National University of Singapore Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic administrator are always decision-maker regardless if the work requires a professional execution.
Lead Media Producer (Current Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 20, 2017
Old school mindset with mostly academic administrator of little industry experience and skill to manage office administration work which in-directly undermine professional staff career progression.
Pros
Enjoy large work space
Cons
Decision are always determine by academic administrator rather than base on professional practice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Learning workplace with excellent work culture
Research Engineer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 15, 2017
A typical day at work is from 9 to 6.

Learned about the research field and its difficulties.

Excellent Principle Investigator who guided through the entire project.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environ with sufficient annual leave
Research Engineer (Former Employee) –  ClementiNovember 11, 2017
The most one i like is their benefits is not so bad. for Staff, every year has 28 working days annual leave. Most of the people never finished their annual leave. Me neither.

After I worked outside not NUS, none of the company could afford 28 days annual leave. I love travelling, hiking and diving. I love the company could afford long annual leave so that I have time to expand myself vision, to make myself more mature.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As I worked for my final year project for my Masters my first phase to learn cell culture took me a thought to persist in research field
Part-time Tutor (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 1, 2017
student life is always a good life without much stress rather than exams and ability to learn new things and there no time limits can come and go anytime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for short term
Business IT Analyst (Former Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 20, 2017
It was a good experience and I could develop the programs with minimal disruptions. But overall cannot advance much in the field because of the systems of Singapore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National University of Singapore Review
Physics Lab Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 18, 2017
Good working environment, normal pay, good management level, flexible working hours, not much opportunity for advancement, good employee welfare, recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good research environment
Research Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeOctober 16, 2017
Flexible working hours as long as you can deliver all the task and be productive. Good research environment for research staff. A lot of support from government. Would be stressed out by your professor.
Pros
Good research environmnet
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment.
Management Assistant Officer (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  ClementiOctober 11, 2017
Good working environment. (Work Life Balance)

Friendly colleague and management. Overall it is a good place to work at.

Nus provide attractive salary and benefit as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Workplace
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Research AssociateSeptember 26, 2017
The office culture is welcoming to new employees and forms a conducive environment for nurturing new and innovative ideas. The delegation of workload to each member of the team stimulates personal growth.
Pros
good bonding between colleagues
Cons
Insecurity in due to its contract nature
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not work in NUS
Team member, A/P Xu Qinghua (Former Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 18, 2017
not work in NUS
Do master research in NUS, good professor, but high work load
Pros
not work in NUS
Cons
not work in NUSS
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good colleagues but very little chance for career advancement
senior research fellow (Former Employee) –  West coastSeptember 9, 2017
A scientist's day starts with experiment performing in the lab and ends with data analysis. What I learn the most from being a scientist is perseverance which I would benefit for a long time. The hardest part of this job is that I have to give up the research due to unstable environment of research field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and productive workplace
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 28, 2017
I did learn a lot during my staying in Singapore. Both my working skills and personality have improved significantly here. It is definitely a good location I will memorize in my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Research Engineer (Technology roadmap on CCS/U) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 21, 2017
It is a great place to be. They are always encourging innovative thinking and ideas while giving you a chance to enhance your skills to shape your career. Great place to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life work balance
Principal Systems Analyst/ Webmaster (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeJuly 30, 2017
life work balance is there. but if you are a professional seeking skill enhancement or leveling up. This is not the place for you. job stability and ideal place to work at. Just get away from office politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great management.
Management Assistant Officer (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeJuly 17, 2017
Great people at all levels in the School of Design & Environment - everyone is supportive of each other and has a great time together in accomplishing the mission. The Senior Manager and Management team are highly Motivated which brings much positive energy in the whole team. .
Pros
We are treated like family.It feels great to work with such colleagues. Great atmosphere
Cons
None really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Management Assistant Officer (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeJune 30, 2017
In general, NUS is a good employer as it provides a work / life balance and lots of other benefits to its employees. As it is a local university supported by the government, job security is high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at NUS as research fellow
Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  SingaporeJune 22, 2017
My time at National university of singapore as research fellow was quite good but the job security was the again not there since you are a postdoc. But that can change if you bring your own funding, which is not easy to get as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Temp Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeJune 22, 2017
Clean and comfortable working environment with lively and friendly staff. Fun while also productive. Many food options eg medical centre, main building, U town etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once in life time opportunity
Post Graduate Student (Research Scholar) (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 29, 2017
Perfect education provider.
Excellent provision of all the required resources.
Learned from the kind of best scholars of the world.
Very clean campus.
The best university in the region and one of the tops on earth.
Pros
Expend your knowledge to the horizon.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 23, 2017
guides you to be an independent learner and researcher. Ability to learn new technical skills and computer data analysis.

Learning the process of distilling Seawater to Drinking water was an amazing knowledge picked up.
Pros
learnt to be a better data analysis
Cons
Distance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National University of Singapore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 120 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

National University of Singapore Reviews by Location