Republic Services Employee Reviews for Operations Supervisor

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Office took the fun out of work
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 21, 2018
Local management did what they could. There was always someone above local management making the calls. The most enjoyable part of my job were the local team I worked with.
Pros
Great Drivers and helpers to work with
Cons
Equipment breaks down frequently
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 4, 2018
This is a great company to work for. There is a lot of opportunity for advancement within the company. They also have great benefits. Also, there is a lot of opportunity for professional development.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change in management hard to follow.
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSSeptember 2, 2018
New management has been put into place. The management above has threatened the lower managements jobs. They are creating a culture of structure. The company is trying to standardize it self across the nation. The hardest part of the job is trying to get enough information on what the new directive is. Communication is lacking with the new plans that are rolled out. I like the employees that I work with.
Pros
reasonable health insurance. retirement
Cons
long hours. need enough employees to do the job properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety first
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lima, OHAugust 22, 2018
Supervisors can't complete the crazy amount of assigned tasks. You would have to work 14 hours per day. Unreasonable expectations from cooperate. Too many departments creating policies.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Drivers make more than supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't get comfortable
OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Northern VirginiaJuly 2, 2018
Upper management can't be trusted as well as HR. Favoritism runs big here especially in Northern Virginia, if your not in the right group you mind as well quit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
OPS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Sumner, ILMarch 28, 2018
Good group to work with, you run the routes at your pace, newer trucks, great maintenance team. Never planed on leaving but had to relocate to be closer to my daughter
Pros
Free lunch, benefits
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMarch 19, 2018
Upper management sucks. They have no time for you. Tell you to do something one way today and another way tomorrow. Equipment sucks trucks are not safe to be on road but are forced to put them on road anyway. DOT should shut this place down.

Never trust anyone at this company will look you straight in face and lie to you.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job but alot of room for improvement
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTFebruary 24, 2018
Company went without much management for a while but its now coming together. Every day is a different challenge but when i go hone i feel like I have earned my paycheck. Dealing with temp agencies and people from all backgrounds makes it even more difficult but as stated earlier- you feel alot better once you start seeing the positive changes you are helping to bring.
Pros
medical, 401k, room to grow
Cons
Bad turn around
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful with long hours
Operations Supervisor-Hauling-Transportation (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJanuary 28, 2018
Early morning start and late evening finishes with administrative duties and demanding to be on the road at the same time. Not enough support for the role.
Pros
Frequent emloyee functions or cookouts. Benefits
Cons
hours and manangement support
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing drivers and customers
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 14, 2018
Challenging role in a variety of settings and relentless demands of the daily job duties. Customer service is paramount. Safety and quality is a key focus area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of hours
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJanuary 9, 2018
a lot of hours, high stress environment, very fast paced with a lot of cross functional responsibility, purchasing, h/r, dot regulations, hours of service, safety, productivity, retention
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big business company
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 7, 2018
Corporate runs things, and they are quick to remind you of it. Not a bad place. They are telling people that they’ll fire you if your shirt isn’t tucked in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Republic can't figure out how to treat all employees
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bozeman, MTJanuary 3, 2018
After being a driver and a supervisor, even though I was hired to be a supervisor, I asked about the bonus and was told I had yet to do anything exceptional. Myself and another supervisor carried the extra workload during the summer, violating company policy. Operations Manager would not hire appropriate number of drivers to cover the extra work. Then I was told I was not performing my supervisory reports adequately on the days I was stuck in a truck.
Pros
Vacation
Cons
Very poor management, complaints and suggestions ignored.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 21, 2017
I was an operations supervisor which is pretty much the same task wherever you work. Basically I was an adult day care worker who had to motivate employees to do some of the most basic task known to mankind.
Pros
The pay was excellent and there is opportunity to move up.
Cons
Long hours because the demand is high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and stressful
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 10, 2017
Work 12-16 a day, very minimal training, incompetent managers, and dealing with rude drivers. Tasks are repetitive and personal development is uncommon.
Pros
Compensation is reasonable
Cons
Long hours and no training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLDecember 4, 2017
Great place to work and advance in a career. If you work hard and show up for work every day with the intent to do your best. If you have a positive attitude with management and your team. You can go far at this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most dysfunctional work environment you will ever work in.
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Sun Valley, CANovember 20, 2017
If you want to be miserable, sad, unhappy, stressed, unfulfilled...then this is the company for you. One of my colleagues said last week...coming into work is a traumatic experience. Please save yourself the headache and steer clear of this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Upper Management
E&P OPS Supervisor-Hauling Department (Current Employee) –  Odessa, TXNovember 7, 2017
The Company preaches one thing but practices something else. Upper managent is only worried about P/L and does not engage their direct reports. The company is a recent new comer to E&P and is finding out that the oilfield is a different animal than residential waste as it tries to apply its policies and practices to the oil and gas industry.
Pros
Wages are competative
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Republic Services
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 6, 2017
Republic Services tries to be a quality employer, but compensation, training and opportunities for advancement are weak and could easily be much better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste Industry
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 3, 2017
Great company if an applicant is looking for challenges and the opportunity to learn various LOB (Line of Business). I have been given the opportunity to learn multiple lines of business which lead to advancement and personal growth.
Pros
Ability to learn all aspects of the business.
Cons
Hours of service required at any given time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Republic Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,878 reviews
5473
4477
3420
2232
1276

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture