Singapore American School Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 23, 2017
everyone is easy to get along with and very accommodating with regards to family issues that arise. even though it was a volunteer position, they did their best to make it a fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment
INSTRUCTIONAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  WoodlandsJuly 6, 2017
Colorful and Multi-cultural. People there are welcoming and fun loving. Work life balance especially with long summer break. Good benefits which includes medical for family.
Pros
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
established and well known institute
Secretary to the Deputy Principal Middle School (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 14, 2016
I found out that policies and procedures were in place and were strictly adhered to. This made daily work quite easy and efficient. Co workers were helpful too but since most of them had been there for a long time, they could be inflexible about changes. Hardest part of the job was to get somethig approved through HR. Even if your supervisor approves of something, you would still have to go through 3-4 stages for approval. Most enjoyable part was, when admin staff was appreciated and was invited to parties, Christmas events, given gifts and recognized. This attitude wasn't just meant for teachers.
Pros
good system with proper policies in place
Cons
inflexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in!
Support Staff (eg. Admin/Assistant/ Secretary/ ) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 8, 2016
SAS is a great place to work in. Great colleagues (mostly), who make you feel comfortable. Working hours are 8 - 4.45.

Lunch break is only 45 mins, so not much time to step out for lunch.

Dur school holidays, work still continues but it is slightly more relaxed.

Unfortunately they are very stingy with remunerations/increments.

I would recommend working for SAS if you don't mind the low salary, and i do mean LOW salary.
Pros
great environment, very welcoming and warm community. Great medical and dental benefits. EY Bonus is 1.5x.
Cons
low salary, low increment, little or no prospects for job advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Singapore American School
Student teacher (Former Employee) –  Singapore SingaporeDecember 2, 2015
The best school I have ever been a part of. The teachers are very professional and the school has a passion to help students learn.,
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I served as the Middle School Deputy Principal of Singpaore American School
Principal - Grades (Former Employee) –  Singapore, S00April 1, 2014
I assisted the Middle School Principal in managing the middle school of one of the most highly successful and respected international schools in the world, the Singapore American School. The middle school had an enrollment of 780 students, with a total school enrollment of nearly 4,000 students at the school, one of the largest international schools in the world. We had 64 faculty and staff in the middle school and I directly supervised half of them, but also shared in the budget and planning of the school.
Pros
Sinparore is a very easy city to live in, and travel throughout Asia was especially enjoyable, as was working with the primarliy American student body.
Cons
My work week consisted of typically 80 hours a week, with 12 hour days, working every Saturday to stay ahead of the work demands.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced work hours
Communications Specialist (Former Employee) –  WoodlandsJanuary 16, 2014
Typical day of work from 8:00 am to 4:45 pm

learn alot of things...

limited advancement. Management is mostly the expatriates. Alot of Directors, then followed by the local staff who are mostly the specialist, assistants and secretaries to do the work

Co-workers are nice.

Hardest part of the job, alot of people from top management asking the only you to do the job for them...
most enjoyable part of the job the children in school and the local staff
Pros
Medical benefits cover the whole family
Cons
limited career advancement and salary increment
Was this review helpful?Yes 68No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place.
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  WoodlandsSeptember 20, 2012
I learned alot about other culture especially american culture. Co-workers are very helpful, fun to be with and we all work as a team.

The most enjoyable part of the job is to be with the students everyday and to help them with their schoolwork whenever they need it.
Pros
i like the working hours.
Cons
teachers are too depend on teacher assistants.
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Singapore American School. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.7
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.1
Culture
4.1

Singapore American School Reviews by Location