Singapore General Hospital Employee Reviews for Registered Nurse

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 118 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for staff nurse job
Staff Nurse I (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 25, 2019
I have working experience for 4 years in medical ward. I'm willing to any kind of discipline. During working period I'm went for course and training. I'm guide students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  OutramDecember 13, 2018
I was able to upgrade myself in SGH as i learned more about the area i’m specialised in, which is Plastic Surgery & Eye. However, when i wanted to upgrade myself further by studying Degree, i was not able to balance my shift work life with my student life as there were days i end work much later than expected.
Pros
Shift work hours
Cons
Tends to work overtime almost everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  OutramJuly 14, 2018
Benefit wise, SGH is good, but the workload is tough. It is challenging to work in the wards, but you will learn a lot.
They give more benefits to local despite the same workload with foreigners. Promotion for local is fast, for foreigners are very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High workload
Staff Nurse I (Current Employee) –  SingaporeMay 22, 2018
less work/life balance.
lesser staff.
long working hours.
high work load that the actual JD.
good place for experience but must be prepared for the challenges ahead.
Cons
high workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 19, 2018
Flexible working hours
I learned to be independent and work in a very fast pace environment
Management is good, opportunities to progress
Workplace culture: Priority is given to patients more than the stuff
Hardest part of the job is, the working hours,
Most enjoyable part of the job is patients and colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best quality care
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 16, 2018
Best quality care
Provides training for career development
Upgrading staff
Good management
Safe environment
Regular audits for a consistent quality care
Patient safety first
Pros
Good management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 28, 2017
flagship hospital of the country. big tertiary hospital. provide high standard service to patients and families. high standards to customer service.provide best education to staff to update knowledge and skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet fulfilling
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  OutramAugust 20, 2017
- typical day consisted of routines of nursing care.
- I learned on the job that there is no end to learning.
- management is relatively helpful, but different managers have different management styles.
- enjoyed the fulfilment when patients discharge home safely
Pros
Good salary and work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay
Staff Nurse I (Current Employee) –  Outram ParkMarch 5, 2017
nurse patients post-operatively. Prepared for any events (crash, CPR, hypo/hypertensive crisis, hypoglycemia, shock etc). managers can be quite intimidating. most colleagues are friendly. hardest part is the special assignments (in-charge nurse etc.), arranging ward bed for patients.
Pros
go back on time
Cons
fast-paced, stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Singapore, singaporeFebruary 28, 2017
- Acute setting In-charge Nurse, patient care management to assess, plan, implement and evaluate nursing care for patients specially with Renal condition and undergoing Renal replacement therapy with collaboration with other medical profession. Rotated in a Multidisciplinary area including Medical, Surgical, and Rehabilitation ward as a competent charge Nurse.
Performed variety of procedure, medication administration, IV therapy, and monitor patient progress. Develop discharge plan and maintain charts and documentation. Provide coordinated & effective nursing care, patient/family health & nutrition education, demonstrate adequate knowledge and skills to supervise junior staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largerst in Singapore , 2nd largest hospital in Asia
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 30, 2016
1500 bed capacity hospital with international standard JCI passed.

Advanced medical and nursing management

Committed to providing healthcare to all people local and international clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing Skills Expertise
Registered Nurse - Urology Ward (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 25, 2014
Caring Patient's
Nursing Skills
Fantastic Team
Work as a Team
Difficult Patient
Rewarding job
Pros
Vacation
Cons
late shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace with good teamwork
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Singapore, S00April 28, 2014
-sending patients for different types of procedure
- I have learnt to work in teams and helping colleagues.
- I have also learnt time-management is important with serving medications and attending to patient's needs (eg. attending call bells).
- Normal patient workload is 1 RN in-charge and AN to 9 patients
- satisfying patients and relatives is hardest part of the job
- Bed- side Patient care (eg. dressing to the surgical wound) and anything related to building rapport with my patients are my enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
good staff welfare
Cons
heavy workload.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report

See more Singapore General Hospital reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Singapore General Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 118 reviews
537
435
331
210
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Singapore General Hospital Reviews by Location