Stanford University Employee Reviews for Post-doctoral Fellow

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and lean on new research techniques and technology. Highly competitive and fast pace environment.
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CASeptember 27, 2017
Great place to work and lean on new research techniques and technology. Highly competitive, fast pace environment and easy to collaborate with highly experienced scientists.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with great resource
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAAugust 10, 2017
Stanford University is a place with great resources and the best environment to conduct research and learn via interacting with thought leaders in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My research work was enjoyable
Postdoctoral fellow (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMay 4, 2017
Nice place to work. Enjoyable part was my research work. Hardest part was that there was little opportunity and support to progress and start independent research carrier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical post-doc experience, but with great support
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAApril 19, 2017
Post-docs will never be fun, but at least at Stanford you get all the support you could really dream of. There are a lot of great researchers here, and collaborations abound.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A vivid collaborative environment full of challenge and innovation
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 16, 2017
Very collaborative and stimulating scientific environment, with basic science and engineering intermingled. Working hard and constantly being challenged is the theme in the lab. Really learned and matured a lot during these 3+ years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to study and conduct research
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 28, 2017
Stanford is a great place to work as a postdoc.
Although the cost of living is kinda insane in Bay area, Stanford provide better salaries than other universities.
Stanford also provides great resources and platform for postdocs to conduct top-tier research and encourages collaborations.
Pros
Great resource and lots of talents
Cons
Cost of living is too high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, nice people, beautiful location
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJuly 8, 2016
Really excellent place to work. If you can look past the high COL, it's a top-notch job. They provide a subsidized Caltrain pass to most employees, too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place for research and every day learning new stuff
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAApril 21, 2016
-Interacting with lots of smart people helps to improve the knowledge every day.
- Very interesting and creative projects/research
- The hardest part of the job is high workload and responsibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 13, 2016
I love Stanford. I met a lot of talent people in campus, attended numbers of great seminars, took quite a few classes. And the work experience made me grow to an independent scientist.
Pros
Great resources, people, and weather
Cons
Not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good university, I like to do research there.
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CADecember 16, 2015
It is a beautiful university, I like to do research there. I had a lot of profs who served as my mentors, always willing to help and share advice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place and wonderful people
Human Frontier Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CANovember 6, 2015
Stanford is a wonderful place both for research and life. You will meet with the smartest people in the world. It is a place where you could learn whatever you want to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice location, tons of resources, a nice work environment
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAOctober 20, 2015
Stanford is great, but given the type of work, the work/life balance can be skewed. Also, Given the prices in the bay area, the salary isn't that great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learned
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAAugust 27, 2015
Scientific Research
Working in Research Groups
Managing PhD and MS students
Presenting research to sponsor companies
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJuly 17, 2015
Nice place to work, very good learning environment , nice and smart people around you , learning all the time. good family work balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Post Doctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 3, 2015
I was here only for a one year contract as a post doc. I learned new things and it was very productive for my career there are lot of facilities to do science comfortabley I short period of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to do science
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAFebruary 16, 2015
A lot of collaboration is easily gained in this research oriented institute. The Principal Investigators really encourage new ideas and people who work here are genuinely intelligent and excited to work with others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring, super productive, and exciting workplace full of bright, interesting colleagues with a passion for their work and a good sense of humor.
Post-Doctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 23, 2015
The most exciting part about this place, is that you learn something new every day. You get to work with smart people from all over the world who each have their own experience and expertise, and don't mind sharing it! This was particularly important for me because I hold a PhD in Chemical Engineering and was starting a post-doctoral position in Materials Science, so I had to learn a lot. But it proved to be a very exciting challenge that made me realize that you can do anything as long as you are motivated and persistent.
Of course, in research there are always moments that are tough, when you have performed the same experiment already a hundred times or tried to determine an unknown in already a million different ways. But then, the next day, you keep on trying and you succeed, giving you the biggest satisfaction ever!
At Stanford, creativity in research is highly supported and students are giving the opportunity to independently explore their talents to full extent. This is what I am seeking in my professional career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top level of research facilities and best scientists and technicians
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CADecember 16, 2014
The hardest part of the job is to get used to handle all deadlines,
however, after certain time you achieve that. The most enjoyable part of the job is to work with top level scientists and learn something new everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 18, 2014
productive
intelligent
expensive rent
stanford farm
I do not have too much to say here right now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent research environment.
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAMay 8, 2013
This is an excellent place to do research and work with leaders in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stanford University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 383 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0