National University of Singapore Employee Reviews

Found 154 reviews matching the search See all 174 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 4, 2019
National University of Singapore is a very good place to work. The country itself is rather small, but with great diversity. Most importantly, food is extremely delicious over there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Manager (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeMarch 28, 2019
Cordial relationship and teamwork is one of the strongest points. Supportive and understanding supervisor. Provide opportunities for upgrading of relevant skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good research
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMarch 22, 2019
Overall good group of researchers and faculty. Good laboratory facility.

The salary and benefits can be better for research fellows.
Overall good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly academic research setting
Undergraduate researcher (Former Employee) –  Buona VistaMarch 13, 2019
The conditions and culture of the workplace depends on the laboratory. The university is a good place for cheap eats and good perks (telcom discounts).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Fieldwork Assistant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeFebruary 12, 2019
Given lots of opportunity to grow and develop my skills while working in a very professional environment. This was a great stepping stone in my career and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Kent RidgeFebruary 12, 2019
It really depend on which department you work in. For some is work life balance. For some is work till super late. Whats more, the benefits is just avreage and there is really not much to talk about. Just work. If i compare my current salary to my previous company, when i count it to dollar and cents its just about the same. Seriously!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonomy of working leads to productivity and motivation to work
LABORATORY EXECUTIVE (Current Employee) –  Kent RidgeJanuary 15, 2019
Everyday is a new day with plenty of learning opportunity.
Research culture cultivates critical thinking which means, plenty of reading is needed. Most enjoyable part of the job is the spirit of helping one another even from different lab to publish papers in a high impact journal and make a difference in Cancer Research.
Pros
Autonomy in workplace
Cons
Super long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Manager (Current Employee) –  SingaporeDecember 20, 2018
Good place to begin a career in education sector. Many opportunities if you are passionate enough at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good university
PhD Student (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 19, 2018
Good university, good professors, good lab and good seniors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Assistant Manager (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 25, 2018
Top university in the world and Best university in Singapore.

Good place for work life balance, friendly colleagues and responsible management.

Opportunity to work globally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Laboratory Officer (Former Employee) –  ClementiSeptember 13, 2018
Assist Researcher & students in their project .
Ensure that the lab / workshop are kept tidy.
To prepare materials for their project .
The working environment is dusty .
Pros
Nil
Cons
Dusty / hazardous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Junior Executive (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeSeptember 10, 2018
I worked at National University of Singapore full-time. Great environment to work at.Generally good work life balance, sometimes depend on the people you are working for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Experience in NUS SCALE
Associate Director (Former Employee) –  ClementiSeptember 8, 2018
There is no worklife balance. The unofficial working hour is long during weekday. A typical day ends between 8pm to 10pm. Bosses tend to send email at night and over the weekend and expect immediate attention.


There are office politics and staff have hidden agenda. Lower level staff are not helpful in guiding newly hired staff and not willing to adapt to new way of doing things. They are very protective about their job scope and afraid that their rice bowls will be taken away.

Senior management is not upfront to newly hired staff about office relocation since they have hidden agenda of temporarily hiring the newly hired staff. This is very unethical.


Pay is not compensatory with long working hours and effort put in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance and friendly environment
Management Assistant Officer Grade 2 (Former Employee) –  University Hall, 21 Lower Kent RidgeAugust 9, 2018
I have worked in NUS for the past 7 years and have enjoyed the friendly environment the people who are working there had created. Seeking help from other department is usually not difficult as the staff were willing to help you when being approached.

The work life balanced is the most attractive part to me as i am able to work hard and play hard.
Pros
worklife balance
Cons
some procedures implemented are not practical, e.g. certain procurement guidelines
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable career and fun workplace
Laboratory Technician/ Executive (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeAugust 4, 2018
Pace of work is slow but workload can varies. You will be able to work with people of various age group as well as different race and nationality, hence it is a very good place to socialize and listen to various opinions. Subordinates tend to be less vocal, less creative and following instruction more to their superiors. The hardest part of the job is that job progression can be slow due to bureaucracy despite having excellent work performance and recognition from superiors. I enjoyed working in NUS as I have made many great friends there and have many pleasant memories with my department.
Pros
Stable Job
Cons
Job progression slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work place
Graduate Research Student (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 1, 2018
I pursued by PhD here in this university and now currently working here. I had some of the best years of my life in NUS. The research environment here in NUS is very inspiring and has a lot of positivity around. I am grateful to be a part of this university!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management is not quite ok
Management Assistant Officer (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeJuly 18, 2018
Office Working hours.
Most of the work I learned by myself and thru courses
The management is not so good with idle people around.
Hardworking are often penalized
The loved to keep old staff which I find they are quite redundant
Not appreciated of what you are doing
I learned a lot from my work which I enjoy it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remuneration is comparable to market standards.
Human Resource/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  ClementiJuly 16, 2018
School environment is less bureaucratic and political than the corporate world. Good place to settle down long term. Admin staff dress well. There is work life balance.
Pros
Reputable University
Cons
Slow promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and challenging work environment
Clinical Research Coordinator (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJuly 12, 2018
Work is hard, play is hard. A typical day includes performing phlebotomy, ECG and running the laboratory. Managing other duties according to a rotation roster gives everyone a chance at managing Quality Controls, inventory and maintenance of our machines. Management has been very supportive of advancements and listens avidly to our ideas as well as concerns. Most enjoyable part are the fun and best colleagues I have worked with.
Pros
Great bonuses
Cons
Routine work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Management Assistant Officer, Finance (Former Employee) –  ClementiJuly 3, 2018
Processing invoices to students, visitors and suppliers. In-charge of cash advance, Fixed Assets and TRAC verification for staff, raising e-Journal in SAP systems and ordering of goods in the GeBiz system. In-charge of the pCard for allocation of expenditure to the correct project account. Attending enquiries from finance office and vendors by phone and emails. Process payment to supplier and reimbursing claims eg: travel claims, conference claims, allowance to staff, students and external visitors etc.
Pros
Good environmental to work with
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National University of Singapore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 174 reviews
561
471
332
28
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

National University of Singapore Reviews by Location