Singapore General Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 19, 2018
Flexible working hours
I learned to be independent and work in a very fast pace environment
Management is good, opportunities to progress
Workplace culture: Priority is given to patients more than the stuff
Hardest part of the job is, the working hours,
Most enjoyable part of the job is patients and colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best quality care
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 16, 2018
Best quality care
Provides training for career development
Upgrading staff
Good management
Safe environment
Regular audits for a consistent quality care
Patient safety first
Pros
Good management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy working environment
Senior staff nurse 1 (Former Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 7, 2018
All employees are been well-taken care of. Work-life balance, study opportunity, promotions, management and working environment are available and healthy.
Pros
Healthy working environment
Cons
Many rules and regulations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Charge Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  SingaporeDecember 28, 2017
I learned about the culture of Singapore. It was a challenging experience since many of the patients don't speak English, nevertheless surpassed the challenge in flying colors. I was appreciated a lot by the doctors, students ( medical and nursing ). I shared with them what I've learned from my previous workplaces.
Pros
great team
Cons
language barrier
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Patient Service Associate Executive (Former Employee) –  OutramDecember 23, 2017
Endless registration for outpatient emergency department as well as admissions to ward. With 3 shifts working for 7 years, I must have enough rest to work full charged for the next day.

I have learned to put myself in their shoes as they are not well. Especially for Non Resident of Foreign Residents, they maybe shocked for the admission charges are high.

Working in fast pace, with my strong teammates, we did our best to accomplished to clear the admissions.

Hardest part of the job is when the waiting time for admission can be more than 1hr. The NOK of patients are also tired, they have arrest the registration counter to expedite.

The most enjoyable part is having the team around as family. As team, we always have planned outing together on our off days.
Pros
Great teamwork
Cons
Long waiting time for consultation or admissions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
SENIOR ENROLLED NURSE (Current Employee) –  OUTRAM PARKDecember 16, 2017
This hospital jcia accredited 1700 bedded hospital,good environment,good communication,more specialties,and trainning hospital,providing quality care to a wide variety of patients,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Patient Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Bukit MerahNovember 15, 2017
Basically the SGH is very good and nice place to work. However I am not very satisfied with my management as I felt there is not an equal attention given to all the staff. There is some favours happening here. I need an happy working environment, however I failed to get it here in call centre.
Pros
no benefit
Cons
management problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physio Assistant
Physio Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sengkang or PunggolNovember 14, 2017
I feel satisfied when i see the patience of me able to movelize and improvement to walk again. I always happy to help and assist. It really make me satisfied of my work
Pros
Fulltime
Cons
Office Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Research Coordinator (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 10, 2017
The work place is conductive to learn and grow as a person and career. I meet good team mates and supervisor who help me to grow professional and personally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Enrolled Nurse (Current Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 19, 2017
Fun to work at times.
Dealing with unreasonable,difficult, demanding and violent people is the hardest part of the job, but quite manageable as I've had 5 years of experience there in a medical ward which consists of 5 discipline, Gastro, Endo, DIM, Rhuemato and Psychiatric.
The most enjoyed is the teamwork and the thank yous, appreciations and blessings from the patients.
Pros
Fun, Teamwork, Appreciations.
Cons
Long hours, Teamwork in ganging up against the innocent sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Left SGH 26 yrs ago. Overall was good.
Medical Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Social service departmentSeptember 13, 2017
SGH went into restructuring before I left. There were on the job trainings which added value to my work. Much emphasis was on improving our skills and being relevant to the changing needs in society. There were constant reviews to improve service standards and staff training and welfare.
Pros
Trainings
Cons
Too much bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 28, 2017
flagship hospital of the country. big tertiary hospital. provide high standard service to patients and families. high standards to customer service.provide best education to staff to update knowledge and skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet fulfilling
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  OutramAugust 20, 2017
- typical day consisted of routines of nursing care.
- I learned on the job that there is no end to learning.
- management is relatively helpful, but different managers have different management styles.
- enjoyed the fulfilment when patients discharge home safely
Pros
Good salary and work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a healthcare environment but not a friendly place to work because we are unable to be sick
Patient Service Associate (Current Employee) –  OutramJuly 9, 2017
I learn lots of nursing medical terms
The hardest thing about this job is you cannot fall sick even if you do then you are still expected to come. No welfare .
Pros
nil
Cons
no overtime pay only claim hours that are hard to claim
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital
Nurse clinician (Current Employee) –  OutramJune 18, 2017
Good hospital for patients with professional staff.
Far away from house.
Unable to support my shift requirements.
Currently three shifts duty required for most of the staff.
Pros
Good staff
Cons
Far from my house
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the standing lion
phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  jurong townJune 11, 2017
Singapore is a good city with lots of amazing places over there and people over there are also good they dont interfere in each other work and the community people is also good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good shifts
Medical Technologist (Current Employee) –  OutramJune 8, 2017
Shift arrangements are just nice for staff. Location is central which is very convenient. The institute is expanding thus more opportunity for new hires.
Pros
Good shifts
Cons
Poor welfare
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enriching job for leadership grooming and personal excellence development.
Operations Executive (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 13, 2017
Operations executives responsibilities are to oversee day to day operations and coordination of mandatory and requested services by the clients for a seamless operations and delivery of quality services by the contractors.
Pros
Challenges face give you opportunities to learn, Help train your management skills to direct the team to achieve the common goals
Cons
Require alot of ad hoc planning, High demand in customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work but nasty colleagues
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Central SingaporeApril 5, 2017
It is meaningful to work in a Healthcare setting. You work with doctors & nurses to bring about better patient care, but fellow colleagues you work with can be nasty with their personal biases & wicked agenda, politicising the work that should be for the benefit of patients.
Pros
Meaningful work
Cons
Nasty insecure colleagues with wicked agenda
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 2, 2017
It was a good opportunity to be part of Singapore General Hospital. I have gained and enhanced my knowledge and skills in Pharmacy line. SGH provides good benefits for the employees.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Singapore General Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 76 reviews
524
424
321
23
14

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Singapore General Hospital Reviews by Location