National University of Singapore Employee Reviews

Found 162 reviews matching the search See all 182 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Internship (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeJune 24, 2019
I learnt a lot here. there was a friendly atmosphere in the lab. it is a multi culture place so I became familiar with different culture people. the times that we should work are almost long and not to good live/work balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Good
Secretary (Former Employee) –  ScienceJune 16, 2019
I have complete assignments and projects based on deadlines
I have learned to multitask, plan my work and complete the tasks before the deadline prioritizing the completing important tasks first.

Management trust handing over the job in good hands knowing it will be done and handed over in time for them to move on with their other plans.

We are specialized in different areas hence not much of competitions among the staffs as our job scopes differ.

Meeting tight deadlines given by the superiors, we have to stay back beyond the official working hours to complete the urgent assignments given.

Staffs go out for lunch or dinner to treat ourselves once each project or assignments are completed. Though the job may be tough at times get together keeps our relationship and team bond strong and healthy.
Pros
Time off for working late to complete urgent tasks
Cons
Tight Deadline
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable life balance job
Research Engineer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 6, 2019
Working is NUS is nice if you want a stable and work-life balance job and if you have enthusiastic in academic. However if you are more into management in the industries, it might not be suitable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable job with no career prospects
Research Executive (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 5, 2019
I held a contract position with the company and it was a role with very little job security and no assurance whatsoever from management as to my future prospects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Challenging
Design Director of Campus Infrastructure (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 29, 2019
Positive work environment.
Clear goals.
Open atmosphere for challenging the status quo.
Strong team setting.
Rewarding projects.
Spirited colleagues.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Difficult to retain staff. Long hours and modest pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paid, but management is not transparent
Assistant/professor/Senior Lecturer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 18, 2019
I enjoyed the opportunity to work for 12 years in the region. It was difficult to advance (only one promotion) and management was not very transparent. Decisions for promotion did not seem to me to be objective and fair. For example, some locals with few or no publications were easily promoted, whereas some expat staff published many good peer-reviewed papers but failed to be promoted.
Pros
Good pay, good facilities, bright students, excellent chance for travel in the region
Cons
Lack of transparency in management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Research (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeMay 5, 2019
NUS staff is full of compassion and always there to help both staff and students when in need. Hardest part of the job is learn how to say no in certain situation. I have the opportunity to learn from many experienced colleagues and will definitely remember them as friends instead of colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New learning experience
Researcher (Current Employee) –  Kent RidgeApril 10, 2019
Currently employed here I am assigned the project on gamma delta T cells. This is a slight switch for me in subject and hence a very good learning experience. NUS has been a top notch university and the job culture here is quite flexible. I am not tied down by definite timings and hence I can work at my own pace. A lot of my work is time bound as I need to observe things at a certain time point. As long as you manage your time effectively, one is not restricted here. For me learnong new things is very exciting and also academics is my passion.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 4, 2019
National University of Singapore is a very good place to work. The country itself is rather small, but with great diversity. Most importantly, food is extremely delicious over there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Manager (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeMarch 28, 2019
Cordial relationship and teamwork is one of the strongest points. Supportive and understanding supervisor. Provide opportunities for upgrading of relevant skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good research
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMarch 22, 2019
Overall good group of researchers and faculty. Good laboratory facility.

The salary and benefits can be better for research fellows.
Overall good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly academic research setting
Undergraduate researcher (Former Employee) –  Buona VistaMarch 13, 2019
The conditions and culture of the workplace depends on the laboratory. The university is a good place for cheap eats and good perks (telcom discounts).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Fieldwork Assistant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 12, 2019
Given lots of opportunity to grow and develop my skills while working in a very professional environment. This was a great stepping stone in my career and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Kent RidgeFebruary 12, 2019
It really depend on which department you work in. For some is work life balance. For some is work till super late. Whats more, the benefits is just avreage and there is really not much to talk about. Just work. If i compare my current salary to my previous company, when i count it to dollar and cents its just about the same. Seriously!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonomy of working leads to productivity and motivation to work
LABORATORY EXECUTIVE (Current Employee) –  Kent RidgeJanuary 15, 2019
Everyday is a new day with plenty of learning opportunity.
Research culture cultivates critical thinking which means, plenty of reading is needed. Most enjoyable part of the job is the spirit of helping one another even from different lab to publish papers in a high impact journal and make a difference in Cancer Research.
Pros
Autonomy in workplace
Cons
Super long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Manager (Current Employee) –  SingaporeDecember 20, 2018
Good place to begin a career in education sector. Many opportunities if you are passionate enough at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good university
PhD Student (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 19, 2018
Good university, good professors, good lab and good seniors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Assistant Manager (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 25, 2018
Top university in the world and Best university in Singapore.

Good place for work life balance, friendly colleagues and responsible management.

Opportunity to work globally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Laboratory Officer (Former Employee) –  ClementiSeptember 13, 2018
Assist Researcher & students in their project .
Ensure that the lab / workshop are kept tidy.
To prepare materials for their project .
The working environment is dusty .
Pros
Nil
Cons
Dusty / hazardous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Junior Executive (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeSeptember 10, 2018
I worked at National University of Singapore full-time. Great environment to work at.Generally good work life balance, sometimes depend on the people you are working for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National University of Singapore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 182 reviews
564
474
333
29
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

National University of Singapore Reviews by Location