Republic Services Employee Reviews for Driver

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Featured review
Republic Services selected this as a representative review
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Sales Coordinator, Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 2, 2017
Excellent place to work at. They care for their employees and make sure that you are happy in the environment. They literally become your family and want you to succeed
Pros
Great working environment
Cons
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical driver
Residential Driver (Current Employee) –  MOJuly 19, 2018
Republic Service is a place that has potential to be great, there are so many managers that haven't officially received the title, that so many different messages relayed. Safety is obviously not the first priority to the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Environment
Roll Off Driver (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 18, 2018
The problem at this company is the trucks are horrible. Every morning that I went into work, I had to wait on a truck. Then when I got in a truck, the truck didn't work properly. They would say that they have fixed the truck and they didn't. I would be on the road driving with a truck with power steering problems. I had friends that had wreck in truck because the truck had been written up and they never properly serviced the truck
Pros
Great hours to be with family
Cons
Raggedy trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting days
Driver (Current Employee) –  York, PAJuly 13, 2018
Days are a little stressful. Never know if people will show up to do their jobs. Trucks are of questionable reliability;.Truck issues seem to be the most pressing problem. Often loaders are overworked and stressed. Routes are little too large for one man loaders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a great place to work
Roll-off Driver (Current Employee) –  North Charleston, SCJuly 5, 2018
I have enjoyed my time here. Good management and fair pay. As far as a waste removal company, I put them against any others out there. The hours are good and the schedule is hard to beat.
Pros
Good management. Good hours and schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company needs to consider the employees more other than a cookout
Driver (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 4, 2018
Allow us to it's better other than Crossing each other over as it seems that we are all having Financial struggles other than those who are picked or consider to be a favorite due to constant complaining in the office👿
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trucks are good. management not so much
DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJuly 3, 2018
The work is steady and boring. Management will put you aside if youre not in proper clique. Status was a clear line drawn in the sand. Theres no grey area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Driver/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fall River, MAJuly 2, 2018
Job was consistent you are safe if you had a contracted prevailing wage town you didn't have to swing drive. It was a fair place to work for worked with a lot of good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJune 26, 2018
Things would be better if they paid more money by the hour . I feel that they really need to take the time out to listen to the drivers and what they’re legitimate complaints are
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and great place to work
Roll off driver (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAJune 20, 2018
Safe and great place to work. Would like to go back if posible. I loved the people I worked with. Not much room for advancement but that was ok . I was happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work a lot of hours and great opportuinty.
Residential Driver (Current Employee) –  Hickory, NCJune 14, 2018
I believe republic waste services gives employees a opportunity to make a decent wage to survive.

I would like to transfer to closer terminal to my house because it is a hour drive to work but the pay is okay.
Pros
When you get overtime it helps.
Cons
It is a hour drive to work. and someitmes our trucks break down cant control that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be jerked around
driver (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INJune 1, 2018
Will try to get you to do residential route no matter what you apply for. Unreasonable workloads and hours expected of you. Junk trucks, if they had any in working order.
Pros
none
Cons
unrealistic workloads, overworked, deceptive managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor corporate management
Residential Driver (Former Employee) –  Tyngsboro, MAMay 18, 2018
co hires temps that can not do or meet osha requirements to save money but costs time drivers in time. Has very poor HAR department. Does not accept valid medical leave for employees would rather terminate them
Pros
overtime
Cons
temp help that doesn't know how to do the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced long days but compensation was fair for production goals.
Roll-off Driver (Current Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNMay 16, 2018
Would be willing to continue to work for Republic. If there are job opportunities available when I move. Mostly work your own route. But the other drivers are more than willing to help if possible. Republic is going to hourly pay instead of production based pay.
Pros
Safety Awards
Cons
Working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Roll Off Driver (Current Employee) –  OhioMay 12, 2018
Good place to work your are home every night , decent pay for not being over the road and away from home every night , decent benefits can be Physically demanding
Pros
Home every night
Cons
Weather conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy but inconsistent daily workload
Driver (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 9, 2018
IT's difficult to review the company on a whole as each location seems to run differently.
Some locations have severe inconsistencies in pay and shifts, and others are the same across the board.
Pros
Safety rewards
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, LAApril 3, 2018
go out on set route pickup open top container, transport to landfill dump content and return back to customer. most enjoyable part of job was working with customers on route.
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked it
Roll off container driver (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYApril 3, 2018
good place to work. good people to work with. they had good equipment to work with and it was maintained well they really care about the employees and their safety
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you need a job good place
Comercial Driver (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDMarch 17, 2018
No real advancement from drivers, good ol boy system in full effect. The have low pay long hours and employees are just a number. Was told many times you are replaceable. Management doesn't communicate well with drivers and seems like they are out to write guys up for anything.
Pros
Good vacation, if you can afford to lose over time pay
Cons
Health insurance goes up more then your average ¢30 raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not work for this company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Wabash, INMarch 5, 2018
The job itself is not bad Management is the problem. Out of everyplace I have worked none have ever been as bad as they are there. I was hurt badly on the job lied to about filing workmans comp and then when i returned to work was put in a position to re injure myself so they could get rid of me.
Pros
None they even make it hard to use the benefits
Cons
management, hours, pay, scare tactics
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but laid back
Driver (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 4, 2018
I liked working for allied but I had an understanding with my boss that after a year he would help me to get transferred to Stillwater oklahoma but he never even tried to make it happen he was fired a week after I left
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Republic Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,776 reviews
5451
4457
3401
2216
1251

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture