser/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 1, 2017
Tough retail job that requires a lot of patience with management. The entire atmosphere really thrives when you have a great manager working there. Most often there is not one but some are lucky
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend this place
Merchandise Team Member/ Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Pinecrest, FLJune 26, 2017
It is a good place to work part time...not much room for advancement...work is mostly seasonal then hours get cut and people get let go...very little pay for high paced work / environment...
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Total Wine & More. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 258 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3