Stanford University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i have learned
Checker (Current Employee) –  East Palo Alto, CAApril 22, 2018
I have a few responsibilities that i'm responsible for and i don't mind doing it and it's not as hard as i thought it was. it's kind a easier but it's kind a hard to standing in one place during all that but i power like a champ.
Pros
opportunity to responsibilities
Cons
hard time standing in one place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting projects
Machine Learning Researcher (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 15, 2018
At Stanford University, I have had an opportunity to work with incredible people on exciting projects, to learn a lot and build bioinformatics expertise. Management takes care of people in the group and leads the group with their knowledge and experience.
Pros
Interesting proejct
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice pace
Residency & Fellowship Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAApril 9, 2018
Culture is very scholarly environment that encourages collaboration not only within the department but also other departments. Great benefits for all and an overall great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and Rleaxed place to work
SENIOR INFRASTRUCTURE ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAApril 9, 2018
Really awesome place to work. Wonderful buildings, great lively campus, great food. Free travel and an open minded management. In and all its an awesome place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAApril 1, 2018
It was nice to work for Stanford University I really wonderful experience I still have friends and family working for the company Pretty good benefits.
Pros
Everything was free food drinks
Cons
Over all everything more perfect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stanford University
Creative Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 26, 2018
Stanford University is a great place to work and develop your professional career. The academic environment keeps things face paced and interesting. The employee benefits range from employer matched retirement plans, to BeWell incentives for healthy lifestyle choices.
Pros
stability, scheduling flexibility, great work environment, many employee benefits
Cons
traffic, career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer job
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 23, 2018
Worked for a Stanford employee: not for Stanford University itself. Was compensated generously and given fair hours and breaks as needed. No complaints on my end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with professional software development team
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 21, 2018
In bay area Stanford University is not the best option if you have enough knowledge and experience. If you be a self motivate you can live with Stanford otherwise culture of Stanford doesn't encourage you to move forward and keep yourself up to date!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much interference from HR
Director, Sponsored Receivables Management (A/R) (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 19, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed my position and manager however there was to much oversight and interloping by HR in my final year. It was obvious they and upper management had a plan to change the management of my Manager's department and thus mine. Which they have now done.
Pros
Great place to get ahead
Cons
Watch your back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Diversity
Project Management Consultant (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 19, 2018
Stanford lacks diversity of African Americans in leadership roles, there were a few in administrative roles but not executive management. The culture is not at all what I expected. I wouldn't want to work there until they changed.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Lack of diversity
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and quick-space envionment
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 16, 2018
Stanford is full of talented student, researcher, engineers and professors. Everything is in full speed mode. People do their job with full of passion and enthusiasm.
Pros
Innovative idea
Cons
fast-pace live
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Office of Community Standards Administrator (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 16, 2018
Fast paced and always on the go. Be ready for something new everyday. Have to be a good listener to listen to the kids hurting and that have been challenged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stanford
Associate Director, OPA and SoM (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 16, 2018
Stanford is a wonderful institution to work for, there are amazing and many opportunities; great people and wonderful culture, encourage innovation. The work culture encourages trying something vs. not doing anything at all. It is very collaborative and diverse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grandiosos beneficios
Food service worker 3 (Former Employee) –  Ricker dinningMarch 13, 2018
Stanford es una de Las mejores empresas done eh laborado, Las prestaciones y beneficios son muy Buenos.
Pros
Beneficios
Cons
No hay mucha option de crecimiento
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high quality research
Biostatistician (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 12, 2018
I was able to perform high quality research and work with world class clinicians and researchers. I had an excellent manager and mentor. Had flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 11, 2018
Working at Stanford University is one the most fulfilling opportunities I've had. It is a pleasure to work there. You will encounter many different types of people from all walks of life. The desire to learn more and better yourself is contagious.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal for postdoctoral researchers
POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 10, 2018
Great place for postdoctoral researchers in the biomedical sciences. Stanford has state of the art research facilities and world-renowned scientists. Great benefits and salary above the national average for postdocs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pick up all the skills quickly
Postdoctoral Researcher (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 6, 2018
culture is suitable for self-motivated people!, great place to build outreach and network. Making progress and publication is something critical for employ evaluation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
anonymous (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 1, 2018
All the folks I work with here at Stanford have simply been extraordinary, Personal experience differs greatly however, depending on which department you work for.

Outstanding benefits, fair compensation, healthy work environment is definitely stressed, with a full gym, as well as multiple fitness class options to choose from. Free Cal-train passes encourage environmental awareness and lighten the parking issue, which can be a source of aggravation.
Pros
Outstanding benefits, fair compensation, opportunity to advance
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private institution lacking collaborative approach
Area Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAFebruary 28, 2018
Though there was a lack of collaborative approach in many areas it also meant that you were given latitude and creativity in anything you oversaw. They are willing to take risks and when you have the access to do so it can make the work very exciting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stanford University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 516 reviews
5275
4156
354
222
19

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture