Lowe's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Department Manager, Flooring (Former Employee) –  Maple Shade, NJDecember 13, 2017
I've been with Lowe's for over 11 yrs off and on. I left to deliver hospital equipment for another company for a year and that became dangerous. Lowe's took me back as the position I previously left as which was a department manager. I did the department manager role for 5+ years and it got old. The expectations and the hassles you deal wasn't worth it to me. The money is good not great but good. You're juggling your associates and customers then also dealing with breakdowns in coverage because people don't like to work or show up for that matter. Outside of that the benefits are good and as a company they've helped me out so much outside of my worklife. So it's a bittersweet situation with them and I won't say it's not a good company to work for just letting others know the role they will sign up for if they decide to move up. You can always transfer and it is a family type of atmosphere with my fellow coworkers. I had to step down due to the stress however I'm grateful for this company's existence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes
CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE III (Former Employee) –  Spring, TXDecember 13, 2017
Lowe's is a good environment to work around but the management do a lot of picking and choosing of favorites for jobs. That is the only problem I had with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and focused on customer service
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Ormond Beach, FLDecember 13, 2017
Lowe's can be a good place for young people to get started in the work field. If you work hard and follow all the company rules and guidelines it is pretty easy for you to move up in the company
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Breaks are hard to get and standing on concrete get hard on your feet and back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When I show up to work, I do my job... and everyone else's.
Load Puller & Delivery Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NM 87111December 13, 2017
With in the crew that I work with which is delivery, all the work that we do is difficult. The company/management fails to recognize the hard work we do and goes well passed un-noticed.
I use to be a cable tech and the work is quite similar and take home was about $1200 a week. A full time employee is lucky to walk out of here with $2000 a month.
Pros
Delivery team gets to take lunch when they want if there is time.
Cons
Most of the time there is no time to take lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARDecember 13, 2017
I already completed a review of this company and I really do not need to further expound on what a great company this is to work for. Being in this company has trained me for better and bigger things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management could be better for Cashiers, other than that it was either very slow paced or really stressful.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSDecember 13, 2017
It would be very slow sitting in 113F weather for 4 hours before getting a 30 min lunch just to sit in 113F heat, my arms gave out one day when loading 80 bags of 80pound topsoil into a truck immediately after loading 40 bags of 40 pound fertilizer into a separate truck but they wouldn't let me stop for a minute to regain my strength. Pay was okay though for your typical first job out of the house.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still like shopping there but
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSDecember 13, 2017
Not excited about working part-time there again. They did not care for their part-time employees and in my view did not promote the employees that gave excellent customer services as they should.
Pros
good place to shop
Cons
not a wonderful work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor workplace
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  East Amherst, NYDecember 13, 2017
Staffing was low .. corpt changed all policies .. when you are liked by management anything goes if management does not like you you will be treated poorly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has its ups and downs.
Customer Service Associate Inside Seasonal (Current Employee) –  Waynesboro, PADecember 13, 2017
I've been working for Lowe's since August 2017 and I've come to learn that working there has ups and downs. Ups in the terms that the people are nice to work with and your always on your toes due to the ever changing situations (You will never get bored). However, it also has its downs in the fact that if you work part time, your hours slowly slip away once December and January roll in which means less money in your wallet. It's also very hard to advance your career. I know I have tried at least six times to get a full time position at Lowe's only to be rejected.
Pros
Fast Pace, Friendly People
Cons
Hours, Career Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes
Assistant Store Manager- Sales (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, OHDecember 13, 2017
Great people, decent pay. Poor management, poor decision making, poor technology. Always one step behind hd. Restructure this year to please stock-holders not employees or customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 13, 2017
The workplace culture at Lowe's has become more difficult in the last year as Lowe's has eliminated management positions in order to stay competitive in the home improvement sector
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place overall good associates to work with
floor associate (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXDecember 13, 2017
initially i was hired as a temp worker then was hired as a full time employee,worked with a group of good people management thinks you should try to get people to buy items that you know they dont want ,extra warranty,etc...
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
no overtime, no good training program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but poorly managed
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Goldsboro, NC 27530December 13, 2017
great place to work if you can handle the managers. Not very easy to advance in any role. Great benefits and pay for the job. 40 hours vacation and floating holidays per year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lexington Park, MDDecember 13, 2017
I was a head cashier and was a manager role to all the cashiers. I had to tell them when to go to lunch and take breaks. Being a head cashier you had a lot of responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is an okay place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fort Payne, ALDecember 12, 2017
Took 2 years to move to full time in this company. Even after trying for the full 2 years. Always short staffed but could never get overtime. Management was rude to employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get away outmosphere
Certified Massage Therapist (Former Employee) –  Coronado, CADecember 12, 2017
I truly loved the job at Lowes and it worked perfectly on weekends when I lived in National city. It was very close.
The commission was great and guarrnteed tips.This was a top notch clientele and mostly wanted to relax and be pampered.

No big job or treatments. I miss it but was hard to keep busy.
Btwy we had free lunch, breakfast and diner for employees during their shifts.
Pros
Garanteed 20% tips
Cons
No returning clients. Not busy all the times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is great company
Plumbing Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 12, 2017
the people her at the lower stores for the most part know what they are talking about but some of them don't. They have the ability to get whatever it is you want in a timely manner
Pros
staff
Cons
really wasn't
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job if you want to learn about home improvment choices
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Weatherford, TXDecember 12, 2017
Overnight stocking was: 5 days on/2 days off, hours were 10pm to 7am or till the job was done.
Management was: a variety of micro-managers to a few who really worked with you.
The hardest part of the overnight shift was: not enough time for family, health concerns, feeling tired a lot and lack of support from day personal.
What I enjoyed the most: was the overnight stocking crew I worked with, good crew, most of who were parents with young to teenage kids...good times.
Pros
Benefits, health bus each year
Cons
Poor pay raises, difficult to get full-time status and career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my actual job,but management made it untenable
PAINT DEPT/CSA III (Former Employee) –  Everett, WADecember 12, 2017
management does not reward their best workers. management changes so often that there is constant upheaval. workers are unhappy. departments are understaffed which leads to frustration for workers and customers
Pros
fellow coworkers
Cons
low wages, lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job Wasn't Bad, It was the people.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Marietta, OHDecember 12, 2017
Lowes is a company that actually promotes from with-in, the problem with this is everyone will throw you under the bus , lie, cheat and steal just to get promoted. The managers change so often that you never know who to talk to and depending on the manager you may just get told to figure things out on your own, just to let you know what ever you do will be wrong and that manager will write you up for not coming to them.
Pros
Decent Pay
Cons
The Management and the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lowe's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 21,805 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6