Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts Employee Reviews

Found 56 reviews matching the search See all 520 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Pastry Cook (Former Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 25, 2018
Friendly HR and conducive workplace. Have to wake up early to go to work. Learn how to serve people. Hordest part of job is long standing hours and has free lunches.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long standing hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace job
Banquet worker (Former Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 15, 2018
The day starts with preparation of the tables and utensils. From the job, I learnt how to serve people food and drinks and also to tend to their needs. The hardest part of the job was getting used to carrying the food as it was very heavy I had a lot of trouble balancing the tray on my hand but after doing it a few times I got used to it. Most enjoyable part of the job is working with friends.
Pros
Many time slots
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Concierge Assistant
Concierge Assistant (Former Employee) –  SentosaAugust 20, 2018
We were given the very basic salary, which isn't favorable as I have a relevant Diploma with relation to the industry. Expect lots of standing, lifting luggages & long hours.

Working in the Concierge made everything much better due to the people. Management are very very humble & generous, they are focused on providing customer's service whereas we are focused on doing bell desk. However, when work load gets too heavy, you can see the manager helping out with bell desk which shows a lot about a person who's willing to go down and help one another. Teamwork is wonderful here.
Pros
Free meals all the time
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Front Office Agent (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 13, 2018
Excellent Hotel group. Every hotelier must work for the Shangri-la Group once in their hotel career. Good training and work culture. Great mentors whom guided their subordinates fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high expectation from Management and also guests, but fun working place and colleagues.
Butler (Current Employee) –  OrchardJuly 24, 2018
This hotel taught me , what excellence service means. After working here for nearly 9 years and already served from salutation of Kings , Queens , Presidents and Head of States.
I really enjoy working here, but time changes and my time now is to spread the experience and knowledge to others that can be benefit for them.
Pros
Transportation provided for early shift and after midnight.
Cons
Very long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Food and Beverage (Former Employee) –  OrchardJuly 5, 2018
This is the first job i have work for long hours in a day there are different type of set up for the table as we need to remember which set up is for which table
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Hotel
management trainee (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 8, 2018
This hotel is very good and the staff members or management is very good. In my entire experience i found this hotel is best. The working culture in this hotel is very goof or friendly.
Pros
everything good
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Guest Services Officer (Department Trainer) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMarch 25, 2018
I had fun working in Shangri-la Hotel, Singapore. My 4 years there has now became my memories. Everything there is nice. Food, people surrounding are all good. However the salary wise is low.
Pros
Good food for duty meal
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Guest Service Officer (Current Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 28, 2018
Good for the first job in Shangri-La Hotel Singapore. All the staff are so friendly and kind. There are many benefit and training to improve myself...
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncomfortable workplace
Service Crew (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJanuary 20, 2018
Initially, I enjoyed working there but after a while, my friend and I got bullied as we were the youngest in the team. However, I learnt to be more patient and to learn things along the way including simple tasks such as wiping of wine glasses.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Bad Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report

Want to know more about Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working Environment
STEWARD (Current Employee) –  OrchardJanuary 14, 2018
The company provides free meal and transport. You're able to work with friends.
Freelance work in which you're able to pick your desired schedule subject to availability.
Pros
Free meal, transport
Cons
Long standing hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,Fun workplace and gain more experience in customer service.
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  OrchardJanuary 13, 2018
Doing the same thing everyday and meanwhile you can actually gain experience in customer service. Fun workplace and learn new things,meet new people and learn new other cultures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the hotel
Butcher / Western Ala carte (Former Employee) –  East JavaOctober 15, 2017
exellent hotel
very welcome staff
6 days work
1 day off
DP system (national holiday)
discipline
very clean hotel
service to guest = exellent
8 hours work/ day
Pros
very clean hotel
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environment
Part Time Employee (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 14, 2017
it was a helpful experienced to me. i was having a great time serving thousands of customer. and beside i had good partners to support me. the work environment quite intense but i overcame my limit and work harder
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great training ground
Guest Service Officer (Former Employee) –  OrchardJuly 31, 2017
Life is Shangri-la would be kept memorable. Every day, you tend to learn new things. Meeting new colleagues and working together as a team has never been this amazing. Shangri-La hotel is a good place to work in, in terms of self-development and self-fulfillment.
Pros
Meals provided
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and good environment
pastry cook (Former Employee) –  orchardJuly 31, 2017
Great place to start your career. Do decent training and the people and culture are phenomenal.Interesting work environment where most people are helpful and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall works are ok however quite demanding at time as there are 5 buildings.
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  OrchardJuly 27, 2017
I have given a lot of opportunity to perform my works.
Team workers are worked together to achieve co common goal.
Good relationship with colleagues and management.
All work as a family to support each others.
Pros
Canteen food as mini buffet set up.
Cons
Long hours and quite demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  SentosaJune 28, 2017
A place to grow and learn about oneself. There's a lot of departments, a way to make friends and expand the circle of friends. A good learning experience comes with the jobscope. Build relationships with the internal staff with professionalism and good work ethics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivation and fun work place
FRONT DESK (Internship) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 23, 2017
1. Schedule work
2. Learning that the way of communication with guests and the
Opera reservation system
3. Even though I worked at there for short period, their management
was quite well organized with the employees.
4. The employees was from all over the world such as Japan, Korea,
Singapore, Malaysia, France, Russia, and so on. With them, the
workplace atmosphere was fun by understanding together.
5. When the room was not ready, we had to keep following of
preparing the room by communicating with other teams like room
control and house keeping department. Thus, the hardest thing
was have to connect with guest and other teams at the same
time.
6. the most enjoyable part was that learning many things by working
with colleagues and meet the various types of guests
Pros
Free launch and they have award day in once a month for motivation to employees
Cons
Keep standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work at
Housekeeping Department (Former Employee) –  SentosaMay 11, 2017
I learnt a lot of about the housekeeping department during my 6 months stint at Shangri La. My mentors took care of me well and looked out for me whenever I needed help.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 520 reviews
5275
4152
366
221
16

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture