Shimizu Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 60 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
planning manager (Former Employee) –  HQOctober 19, 2019
we have club at roof top.

I have learn the cost saving, budget to meet

mostly chinese people and Japanese and others work together

HR arrange fun work everyweek.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be very good but cutting costs like crazy now
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 15, 2019
Salary is not as competitive as market rate, increment and bonus are not as good either. (Unless you have a good boss.) Need to scan in and out, will deduct salary if you are more than 7 mins late per day. A lot of approvals to go through and processes to do for each task. Some of the old birds may be hard to get along with.

Good: Medical card is given, no co-payment required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You just have to work that all .
Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  one northOctober 9, 2019
You just have to open your thought & eye to learn by yourself .promotion is not based on how hard and well u have worked. But based on who u can click with those in power or influence .
Pros
Just work
Cons
Long hours & no career dev to refer about unless you are part of their kaki in power
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 15, 2019
I like working in this company. I just need to be relocated that's why I resigned. Benefits wise, they are great as well as the bonuses. Still depends on PM and individual performance.
For me, the PM's are great and has mutual respect. It's because of I am giving them a good performance in return.
Pros
Paid OT, System and proceedures
Cons
Higher management post is only for Japanese
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loyalty matters
Architectural Coordinator/CAD Drafting (Former Employee) –  Singapore, JakartaAugust 30, 2019
My working experience in Shimizu under 1 boss for the span of 16 years have been a remarkable one. He is a good boss who never mind my working hours as long as I finished my assigned task and schedule (which I make it definitely sure) everyday. Work environment also is tough but memorable. Projects itself is never an issue, because as long as you are happy doing your work you never get tired. If only I don't have reasons to resigned I will still decide to continue working with Shimizu and my Japanese boss.
For me loyalty really matters.
Pros
Good boss
Cons
Working Distance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equal Gender Opportunity
Senior Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 25, 2019
Shimizu Corporation provides equal gender opportunity to all employees for career advancement.
Trainings are being granted to employees with passion with work.
Although there are days that are really busy with weekend works and business trips that are demanding, Shimizu is promoting work family balance and encourage employees to take exact 8hrs works once a week.
Pros
free dental insurance
Cons
long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Supervisor (mechanical and electrical) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJuly 31, 2019
toolbox meeting daily routine
learned the individual trade in mechanical and electrical
all resources given by management
once project done transfer to other project
Pros
annual bonus and salary increase
Cons
a lot of meeting to attend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a excellent company
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 29, 2019
Its a nice compan. Always maintainthe safety procedur. Every month 25th date given salary. OT, Bonus has given by them.Excellent working syste. Boss excellent behaviou.
Pros
Night shift work dinner given
Cons
Duty is ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Work Place
Planning Engineer (Current Employee) –  SingaporeMay 24, 2019
In a day will need to review documents and attend meetings, I had learnt that I being a Manager would need to be more proactive in engaging people around me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company
Asst. Manager (BIM) (Current Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 5, 2018
Overall, a good company to work for. Good environment. Good Benefits. For new employees, they will learn a lot of things in this company. Support from supervisor is excellent.
Pros
Provide Career Advancement / Benefits
Cons
Changing of schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment.
M&E Engineer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 1, 2018
Provide movie treat, fun run, environmental awareness program, and corporate discount on handphone. Monthly safety promotion and slogan. Participate on government activities.
Pros
movie treats
Cons
need to extend working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Coordinator
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Jurong IslandJanuary 29, 2018
I have work almost 6 months with shimizu in Jurong Island. I have learn how to handle their sub-contractors safety violation and educate safe work practices.
Pros
Management fail to support safety.
Cons
Working long hours but not paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard place
Senior Tunnel engineer (Current Employee) –  SingaporeDecember 11, 2017
To work at Shimizu Corporation, employees must ready to sacrifice his/her life. The environment among employees is good even still have some cultural issue in the working atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good environment with safety
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 20, 2017
The company will mold you as a good engineer with special qualities.you will have a confidence to work anywhere with safety and neat environment. you can involve in social works also.
Pros
good entertainment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Site Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pasir PanjangSeptember 12, 2017
Shimizu Corporation is a good employer to work for. I enjoyed my 3 years' stay there as a site engineer. I had good relationships with my colleagues. The whole package is quite competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure work culture
Tunnel Surveyor (Former Employee) –  MalysiaSeptember 8, 2017
I worked in the steel structural department. There can be said , work life is not balance. I have travelled about two hours from my house to the work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place was very challenging
WSH Manager (Former Employee) –  Thomson East Coast MRT Line, T207September 2, 2017
It was very interesting and challenging to work as WSH Manager. Talking about Shimizu Corporation, it is a place to work. The workplace culture was very good. The working relations with my management and my colleagues are outstanding.

Leaving the company is the hardest part.
Pros
Excellent culture
Cons
My salary not on par with the market value, perhaps due to i have started working with Shimizu in Building Project(Capitol Theater, Commercial Complex and Condominium)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized company and Good workplace
M&E Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Capitol Development Project (City Hall)July 21, 2017
SHIMIZU Corporation is well organized and founded systematically.Different working hour based on individual contract .When I was in Shimizu , My working hour is from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm and 5 days per week. Good Salary and medical benifit .
Pros
Full medical check up per half a year
Cons
fare working hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Week end partys
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  City HallMarch 29, 2017
Good constructed company with more work stress with minimum work guarantee. There is some sudden termination is also possible. But there is many things to learn
Pros
Partys
Cons
Unsufficient overtimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
QUANTITY SURVEYOR (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMarch 26, 2017
Different techniques were thought to every staff so to enhance each and everyone's capabilities. Camaraderie among staffs is the most enjoyable part in working with this company.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shimizu Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 60 reviews
523
425
39
22
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture

Shimizu Corporation Reviews by Location