JCPenney Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and competitve
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Westminster, CAFebruary 17, 2018
As soon as you walk into the store you notice that work needs to be done. Clothes need to be placed back in the correct location and customers need to be assisted. As well as bringing new products out onto the floor for consumer purchase.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Pay is not enough to sustain a living
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Horseheads, NYFebruary 16, 2018
Fast passed and competitive with Credit Card sales.
Wonderful bunch of people to work with!
I would recommend working here certainly!
Everyone is welcoming and friendly. The managers are sometimes stressed, but who isn’t!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrid
Temporary Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Clearfield, PAFebruary 16, 2018
Old ladies kept saying pickle this pickle that is this really anonymous? haha oh yeah okay the floor was gross and the building had spiders and like rats in the ceiling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Enough Payment even for hard work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COFebruary 16, 2018
The day would consist of 4 hours to 10 hours and while the people are good to work with, the amount paid was not enough to live off of, especially when one does well hocking credit cards and barely gets paid to carry a store.
Pros
Good Camraderie;
Cons
Not Enough Payment and Compensation; Makes you into a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and co-workers always kept you smiling
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Valparaiso, INFebruary 15, 2018
I enjoyed my time there and I really wish I didn't have to leave. I was the best job I had come across this far and I hope my jobs in the future will be just as great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting the challenges of being a stocker
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bossier City, LAFebruary 15, 2018
I have learned a lot about the merchandising of products and the correct displaying of furniture and other products for customers to view. The fast pace has helped me to improve my skills as a merchandiser.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Not enough hours and no room to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hey
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 14, 2018
This job is no longer open. Had fun there. gave great hours. Made a decent amount of money. The hours where long. Enjoyed the people I worked with. Customers was nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Keene, NH 03431February 14, 2018
poor management, unfair environment
there was no respect involved from one level to the next, and there was so much talk about promotion from within, but nothing ever happened to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYFebruary 14, 2018
The culture of the store is great, everyone is like family. In my position there was a lot to handle at one time. Not enough time to get it done in a timely manor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was all over the place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Clermont, FLFebruary 13, 2018
Management was never clear on what needed to be done inside the store. They also let certain workers slack off and not go to the front registers when it was busy due to them having worked there for a long period of time. I also felt that there weren't enough people working the registers and so the sales floor associates had to cover the registers, which left the sales floor empty at times.
Pros
good hours, good breaks, had free breakfast sometimes.
Cons
disorganization, lack of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a few months
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLFebruary 12, 2018
If you're looking for a job in between jobs, this is definitely a great fit for you. Now, this could have just been my location but the management would never allow a break for me (And I am a minor which is a required 30 minutes of break time every 4 hours). They told me to go on break but could somehow never find someone to be able to cover me for the small portion of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXFebruary 12, 2018
A typical day would be busy cleaning and restocking. The hardest part of the job was cleaning up before closing. Although the pay was bad the company did care about you and your family.
Pros
able to work around your schedule
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace. multiple task
Sales assoc (Current Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAFebruary 12, 2018
Learn to be quick. Every day is different. Multiple task given with a time table. enjoy interacting with customers. There are usually more than 1 person doing a task.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work there again
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAFebruary 12, 2018
Didn’t enjoy working. Loved the people but I couldn’t stand the management and the way things were ran. Very confusing starting out. Won’t be going back
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bellingham, WAFebruary 12, 2018
Gives you intro retail experience, cash handling and cash register experience. Not too hard of a job, but has you on your toes a lot. Customers are the usual retail types
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lanham, MDFebruary 12, 2018
JCPenney was a good job. Although it can become stressful, they are very flexible and understanding. Plus there are always available hours, and if you show good work ethic you will be one of the first that the managers call. The staff are very enjoyable and definitely make the work environment better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYFebruary 12, 2018
hardest is working black Friday
learned money management
workplace is neat environment
organizational skills
fast check out
ordering merchandise online for customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 12, 2018
I am not sure if it was because of the Supervisors or the Company itself. I have to say that I had good start in retail because of thr position I held here.
Pros
hours
Cons
i had to go back to college
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Moore, OKFebruary 12, 2018
Great place to work, I was just a seasonal employee. I enjoyed working there, there were just limited positions available. I have not worked since, but am willing and wanting to find employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick paced but management was awesome
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Effingham, ILFebruary 11, 2018
I loved working with my JCP family. It was a job that required hard work but the pay off was worth it. I would recommend working at JCPenney to anyone who is looking for a beginning job experience.
Pros
Opportunities for advancement
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 15,850 reviews
55.2K
44.7K
33.9K
21.2K
1927

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture