Stanford University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay...Good location...
Temporary Employee (Former Employee) –  Menlo Park, CAJanuary 23, 2018
This job was very beneficial to me in many ways.. I was a young man at the time who wasn't sure what I wanted to do in life.. This job gave me an insight on working hard to become succesful..
Pros
Good pay..Good Vacation time..Hands on training..
Cons
extreme conditions at times.. Unfair and unequal opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work- life balance Terrible traffic
FACULTY AFFAIRS ADMINISTRATOR, DEPT OF MEDICINE (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 22, 2018
No work- life balance
Terrible traffic back and forth
Little no none work flexibility for telecommuting
Some Schools tend to overwork their administrative team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 22, 2018
High tech higher ed environment. Working with the world's greatest minds i the faculty. Culture was collaborative and supportive. Can't beat it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bureaucratic and not suited to all personality types
Administrative Associate (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 21, 2018
This position is not a standard executive admin role. It should almost be called a financial analyst type role. I knew about one week into the job that it did not suit my skills nor personality. VERY heavy, detailed expense reporting using proprietary software which takes several hours to master.
The people were nice, but the job was just not for me!
Pros
Variety of good eating places on campus, the staff, the campus grounds are lovely
Cons
The duties!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
DAPER Staff (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 18, 2018
Love the workplace culture. Amazing Campus and Facility to work at. Is a great opportunity to make connections and learn from those around. Fun filled atmosphere to be apart of!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple Functions
Project Manager-OSP (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 18, 2018
Work day included all phases of OSP work. Billing, contracts, repair, construction, relocation. Difficult to manage so many functions everyday. University shifting to academic roots. OSP work costly from time, material perspective. Hard to cut costs.
Pros
Rglar hours close to home.
Cons
Lots of uncertainty. No role organization. Limited over sight.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work because of the salary and benefits.
Administrative Associate III (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 18, 2018
Working at Stanford University in the Office of the Vice Provost for University Budgets and Auxiliaries Management was great fun. The position allowed for some flexibility and room to grow. Workplace was very congenial and productive.
Pros
Large work force
Cons
Distance from where I lived at the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Chef (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 16, 2018
It's an outstanding place to work. Plenty of chances for advancement, many place to work on the campus. The management staff is caring and thought full.
Pros
many of options for different work options.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and environment but...
Life Science Research Professional (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 13, 2018
I love working at Stanford however my job requires me to be in the lab every single day. It would be close to perfect if I had a day off. My only time off is when I actually take time off, which is hard to do in my lab.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Work every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work space
Recreation Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 9, 2018
Very easy to handle, very good work environment, good clients and members. You meet a lot of different higher level position people and none of them are condescending
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and Calm Work Environment
Director of Operations, SCOPE (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 6, 2018
Working for Stanford comes with many benefits, the most notable of which is the work-life balance afforded to most of its employees as well as the security that comes along with a higher education position.
Pros
Work-life balance, Insurance benefits, security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer work
Residential Director (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 3, 2018
My job was to oversee the summer high school programs. It was fast-paced and long hours, but when you are just working for the summer, totally feasible. The management was superb. They were super organized and creative, but also knew how to get down to business.
Pros
location, staff
Cons
not much time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inertia to change
Clinical Trials Research Process Manager (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 2, 2018
This particular department was not very open to change. Strong sense of heirarchy, which could be sometimes counter productive.

Very helpful and supportive co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Assistant Director of Athletic Communications (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 1, 2018
Stanford is an exceptional place to work with a great work/life balance. It is a great culture with plenty of resources available at one of the world's premiere institutions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stanford University
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CADecember 28, 2017
Offers a wide range of student-friendly or part time positions. Pay was higher than minimum wage in my experience. It is a lively community of undergraduate and graduate students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mileage may vary
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CADecember 19, 2017
Great benefits and access to all resources. It obviously varies depending on your specific position. In general Stanford is one of the best academic institutions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training experience
Surgical pathology fellow (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CADecember 18, 2017
Best place to get pathology training. Large volume of in house cases and numerous challenging consult cases. Expert in the field for teaching and education. A very supportive environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CADecember 17, 2017
Stanford was a great place to start as a banquet server because of the team willing to help others and making sure that all tasks are understood. Stanford is also very understanding
Pros
Environment
Cons
Limited fulltime positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CADecember 14, 2017
- smart people to work with
- a lot of resources to do research
- high pressure and poor work-life balance for researchers
- salary is low and benefits are not good
Pros
collaborative environment
Cons
pay and benefits are bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An incredibly professional environment.
Guest Research Consultant (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CADecember 14, 2017
I cannot disclose much, due to NDA, but that's probably the only negative thing about working at, with, and for Stanford and it's faculty. The environment, resources, and faculty are top-notch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stanford University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 480 reviews
5254
4148
348
221
19

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture