Republic Services Employee Reviews for Truck Driver

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Featured review
Republic Services selected this as a representative review
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Sales Coordinator, Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 2, 2017
Excellent place to work at. They care for their employees and make sure that you are happy in the environment. They literally become your family and want you to succeed
Pros
Great working environment
Cons
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My day at Republic services
Roll-Off Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Revere, MADecember 9, 2017
You arrive early every day. your responsibilities include a pre inspection of your truck and equipment, also coordinating your route. during the day you can expect to encounter many customers, it is important to maintain a positive working relationship with all. then you drive your route safely and efficiently as possible. you must come into the day rested and focused. do your very best to be independent but ask for help if needed. co workers are good go to people when you need advise so a good working relationship is a must. Then at the end of the day post trip and any necessary must be completed and then see you tomorrow!! lol
Pros
all the ot you can handle
Cons
mandatory 60 hr per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 6, 2017
drive trucks and pick up garbage dive trough neighborhoods throw trash away and drive the truck back to the company or go and pick up trash from everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great opportunity
Professional Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLOctober 25, 2017
This was a great opportunity to learn and push myself in a supportive environment. My supervisor seemed to care about my progress and provided opportunities to learn more
Pros
nah
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Maintenance Supervisor, CDL Class B (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVOctober 23, 2017
oversee equipment repairs done in a safe and timely manner, order supplies for equipment, order fuel and oils for maintanence, track repairs done on equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work at
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Kilgore, TXSeptember 29, 2017
If you want long hours horrible management horrible pay well then this is the place for you and the list goes on and on i wouldn't work at this company if it was The last job on Earth also a lot of shady business practices
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother with this place. Unless you need a few bucks to survive. Way better paying jobs for CDL driver then this.
CDL A Driver (Former Employee) –  MichiganSeptember 20, 2017
You get a quick callback and answer a few questions. If they like your voice, they will schedule you an in person interview. During that, they will send a random supervisor in to ask you several dumb "tell me about a time when..." type questions. If they like you, they will give you a tour of the building. If they don't, they will tell you someone will be in touch and let you leave.
Pros
Free smells and tastes
Cons
Favortism
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Elyria, OHSeptember 4, 2017
Very long hours a hard job if you not use to hard work and very long hours it's a tough job and supervisor talk to you like your nothing they don't jus get the route done
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
RECYCLING TRUCK HELPER (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDSeptember 1, 2017
Had a great time working for republic services, liked the job a lot, only got let go because of lay offs. Great benefits, and the staff I worked with were great group of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking to move up
CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 29, 2017
looking to move up in my career. to be able to provide for my family all around to be able to not stress about anything work and come home without doubt to provide as a man
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not a bad place to work..
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 29, 2017
I rather get paid by the hour instead of by the day, because some of the days are long! You can finish your route in good time, but someone else have problem with theirs, you have to help them. The extra work and the money don't add up!
Pros
Safty awards
Cons
No long weekends on holidays!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like what I do
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Hudson, FLAugust 24, 2017
You are up early in the morning need to drink lots of water .The sooner you get to work the better the day may be for you.You go out and do your job with safety on your mind being safe is key.
Pros
B.B.Q sometime and company safety banquites with prizes
Cons
Almost no lunch time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Truck Driver Class B (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALAugust 21, 2017
had to pre trip and post trip the truck every day get my sceal and the hardest part of my day was dilling with trifete and the most of all I learned a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Supervisor/Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 13, 2017
One mistake and your done. Your human and things happen. I worked there for 13 years and I did make a mistake and coming back from that you can't I was a hard worker and it went unnoticed.
Pros
Most weekends off
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILJuly 11, 2017
Long hours, if you get your route done, they expect you to help slower members, without asking you. Upper management is helpful and willing to work with the employees,
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for self motivated people
Class B Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 10, 2017
They keep you on you toes about safety first. Everyone is helpful and it is seen. Most days the earlier you start the earlier you get off. Uniforms and washing is provided every week. Most weekends off. Paid holidays and vacation and personal time is also given.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Early hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Karoto Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXJune 21, 2017
the people are great to be around and work with the customers are sometime difficult to deal with but ok at times and there is great team work that goes on
Pros
do your job
Cons
get a long
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
where do i start
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILJune 21, 2017
management will throw you under the bus and drive it over you. too much work is given to the drivers and then you are criticized when you take too long to do your route. they sell empty promises and treat you worse than dirt. I would like to lead into this with a positive attitude but management shows the favorites right in front of everyone. If two drivers commit the same type of fault then the same punishment should be given, that doesn't happen. the pay is good but should be better based on the work load. I won't speak for all of the divisions but this one needs over hauled.
Pros
free lunches on fri if no incident the week before
Cons
poor management, that is where it all comes from.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a cover driver there is no time to enjoy fun time you go from one truck to other.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Sun Valley, CAJune 14, 2017
A typical day at work, pre trip 2 or more trucks to cover who ever its not showing up to work that day. What I learned is that always safety come first at any given day. Management have to much work on there hands some days they don't have the time to take care of some ones work problems. Hardest part of the job is other drivers who don't realice how difficult it is to slow down a truck with 8 to 12 ton load. Enjoyable all co worker help each other out, and get along with each other.
Pros
There are BBQ days for Employees.
Cons
There is no time to take short brakes the route needs be completed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 8, 2017
Heavy work lots of driving the whole day requires a lot of physical work , we pick up garbage, I'm getting tired its a very dirty work, trying to move on to a better position but I'm stuck where I am that's why I'm looking to different place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job looking for my own business
Truck Driver Class A CDL (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXJune 2, 2017
I like my job looking to start a small business in the hot shot field so I can have more family time this company is really good as far as job security they great benefits and a 401 k the vacation time is the only issue I have with this company other than that great company to work for
Pros
Good place to work job security
Cons
Vacation time is an issue
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Republic Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0