National University of Singapore Employee Reviews

Found 137 reviews matching the search See all 152 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Laboratory Officer (Former Employee) –  ClementiSeptember 13, 2018
Assist Researcher & students in their project .
Ensure that the lab / workshop are kept tidy.
To prepare materials for their project .
The working environment is dusty .
Pros
Nil
Cons
Dusty / hazardous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Junior Executive (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeSeptember 10, 2018
I worked at National University of Singapore full-time. Great environment to work at.Generally good work life balance, sometimes depend on the people you are working for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Experience in NUS SCALE
Associate Director (Former Employee) –  ClementiSeptember 8, 2018
There is no worklife balance. The unofficial working hour is long during weekday. A typical day ends between 8pm to 10pm. Bosses tend to send email at night and over the weekend and expect immediate attention.


There are office politics and staff have hidden agenda. Lower level staff are not helpful in guiding newly hired staff and not willing to adapt to new way of doing things. They are very protective about their job scope and afraid that their rice bowls will be taken away.

Senior management is not upfront to newly hired staff about office relocation since they have hidden agenda of temporarily hiring the newly hired staff. This is very unethical.


Pay is not compensatory with long working hours and effort put in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance and friendly environment
Management Assistant Officer Grade 2 (Former Employee) –  University Hall, 21 Lower Kent RidgeAugust 9, 2018
I have worked in NUS for the past 7 years and have enjoyed the friendly environment the people who are working there had created. Seeking help from other department is usually not difficult as the staff were willing to help you when being approached.

The work life balanced is the most attractive part to me as i am able to work hard and play hard.
Pros
worklife balance
Cons
some procedures implemented are not practical, e.g. certain procurement guidelines
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable career and fun workplace
Laboratory Technician/ Executive (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeAugust 4, 2018
Pace of work is slow but workload can varies. You will be able to work with people of various age group as well as different race and nationality, hence it is a very good place to socialize and listen to various opinions. Subordinates tend to be less vocal, less creative and following instruction more to their superiors. The hardest part of the job is that job progression can be slow due to bureaucracy despite having excellent work performance and recognition from superiors. I enjoyed working in NUS as I have made many great friends there and have many pleasant memories with my department.
Pros
Stable Job
Cons
Job progression slow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work place
Graduate Research Student (Former Employee) –  SingaporeAugust 1, 2018
I pursued by PhD here in this university and now currently working here. I had some of the best years of my life in NUS. The research environment here in NUS is very inspiring and has a lot of positivity around. I am grateful to be a part of this university!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management is not quite ok
Management Assistant Officer (Former Employee) –  Kent RidgeJuly 18, 2018
Office Working hours.
Most of the work I learned by myself and thru courses
The management is not so good with idle people around.
Hardworking are often penalized
The loved to keep old staff which I find they are quite redundant
Not appreciated of what you are doing
I learned a lot from my work which I enjoy it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remuneration is comparable to market standards.
Human Resource/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  ClementiJuly 16, 2018
School environment is less bureaucratic and political than the corporate world. Good place to settle down long term. Admin staff dress well. There is work life balance.
Pros
Reputable University
Cons
Slow promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and challenging work environment
Clinical Research Coordinator (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJuly 12, 2018
Work is hard, play is hard. A typical day includes performing phlebotomy, ECG and running the laboratory. Managing other duties according to a rotation roster gives everyone a chance at managing Quality Controls, inventory and maintenance of our machines. Management has been very supportive of advancements and listens avidly to our ideas as well as concerns. Most enjoyable part are the fun and best colleagues I have worked with.
Pros
Great bonuses
Cons
Routine work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Management Assistant Officer, Finance (Former Employee) –  ClementiJuly 3, 2018
Processing invoices to students, visitors and suppliers. In-charge of cash advance, Fixed Assets and TRAC verification for staff, raising e-Journal in SAP systems and ordering of goods in the GeBiz system. In-charge of the pCard for allocation of expenditure to the correct project account. Attending enquiries from finance office and vendors by phone and emails. Process payment to supplier and reimbursing claims eg: travel claims, conference claims, allowance to staff, students and external visitors etc.
Pros
Good environmental to work with
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay work/life balance place
Executive (Current Employee) –  National University of SingaporeJuly 2, 2018
Company is being more conservative with recruitment.
Have to adapt to work more with less.
Have to be fine with changes.
Colleagues are supportive and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture and lots of learning opportunity
Laboratory Executive (Current Employee) –  Kent RidgeJune 26, 2018
People are open to teach. .
Day to day is dependent on PI and/or department duties.
Workplace culture is dependent on PI.


Pros = Worklife balance

Cons = Contract based
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Contract based
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities for research
Ph.D. Candidate (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 9, 2018
Good environment for research, an excellent place to learn science and engineering. Salaries are low, bonuses are rare and increment in salaries are minimal.
Pros
Good research environment, cheap food and cheap sports and other facilities
Cons
Low salaries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place for researchers, with great benefits
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 13, 2018
Good place for research and collaboration. Really depends on who you work with. Rather bureaucratic and slow moving administration. No 13th month bonus for RAs.
Pros
Company-paid health insurance, 28 days of leave, education discounts
Cons
Unpredictable hours for researchers, slow processing of claims
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for an academic
Senior Lecturer (Current Employee) –  SingaporeApril 11, 2018
If you need a stable, well-paid academic job, this is it. NUS is a real university with a a great deal of money relative to American universities, smart colleagues, and a good library.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied with Salary but unsatisfied with career progression
Post Doctoral Research fellow (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 10, 2018
It was a highly technical job which required long stays in lab. I did get some opportunities to attend international conferences and also enjoyed decent salary. But the career progression options were limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
senior security officer (Current Employee) –  Kent RidgeMarch 27, 2018
the job is okay not bad got work life balanced very relaxed enviroment just no prospect career wise, benefits are alright . supervisors are nice and understanding
Pros
work life balance
Cons
no job advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Research Engineer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMarch 26, 2018
1) Balance Lifestyle - Good for long-term career and family setting

2) Low cost of food - Canteen food prices are a notch lower than other industrial area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work-life balance environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Jurong WestMarch 23, 2018
I enjoy working in NTU and it has a conducive working environment.
I am currently holding on a 5-year contract position and it is coming towards the end of the term contract. Hence, I have to look for other career options and opportunities,
Pros
Nice campus with eco-garden landscape design
Cons
Location (situated almost near Tuas areas)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Academic Executive (Current Employee) –  ClementiMarch 18, 2018
Overall Good Company but pay can be better. Good overall benefits with work life balance and stability.

Proper lunch time provided. Good Management.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Lack of Manpower
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National University of Singapore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 152 reviews
554
462
327
27
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

National University of Singapore Reviews by Location