Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Guest Service Officer (Current Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 28, 2018
Good for the first job in Shangri-La Hotel Singapore. All the staff are so friendly and kind. There are many benefit and training to improve myself...
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncomfortable workplace
Service Crew (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJanuary 20, 2018
Initially, I enjoyed working there but after a while, my friend and I got bullied as we were the youngest in the team. However, I learnt to be more patient and to learn things along the way including simple tasks such as wiping of wine glasses.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Bad Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working Environment
STEWARD (Current Employee) –  OrchardJanuary 14, 2018
The company provides free meal and transport. You're able to work with friends.
Freelance work in which you're able to pick your desired schedule subject to availability.
Pros
Free meal, transport
Cons
Long standing hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,Fun workplace and gain more experience in customer service.
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  OrchardJanuary 13, 2018
Doing the same thing everyday and meanwhile you can actually gain experience in customer service. Fun workplace and learn new things,meet new people and learn new other cultures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the hotel
Butcher / Western Ala carte (Former Employee) –  East JavaOctober 15, 2017
exellent hotel
very welcome staff
6 days work
1 day off
DP system (national holiday)
discipline
very clean hotel
service to guest = exellent
8 hours work/ day
Pros
very clean hotel
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environment
Part Time Employee (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 14, 2017
it was a helpful experienced to me. i was having a great time serving thousands of customer. and beside i had good partners to support me. the work environment quite intense but i overcame my limit and work harder
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great training ground
Guest Service Officer (Former Employee) –  OrchardJuly 31, 2017
Life is Shangri-la would be kept memorable. Every day, you tend to learn new things. Meeting new colleagues and working together as a team has never been this amazing. Shangri-La hotel is a good place to work in, in terms of self-development and self-fulfillment.
Pros
Meals provided
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and good environment
pastry cook (Former Employee) –  orchardJuly 31, 2017
Great place to start your career. Do decent training and the people and culture are phenomenal.Interesting work environment where most people are helpful and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall works are ok however quite demanding at time as there are 5 buildings.
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  OrchardJuly 27, 2017
I have given a lot of opportunity to perform my works.
Team workers are worked together to achieve co common goal.
Good relationship with colleagues and management.
All work as a family to support each others.
Pros
Canteen food as mini buffet set up.
Cons
Long hours and quite demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  SentosaJune 28, 2017
A place to grow and learn about oneself. There's a lot of departments, a way to make friends and expand the circle of friends. A good learning experience comes with the jobscope. Build relationships with the internal staff with professionalism and good work ethics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivation and fun work place
FRONT DESK (Internship) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 23, 2017
1. Schedule work
2. Learning that the way of communication with guests and the
Opera reservation system
3. Even though I worked at there for short period, their management
was quite well organized with the employees.
4. The employees was from all over the world such as Japan, Korea,
Singapore, Malaysia, France, Russia, and so on. With them, the
workplace atmosphere was fun by understanding together.
5. When the room was not ready, we had to keep following of
preparing the room by communicating with other teams like room
control and house keeping department. Thus, the hardest thing
was have to connect with guest and other teams at the same
time.
6. the most enjoyable part was that learning many things by working
with colleagues and meet the various types of guests
Pros
Free launch and they have award day in once a month for motivation to employees
Cons
Keep standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work at
Housekeeping Department (Former Employee) –  SentosaMay 11, 2017
I learnt a lot of about the housekeeping department during my 6 months stint at Shangri La. My mentors took care of me well and looked out for me whenever I needed help.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn
service leader (Former Employee) –  italian restaurantMay 9, 2017
started as a service leader. the team is good and balanced who assist you on each and every step. standards are high and followed consistently. salary is always on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Event Waitress (Former Employee) –  OrchardApril 24, 2017
Assist in daily operations and event, management and overall performance of the restaurants, especially events. Deal with people and serve them appropriate.
Pros
Free breakfast, lunch and dinner
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an interactive workplace
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  OrchardApril 20, 2017
I learned alot about Food and Beverage industry. We really had a big responsibility to ensure that the food is served on time and to ensure that the diners glasses is filled with water.
Pros
Free meal
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good environment to work at.
Steward (Former Employee) –  22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350March 28, 2017
The work is quite acceptable and the people that i work with is good. Working hours is also acceptable, it isn't too long nor short duration of time to work. Enjoyed working there. It was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed and learned
Technical Officer (Former Employee) –  SentosaMarch 20, 2017
Daily routines when we begin our shifts would be taking meter readings throughout the hotel (chiller, boiler room etc) for the day to ensure that operation runs smoothly. Attend meeting for discussion for the day errands or follow up and get to work. Our culture is to respect each other be it externally or internally. The hardest part of the job would probably be attending to major faults that needs more time to troubleshoot. That being said, nothing's make you feel much better than being able to satisfy the guests needs.
Pros
Free meals for the day
Cons
Dealing with guest behaviours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work at fun place
Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  SentosaMarch 4, 2017
I’m looking for some career to set up and reach my goal. I rather stay tired than broke of career, in addiction I could give all my effort, energy and my time to accomplish my goal.
Pros
provided
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Banquet runner & server (Former Employee) –  OrchardFebruary 26, 2017
Once you work there means you're part of the family. The bonding is great. The environment, people n management there is nice. Important part is three give and take.
Pros
Free lunch/dinner
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Customer Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  SentosaFebruary 24, 2017
• Handling phone call and email enquiries

• Prepare weekly & monthly report to Supervisor

• Develop positive relationship with clients for further
business opportunities
Pros
Getting to meet new people on a daily basis
Cons
Job Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 481 reviews
5254
4140
361
220
16

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture