Total Wine & More Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
total wine
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 24, 2018
low pay. high stress. labor intensive. standing for hours. don't offer job advancements. the pay raises at the end of the year are not adequate for living. Most raises were less then a dime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs I have had
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 24, 2018
The people in that environment are the best as the managers will help you throughout the day if you need it. Coworkers are easy going and great to wrok with, giving you the feeling of a good day to work.
Pros
Free lunches and other things
Cons
A bit of micro managing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really enjoyed work here
Front End Team Member (Former Employee) –  Huntersville, NCMarch 20, 2018
really enjoyed working here was a nice enjoyably job loved my work and the people that i worked with got great discounts fun stuff and staff great location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in transition
Wine Associate (Current Employee) –  VirginiaMarch 19, 2018
What had been best characterized as a family-owned retail business has grown exponentially in the past few years to a multi-billion dollar corporation. Managing the daily operations has not kept pace. IT systems and inventory control are far behind current practice. HR policies and standard operating procedures are inconsistently applied. Staff turnover at every level of operation is a huge issue.
Pros
Intersting job duties
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stuart, FLMarch 14, 2018
This company is all about clicks. If you belong, you will go far. If you do not belong, it does not matter how hard or well you work, you are going no where. The company says it promotes from with in and yet they are always hiring outside for supervisors and managers. Working here is a dead end.
Pros
Other employees
Cons
Pay, hours, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work enviorment
SALES AND MERCHANDSING SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  huntersvilleMarch 8, 2018
good place to gain some quick sales experience. very low pay though. management is poor and you'll work long hours. co workers are all nice people very relaxed for the amount of volume they receive. be prepared to stand at the register for 8 or more hours.
Pros
sales expierence
Cons
poor management-+
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
FETM- Cashier (Current Employee) –  Everett, MAMarch 6, 2018
I have only had 3 jobs in my life including total wine and i can say i love working for total wine. They give chances for so many different things. They allow associates to travel to assist other stores that are new get ready for opening, they give associates the chance to move up in the company, they reward the hard work all stores do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and great people.
Reciever (Current Employee) –  Danvers, MAMarch 5, 2018
We come in and do our job efficiently and work as hard as we can. Managers can’t seem to agree with each other and tell the associates diff things which gets them confused at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 3, 2018
Typically works about 50 hours a week. Breaks are not existing but lunch is 30 minutes. The company does give managers free wine every month for learning purposes. Great company cares about training
Pros
Wine tasting
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDMarch 3, 2018
Management is fair
Co-workers are friendly
customers are friendly
there wasn't any part of the job that was difficult
the most enjoyable part of my job was getting free wine for selling by the case.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace in a relaxed setting
Front End Team Member (Current Employee) –  Lewisville, TXMarch 2, 2018
Overall, Total Wine is a great place to work. the management is accommodating to your needs and all employees treat one another with full respect and company takes care of its employees quite well.
Pros
Free Foods, Discounts
Cons
Very busy in holiday time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with good perks. Hard to be considered fully permanent
Wine Team Member (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 1, 2018
Fine. Nothing permanent but a good stop over if you understand wine. Full time has attractive perks with a fair quantity of free wine for education. Stressful emphasis of WD products and silly customer return policies that end up hurting are my biggest criticism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, but fun
front end team member (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WAFebruary 27, 2018
Working at a store like this can look stressful, but you'll always have a group of people to help you find a particular wine/ beer/ spirit and they are always willing to help find whatever it is you're looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't expect any work life balance
Wine Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Claymont, DEFebruary 27, 2018
Not a bad place to work if you don't mind having an ever changing schedule and no room for advancement to the corporate office or management.
Do not expect flexibility with your schedule to be returned in your favor either.
The part timers here didn't mind, as they had set schedules around their availability but everyone else full time is expected to shuffle their lives around weekly to suit the stores needs.
Also, work weeks are at minimum 50 hours and though you are paid hourly and compensated for overtime, the long days, 30 minutes only breaks, and over all burnt out culture of the full timers is a lot to handle for that long of a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not want to comment
Front End Supervisor/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Town and Country, MOFebruary 26, 2018
I was not a good fit, I felt like I was never really part of the management team. They were to clickish. they were to engrossed in selling the Winery Direct products and pushing all day to sell those products. trying to get customers to buy WD instead of the National Brands.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like alcohol and can get in full time, it's great!
Seasonal Wine/Spirits Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 24, 2018
I was seasonal, so I unfortunately didn't get to stay very long. Management was good, although I have my gripes, as any employee would. The job wasn't hard, but there is room to improve the way the company handles overstock in stores. Overall it was a fun job, and I miss it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company, real sense of comradery
WINE TEAM ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Norwalk, CTFebruary 23, 2018
Total Wine is a great company to work for. Real team and goal oriented. Always a real sense of comradery with the other co-workers. The company is doing exceedingly well, which give you a good feeling to work for a successful company.
Pros
Good benefits, real team effort from co-workers.
Cons
Hours are irregular, so work life balance is not easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but stressful and low-paying job
Wine Team Member (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLFebruary 22, 2018
Much of the work is interesting and fun, with the pleasure of learning something new daily. The employee discount is excellent, and most of the co-workers are great to work with.
For a three billion dollar company, wholly-owned by two brothers, the pay for those below management level is embarrassingly low, with most entry-level employees is below the poverty level. Even supervisors are paid below $20/hour, in spite of the daily stress of their responsibilities.
To keep operating costs down, staffing is always inadequate, creating stress because of not being able to properly serve the customers, and complete assigned and necessary tasks. Likewise, a short 30-minute lunch break is inadequate to relax and eat, without gulping down food, further increasing stress levels.
Pros
Daily learning, discounts, cool co-workers.
Cons
Low pay, high stress, working holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMFebruary 20, 2018
The scheduling was completely random, with little regard for personal time. Management was incompetent, they would rarely help with tasks and provided almost no on the job training. The attitude was basically "Figure it out yourself". I remember around 7 employees quitting within two months and they all had similar complaints. Also, I never received a pay raise that was promised in my interview. I cannot recommend this company in good faith. I think this could be a good place to work if the management changed. Maybe give more than a 30 minute break for 10+ hour shifts, and provide a uniform with more breathable fabric for merchandisers.
Pros
Management was usually good about granting requested days off.
Cons
Poor management, no set scheduling of any kind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
centralized management
Senior E-Commerce Developer (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MDFebruary 17, 2018
Very limited opportunity to get a promotion. Some people stay in BA role for 5 years. The IT manager is very scared of taking responsibility after getting suggestion with details like concepts and prototyping.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Total Wine & More. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 323 reviews
575
484
390
250
124

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture