JCPenney Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

Found 5,098 reviews matching the search See all 20,995 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs to be switched out.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORSeptember 18, 2019
The co-workers were fun to work with, and encouraged one another during shifts. Some of management was hostile towards marginalized employees, and made transphobic remarks to an employee on the clock. Most of management tried to maintain working relationships with the employees. The workplace was friendly, and upbeat most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mildly managed, and horrible work enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VASeptember 18, 2019
It was messy almost all the time, so most day we had to recover, recover, recover. And if I'm not working 6 hour shifts, I'm working working 8 hour shifts for 5 days straight, overtime sometimes. I would be exhausted, to the point where I began to start having mini seizures during work without my knowledge due to stress and exhaustion. The toll was one of my coworkers (who was not my higher ups) kept harassing me and telling me how to do my job, even though I've worked there longer. Horrible, will never work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jcp
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CASeptember 18, 2019
Jcpenney only cares about Jcpenney . They don’t care about your schedule or what you have to do they care about the money and time your bringing in for them.
Pros
None
Cons
Work Area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good entry level job to gain customer service experience
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Citrus Heights, CASeptember 17, 2019
The management is good and you get your questions answered. This job helps riase one's confront of servicing customers and handling problems and potential unsatisfied customers.
Pros
15 Minute Breaks
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, loved interacting and helping customers
Sales Associate - Home, Women's, Men's, Children's (Former Employee) –  Johnstown, PASeptember 17, 2019
I learned so much about retail, sales, sales goals at this position
Enjoyed customer interactions and assisting customer with whatever they were shopping for.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Retail hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Not Worth Applying For
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMSeptember 16, 2019
Customers were beyond horrible, management was barely existent, the store was chaos, always hiring teens and school kids who didn't care about the job itself and let others who actually needed the job do all the work.

And if you don't get the credits they want, you get written up.
Pros
Clothing discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job opportunity!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  United StatesSeptember 16, 2019
This job just taught me so much , I don’t even know where to begin. Didn’t make quite the pay I wanted but it was enough and worth it for my child & I . Really wish I could get this job back , I had to leave due to a life or death situation with my health so I had to let it go. My time there was spent very much wisely and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat unorganized
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hobbs, NMSeptember 15, 2019
Unorganized uncooperative supervisors no one to stand up for you.. had a customer yell at me with no one to help you . It's been my first job and not sure I will ever like to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team building !
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 13, 2019
Working here honestly helped me during high school was very well established. The managers were very good on communication and making sure every thing was well with everyone of us.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Aurora, ILSeptember 13, 2019
Productive and fun to work environment!
Great customer service!
Great opportunity to learn new skills and experience in commission sales .
Great discounts for employees !
Pros
Great discounts for employees.
Cons
Short breaks and health insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ontario, OHSeptember 12, 2019
It was an amazing place to work, everyone was so nice. It was a great experience an learning environment. There was daily interaction with people it kept you busy an motivated.
Pros
Great learning place
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  College Station, TXSeptember 12, 2019
I really enjoyed this job it was a fun environment with great people everyone was so interesting customers a d co workers was laid back but serious when needed to be like tax free weekend!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, WASeptember 11, 2019
fun people to work with
heavy on having to constantly get credit card apps
holiday hours are a must, they are long and tiring and very busy
needed more hours on a regular basis, schedule often changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSSeptember 10, 2019
Learning experience to put you out on the workforce by handling situations that was stressful or just being busy crime rate wasnt great always got curse out by customers who wanted to shop for free
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Closef
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at JCPenny was over a fun experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bay City, MISeptember 10, 2019
I loved everyone I worked with but things did get quite crazy at times in the store and it’s hard to do the work of three people when you are just one person.
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
La cultura es incómoda
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Caguas, PRSeptember 10, 2019
Es una compañía donde solo se beneficia el que hace un mal uso de la descripción y el desempeño de sus compañeros. Creo que todos merecemos la mismas oportunidades si poner preferencia o amistad sobre otros compañeros y simplemente dejándose llevar por las metas logradas por el individuo.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job.
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, TXSeptember 10, 2019
This was my first job and I absolutely loved it. I was young and eager to make money. I worked at JCP and went to college at the same time, they worked perfectly with my schedule. Before every semester the store manager would go around asking all college students their school schedule so he can rearrange our working schedule with our classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no opinion given
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  MichiganSeptember 10, 2019
no review given, I do not wish to give a personal opinion or review of my experience while working at or for JCPenney. Thank you, but no thanks. No review given.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gretna, LASeptember 9, 2019
It was relaxing and sometimes laidback I would most definitely work there again. I love the way they really took time to train their employees to make sure we had everything and all the skills needed to work professionally and in a a well mannered environment.
Pros
Good training
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNSeptember 9, 2019
Meet a lot of people
See a lot of fashion

I worked in the shoe department. Hardest part of working there was Holiday season it was hectic. You tend to run out of sizes, lose the right to the left, someone may go home with 2 right shoes, we may sale out completly ect,,,
Pros
great discounts
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 20,995 reviews
56.5K
46.1K
35.2K
21.7K
11.4K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture