Singapore General Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 94 reviews matching the search See all 117 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to promote
MRO Clerk (Former Employee) –  OutramNovember 26, 2019
lots of human factor nowadays, unlike in the past.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for staff nurse job
Staff Nurse I (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 25, 2019
I have working experience for 4 years in medical ward. I'm willing to any kind of discipline. During working period I'm went for course and training. I'm guide students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of learning and challenges
Staff Nurse II (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 6, 2019
Probably the largest among the hospitals in Singapore, SGH caters to almost all medical cases known to human. The opportunity of learning is vast unfortunately some are limited to only certain groups of employees. Nurse to patient ratio probably is the most vulnerable part of the institution due to the huge number of patients needing medical care. Overall, SGH is a very good place for enriching your profession's skill.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bias and Poor Culture
Ancillary (Current Employee) –  OutramNovember 4, 2019
Management very bias, promotion is not based on merit. People tend to push responsibilities away and nothing is done. Bureaucratic hierarchy, no autonomy is given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collegues yearly get together like dinner and dance, sports , competitions etc
Senior Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  singaporeSeptember 21, 2019
Take over reports, attending doctors rounds and carry out orders. Serving medications and supervise junior nurses, assisting procedures. Discharges and writing reports.
Worked with colleagues with different nationalities is really enjoyable. Hardest part in workplace that explaining the prognosis of DIL patients condition to their relatives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Patient Service Associate (Former Employee) –  OutramAugust 19, 2019
As i worked in SGH in Transplant Ctr for 5 years, I im also crossed trained in different discipline such as
- Pre & PostTransplant
-Vascular Surgery
-Diabetes & Endocrinology
-Dermatology
-Hematology
-Osteoporosis Clinic
-Gastro clinic
-Liver transplant Clinic
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Registered Nurse - Full Time (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJuly 17, 2019
Due to manpower shortage, nurses are often overworked, which would lead to burn out and increasing medical leave, which creates the continual vicious cycle of manpower shortage.
Pros
job security
Cons
long hours with no overtime pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You need to suck up to higher up in order to be promoted
Senior Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  MedicineJune 20, 2019
I don’t like the fact that the management promotes staff based on their liking. They are very personal to people and will only promote the person if the person is a yes man. The salary is not equivalent to workload. So many patients yet less pay. I find it ridiculous that you can only wear pure black shoes. I don’t think nursing care will be affected if your wear coloured shifts. Patients and relatives tend to be very rude too. And the management will always side the patient and relatives. They will always blame the staffs and put them at fault. The old people still rule the whole place. Overall, bad place to work. Unhappy environment. Bad culture.
Pros
bonus twice a year
Cons
Blaming culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic
Patient Service Associate (Former Employee) –  OutramApril 24, 2019
Basically Hospital you have to put in your 200% of effort and must be on the go. Assisting Doctors and booking of appointment for the patients. Closing of accounts and tallying the balance. Counter checking the patients report and forms to be submitted to the department.
Pros
medical
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job i have been experience
Associate (Current Employee) –  SinagporeApril 18, 2019
1. Ensure accuracy of receiving and updating medical records.
2. Rectify any error and confirm on the returned casenotes tally with the inpatient discharge list.
3. Inpatient cases should be accurate complete with full HIDS and arranged neatly and bundled up properly before despatch to updating.
4. Discharge list should not be recycled for future cases.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company for job security
Senior Associate (Education) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMarch 20, 2019
It is a fast-paced environment with high pressure and it is highly recommended for those who seek challenges. You need to always be on your toes and to anticipate what the clinicians need.
Pros
Good colleagues, good remuneration.
Cons
Too demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build good relationships and productive environment.
Associate Executive in August (Current Employee) –  Outram RoadJanuary 14, 2019
Build good relationships and productive environment. Able to expose talent and ideas for better operation workflow. Welcome suggestions for better company rapport.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  OutramJanuary 7, 2019
The work environment really pushes one to excel. It is also a very educational environment which, one could learn a lot in a short period. Was glad to have been there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Patient Service Associate (Current Employee) –  OutramJanuary 6, 2019
Working together and respect each other is very important . Be understanding to staffs need is aslo important. Give and take as well as good health is also play and important part in our job
Pros
Understanding colleagues
Cons
Short of manpower
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emergency Nursing Skills
Enrolled Nurse (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJanuary 3, 2019
*SGH ED sees an average of 300 to 500 patients a day, its always busy but teamwork has always been the key to treat patient promptly which is our utmost priority
*I have learned Emergency Nursing skills including management of patients in Emergency Cardiac Care Unit
*Management is doing their best to treat all the employee fairly and give importance on employee's professional growth
*Dealing with multiple nursing task lists
*Witnessing how my patients improve with the prompt intervention rendered in ED
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  OutramDecember 13, 2018
I was able to upgrade myself in SGH as i learned more about the area i’m specialised in, which is Plastic Surgery & Eye. However, when i wanted to upgrade myself further by studying Degree, i was not able to balance my shift work life with my student life as there were days i end work much later than expected.
Pros
Shift work hours
Cons
Tends to work overtime almost everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependent on dept you work in
Executive (Current Employee) –  SingaporeDecember 4, 2018
Overall a great place to work. Certain dept have better worklife balance than others. Very slow career progression. As its a big company, there are alot of red tapes for any initiative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Executive (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 19, 2018
Great place to work at, busy and constantly being challenged. There is never a dull moment. Colleagues are great although due to legacy, you need to be sensitive of the unwritten 'rules'.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at work
Patient Service Associate (Current Employee) –  clinicOctober 11, 2018
The day at work typically starts with earlybird patients, assisting doctors , counter management and cross deployment .Co workers here are the best you can as for-supportive and fun-loving.
Pros
good location, loveable colleagues
Cons
monthly wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The following errors occurred
Temp Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  OutramAugust 1, 2018
Your review nonsense is really getting on my nerves.

Do I really have to write all this?

You are definitely wasting my time.

There, I reached 150.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Singapore General Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 117 reviews
537
434
331
210
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Singapore General Hospital Reviews by Location