Singapore General Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 74 reviews matching the search See all 91 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice colleagues
Pca. Taking care of patients daily needs (Current Employee) –  In the wardDecember 8, 2018
Colleagues are great
Job is tough.
Too much expectation
Not enough staff
Patients expect too much
No time for break
Patients family members also expect a lot from the staff
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Executive (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 19, 2018
Great place to work at, busy and constantly being challenged. There is never a dull moment. Colleagues are great although due to legacy, you need to be sensitive of the unwritten 'rules'.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at work
Patient Service Associate (Current Employee) –  clinicOctober 11, 2018
The day at work typically starts with earlybird patients, assisting doctors , counter management and cross deployment .Co workers here are the best you can as for-supportive and fun-loving.
Pros
good location, loveable colleagues
Cons
monthly wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The following errors occurred
Temp Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  OutramAugust 1, 2018
Your review nonsense is really getting on my nerves.

Do I really have to write all this?

You are definitely wasting my time.

There, I reached 150.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comments
Healthcare Assistant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJuly 27, 2018
This is a hospital catered for foreign talents, Singaporean lower class like healthcare attendants and healthcare assistants is always a easy targets of bullies to these FTs like the Filipina senior staff nurse in ward 46.
Pros
Nil
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  OutramJuly 14, 2018
Benefit wise, SGH is good, but the workload is tough. It is challenging to work in the wards, but you will learn a lot.
They give more benefits to local despite the same workload with foreigners. Promotion for local is fast, for foreigners are very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful Workplace
Neonatal Nurse (Current Employee) –  OutramJune 18, 2018
I enjoy interacting, empowering the parents to take care of their infants. I truly love having such privilege to be nursing these newborn babies, and assisting mothers to adjust with breastfeeding, bathing and care for baby.

My nurse manager always open the opportunities to further studies, and I am thankful for that. Due to family commitments, and the need for office hours, the shift hours is the hardest part of this job. Given my experience in the wards, I hope to explore other aspects of healthcare as well.

Hence, I need to find a new job in the healthcare industry which is able to allow me to work office hours.
Cons
Shift Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Have Worked
Executive Clinical Coding Specialist (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 8, 2018
Performed various other duties such as internal auditing of case notes, on the job training of clinical coders regarding Australian Coding Standards and Singapore Coding Directives. Participated in relevant courses and educational sessions. Loved my time here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High workload
Staff Nurse I (Current Employee) –  SingaporeMay 22, 2018
less work/life balance.
lesser staff.
long working hours.
high work load that the actual JD.
good place for experience but must be prepared for the challenges ahead.
Cons
high workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
SENIOR STAFF NURSE II (Current Employee) –  OUTRAMApril 10, 2018
A place where merit is recognised and promotions are given to those whom are deserving. Team based work area. Most enjoyable would be working hand in hand with colleagues for patients well being.Most hardest would be the working hours as well as the workload.
Pros
Free health screenings
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working experience
Intern, Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  OutramFebruary 28, 2018
The typical day includes picking and packing of medications, dispensing medications under pharmacist supervision, topping up medication stocks, did ward top-up, handled registration and etc.

I have learned a lot there which helps with my school work and for my own study. The people there are very nice and helpful. Made a lot of friends during the short period of time I was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 19, 2018
Flexible working hours
I learned to be independent and work in a very fast pace environment
Management is good, opportunities to progress
Workplace culture: Priority is given to patients more than the stuff
Hardest part of the job is, the working hours,
Most enjoyable part of the job is patients and colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best quality care
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 16, 2018
Best quality care
Provides training for career development
Upgrading staff
Good management
Safe environment
Regular audits for a consistent quality care
Patient safety first
Pros
Good management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy working environment
Senior staff nurse 1 (Former Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 7, 2018
All employees are been well-taken care of. Work-life balance, study opportunity, promotions, management and working environment are available and healthy.
Pros
Healthy working environment
Cons
Many rules and regulations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Charge Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  SingaporeDecember 28, 2017
I learned about the culture of Singapore. It was a challenging experience since many of the patients don't speak English, nevertheless surpassed the challenge in flying colors. I was appreciated a lot by the doctors, students ( medical and nursing ). I shared with them what I've learned from my previous workplaces.
Pros
great team
Cons
language barrier
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Clinical Research Coordinator (Former Employee) –  SingaporeDecember 28, 2017
Fast paced and busy work days. Decent benefits and salaries. Could include better training and guidances, but generally helpful colleagues and good facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Patient Service Associate Executive (Former Employee) –  OutramDecember 23, 2017
Endless registration for outpatient emergency department as well as admissions to ward. With 3 shifts working for 7 years, I must have enough rest to work full charged for the next day.

I have learned to put myself in their shoes as they are not well. Especially for Non Resident of Foreign Residents, they maybe shocked for the admission charges are high.

Working in fast pace, with my strong teammates, we did our best to accomplished to clear the admissions.

Hardest part of the job is when the waiting time for admission can be more than 1hr. The NOK of patients are also tired, they have arrest the registration counter to expedite.

The most enjoyable part is having the team around as family. As team, we always have planned outing together on our off days.
Pros
Great teamwork
Cons
Long waiting time for consultation or admissions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
SENIOR ENROLLED NURSE (Current Employee) –  OUTRAM PARKDecember 16, 2017
This hospital jcia accredited 1700 bedded hospital,good environment,good communication,more specialties,and trainning hospital,providing quality care to a wide variety of patients,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Patient Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Bukit MerahNovember 15, 2017
Basically the SGH is very good and nice place to work. However I am not very satisfied with my management as I felt there is not an equal attention given to all the staff. There is some favours happening here. I need an happy working environment, however I failed to get it here in call centre.
Pros
no benefit
Cons
management problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physio Assistant
Physio Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sengkang or PunggolNovember 14, 2017
I feel satisfied when i see the patience of me able to movelize and improvement to walk again. I always happy to help and assist. It really make me satisfied of my work
Pros
Fulltime
Cons
Office Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Singapore General Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 91 reviews
530
428
323
26
14

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Singapore General Hospital Reviews by Location