Singapore Press Holdings Employee Reviews

Found 51 reviews matching the search See all 54 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with fun colleagues
Systems Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toa PayohSeptember 26, 2018
The timing is quite flexible; you come in early, you leave early and vice versa. Although, this really depends on your supervisor. You are not really required to work overtime or on weekends unless needed. In which, time-off will be provided for you. Handling customers can be tough, but having helped them through their issues is rewarding. We also ensure that the mobile products that are released to the public are as bug-free as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Intern (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 20, 2018
Nice environment, friendly collegue. Patient teach
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to be less politcially correct
Executive Copy editor (Former Employee) –  Toa Payoh NorthJune 6, 2018
SPH could be more professional in journalism, instead of being too stringently politically correct in reports, especially those concerning local politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Odd hours for work
Web Uploader (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 30, 2018
As a news company, there's always news at odd hours. The shifts are long and have lull periods. You are always on top of the news, and can learn a lot about the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 18, 2018
All though benefits were fair - low salary with no career growth - high targets with very less payouts. micro management by team leaders - no proper marketing
Pros
gym, canteen, clinic in premises
Cons
less pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  MacPhersonApril 3, 2018
It was a contract job with SPH. There were many phone calls in a day. I learnt to work in a very fast pace environment and colleagues helped one another should there be doubts. Team work is particular important and the working hours are pretty long where one need to work half day on Saturday too. Solving the problems in terms of hard copies deliveries or internet usage for subscribers.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favourite employer
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Toa PayohMarch 24, 2018
A good place to work if you intend to build your career, as it does provide ample opportunities in advancement in various job aspect in the media industry.
Good work/play balance for staff and family.
Pros
Good working environment and benefits
Cons
sometimes has to work odd hours, eg. past midnight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big established company
Internship at Digital Division (Former Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 20, 2018
professional workspace, productive and a lot of facilities provided, including gym and basketball court on the rooftop. big canteen available with affordable price
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
MOBILE DEVELOPER INTERN (Former Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 9, 2018
The working environment is quiet good. The team I joined regard themselves as a start up, some OT during weekends. But a lot of resources in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical organisation
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  AljuniedJanuary 18, 2018
Subscription department in my opinion was a bit outdated in terms of its technology usage.

The people working there was a mixture of different ages.

Was rather less flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report

Want to know more about Singapore Press Holdings?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer care,marketing
Customer care,marketing (Current Employee) –  JurongDecember 31, 2017
I'm are hard worker i need to make sure that company as well as worker.we doing god job in order productivity to be increased, I will make a team work
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work for myself .
Creative Director (Former Employee) –  Toa PayohDecember 8, 2017
Multi-tasking but ok with me,
I have learned how to listen, to share, to improve, to help, to guide, to lead a team,
After years , I learned how to lead a design teams by the method of ;
face it first, listen first, think first, work first then meet the team, guide the team for all projects and tasks.
A place to work with all friendly team members,
The hardest part of the job..."Budget",,,but it is not the end.
The most enjoyable part of the job, when you see... "Teamwork!"
Pros
Big company
Cons
Slow in Social media
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful & helpful colleagues.
Correspondent (Current Employee) –  1,000 Toa Payoh NorthNovember 12, 2017
The company provides a great learning environment for those who are keen to move on from one department to another. In comparison to before, the move these days is rather seamless.
Pros
Time to move into digital.
Cons
Print media seems to be a 'sunset' industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 29, 2017
A perfect environment for those who really wanna give their best with perfect work life balance. You can be a great asset to the company if you treat the company as the same.
Pros
much benefits
Cons
relatively okish salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jurong IslandOctober 9, 2017
Great working place to be.Bosses and supervisors always there to lend a helping hand if you have any doubts.lots of career advancement and training courses to enchance your skill knowledge.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Travelling form home to workplace is far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Helpdesk Analyst (Former Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 28, 2017
I worked at Singapore Press Holdings as a temporary (contract ).
Some users were friendly and nice.
overall the work was very good and loved to work at SPH.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Marketing Assistant Intern for ST701 (Former Employee) –  Toa PayohSeptember 26, 2017
Managers are friendly and always willing to lend a helping hand to guide younger employees. Work environment provides sufficient stimulation through challenging tasks but yet not to the point of being overloaded with work.
Pros
good colleagues
Cons
need to travel out of office frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Data admin (Former Employee) –  Genting LaneSeptember 12, 2017
Colleagues are like family. Very united and bonded. I have learnt how to use Microsoft excel in a better way like generating of reports using macros templates, assisting in reformatting of handheld devices. Hardest part of the job isn't the work but leaving the company cause everyone is really nice and friendly hardly is there any political issues. Most enjoyable part of this job is that I get to work with the best in charge who is really patient and willing to teach when I have any issues with my work given.
Pros
Colleagues, free shuttle bus service to mrt, work environment are good
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good sales and marketing environment
SALES EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  Genting LaneSeptember 5, 2017
A first job experience many years ago but still very memorable as the company is stable and provides quality training for executing maximum sales. Good company to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is always a sense of belonging among the staff
SENIOR ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  KIM SENG ROAD, Toa PayohAugust 13, 2017
Singapore press holdings limited is an established media organisation in which I served for 35 years in the capacity of a telex supervisor, senior library assistant, senior administration assistant and a security guard (pre retirement).

This is a fast paced organisation which was both challenging, exhilarating and satisfying.

The team spirit in many of the department that I worked in is indeed strong. There is a strong sense of camaraderie among the more experienced staff who constantly feel that they want to succeed for the company. I found that very inspiring. It always sets the adrenaline rushing.

The advent of competitors in the media industry some 10 years ago proved challenging for us and we stepped on the gas to keep ourselves viable in the media industry.

Indeed, I look back with a sense of pride now that I was part of sph's long and wonderful journey.
Pros
A sense of beloinging
Cons
Long hours, Lost weekends and heartbreaks when some of our projects failed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Singapore Press Holdings. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 54 reviews
516
417
316
21
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Singapore Press Holdings Reviews by Location