Singapore Institute of Management Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexble
Assistant Lecturer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 12, 2018
good working environment
good boss
good facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company has good workplace culture and provides ample training for staff
BCM and Service Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJanuary 24, 2018
the company is one of the leading tertiary institution in Singapore. However, it has to stay competitive and relevant. There so many universities now providing massive online courses cheaper than what traditional universities are providing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Singapore Institute of Management
Client Executive (Current Employee) –  SingaporeJanuary 8, 2018
A typical day at work would answering emails, making calls, setting appointments and meeting up with clients to provide training solutions to SMEs and MNCs companies who seek to increase their productivity at work and in the long run generate more revenue for the company.

What I learned about the job is to be persistent. Sales is not an easy job. You face a lot of rejections but if you let this stop you from achieving your goals then you are the one at a loosing end.

Like many other organisations out there, the management in terms of decision making is from top to bottom. In terms of their qualities, I would say that they are authoritarian.

I would say that hardest part of the job is not being able to meet your target on a yearly basis.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being surrounded by supportive colleagues and a work-life balance.
Pros
so many celebrations, free lunches, staff engaging activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Programme Executive (Former Employee) –  ClementiDecember 15, 2017
SIM is a place where I was able to learn more about the education industry. There is also work-life balance as working hours were normal office hours. The only times whereby I had to work outside office hours was when I was involved in events, which were usually twice a year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private Institute, therefore is more careful with income and expenses
Executive (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 8, 2017
Work with young undergraduates who are mostly young driven and passionate. Structure is lean and staff should be flexible to handle tasks which may not be too specific.
Pros
Work with young undergraduates who are mostly young driven and passionate.
Cons
Need lots of hand holding for the undergraduates
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Clementi RoadApril 4, 2017
I enjoy doing what I am doing because I get to help students get a headstart in their job search.
However, the culture of the management is very old-school. Staff may work hard and produce results but when it comes to career progression, it is very tough.
Pros
Good performance bonuses
Cons
No career progression mapped out for staff by HOD
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for honing admin skills
Senior Programme Executive (Current Employee) –  ClementiJanuary 25, 2017
Great for honing admin skills
Good for entry level candidates
Good people environment
Good mix of non desk bound duties e.g. events
Good benefits package
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work
Associate lecturer (Current Employee) –  Clementi RoadJanuary 5, 2017
It is most satisfying to be appreciated by students - when they can tell the hard work you put in, your genuine concern for them, and they enjoy the lessons and learnt how to apply the knowledge in life etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Work Environment
Student Learning Assistant (Former Employee) –  ClementiAugust 25, 2016
The job scope for the position was simple and clear-cut. As a Student Learning Assistant (SLA), I facilitated daily operations of Student Learning Centre (SLC) and provided front-line customer service to current and prospective students who enquire regarding programs and workshops offered in the SLC. In addition, I handled administrative duties such as data entry of feedback forms, photocopying of educational resource materials and printing of workshop collateral.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good colleagues and good working environment
Executive (Current Employee) –  ClementiMay 10, 2016
My colleagues are helpful and cheerful people.
We are always willing to help one another whenever we faced challenges.
Pros
Many activities to participate
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace that provides opportunities with a fun working environment
Senior Programme Executive (Former Employee) –  Clementi, SIM HQApril 16, 2016
1. My most enjoyable and memorable part of my job are:

- The ability to make a positive impact on students' educational decisions and be part of their personal and leadership development

- Visits from graduands and alumni from time to time.

- Enjoyed the camaraderie of being part of a team

2. A typical day at work:

I fulfill various tasks which includes planning of event itineraries, curate marketing collaterals, develop training materials as well as overseeing 2 team members. In addition to the above, other administrative duties includes answering phonecalls, drafting documents and emails as well as resolving customer's issues.

3. The hardest part of the job:

Motivating and managing team members in the planning and completion of projects and ensuring that they are within the budget allocated.

4. What have I learnt:

- Project and event management skills
- Effective communication and presentation skills
- Effective people management skills
- Life Lessons such as being more independent, persistent and confident

5. My Co-Workers:

We learned new skills and solve problems as a team with everyone putting in the effort in moving towards the team' s objectives.

6. Management:

- Adopts an open culture where staff trust and respect one another.

- Embraced changes while actively seek ways to innovate, learn and work together as a team.

- Family- Oriented
Pros
Biannual and Quarterly lunches, Fruits day
Cons
Limited career progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Student Support Officer - Student Services (Former Employee) –  ClementiAugust 27, 2015
Of course the job is petty routine. But it can be fun with a hyped up environment. Colleagues are always standing by to provide you with a helping hand. Time passes really fast as you're occupied with work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing duties
Marketing assistant (Former Employee) –  ClementiAugust 21, 2014
It was a good experience learning how to manage and maintain relationship with alumni
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Singapore Institute of Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 14 reviews
52
48
34
20
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Singapore Institute of Management Reviews by Location