JCPenney Employee Reviews for Retail Sales Associate

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very fast pace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Spanish Fort, ALDecember 5, 2017
My job was very fast packs and it was something i could get used to the cashier part i hated to do the ladies dressing rooms they were always a wreck but other than that the manager and team memeber were great
Pros
Got free lunch a whole week during Black Friday
Cons
15 min and 30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Retail associate (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXDecember 1, 2017
JCP has been a great learning experience overall, I enjoyed working there even though it was a temporary position. I have quickly learned the ropes in the retail environment.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
You have to send yourself on break or they will forget to send you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved this place
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Searcy, ARNovember 30, 2017
I Absolutely loved working for jcpenney's! yes it was seasonal during the holidays but it was never overwhelming. the staff was a great team to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced.
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Buford, GANovember 30, 2017
Shifts went smoothly. Days were rarely slow. The sales floor was usually full of customers seeking assistance for on floor and catalog sale items. Each department sales group worked in unison to provide excellent customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recovery
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 28, 2017
Working at JcPenney allowed me to meet new people with my customer service skills. I also had flexibility to move around the store to learn different departments.
Pros
Customer Service
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow, poor management
Floor Associate/Cashiering (Former Employee) –  Maryville, MONovember 21, 2017
This would have been a great job, but management was terrible. I volunteered to work Thanksgiving and Black Friday, in exchange to have that Saturday and Sunday off to be with my family. My boss scheduled me for the whole week and most days I stayed 3-4 hours late. Scheduling was always a nightmare. Management never listened to my school hours.
Pros
Fellow employees were fun to be with. Easy job.
Cons
Management made it difficult to like the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to earn extra cash
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southaven, MSNovember 20, 2017
Fast pace, management was great. The hardest part of the job was the work hour. The store closed at 9 clean up time was sometime 2 hour after. I need to work only for the holiday season. I don't like working on the weekend takes away from family and going to worship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JC Penneys
Retail Associate - Jewelry Specialist (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, MNNovember 11, 2017
Although I had flexibility on days I could work, I was never guaranteed hours. I didn't receive any benefits or health insurance or benefits when I had my baby either.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Retail/Customer Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCNovember 11, 2017
I loved the people I worked with including management. Everyone looked out for one another. The only thing I did not like was that nobody worked full time. Only thing I would change.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Low pay8
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J.C.Penny's
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, WINovember 11, 2017
This job was fun, rewarding and great co-workers to be around.
The hardest part of this position was getting the sale signs done in time for the store to open.
Pros
Being able to works mornings.
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay but stressful
Retail Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CANovember 3, 2017
The job was fairly okay, but the area in were it was located made it stressful. Most of the managers where helpful but others seemed to not care as much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jcp
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Imperial Valley, CANovember 1, 2017
A typical day: Show up early for morning meeting, go to your station and check for left over clean ups from the day before, cleanliness, restock, customer interaction, restock projects, repeat.

Learned: I learned patience.

Management: Most of my managers were very helpful.

Culture: Very diverse

Hardest part: Seasonals & difficult clients/co-workers

Most enjoyable: It is consistent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Sephora
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Temecula, CAOctober 25, 2017
Everyone was a team player and they were a lot of fun to work with. I got to work with the public and help them with their makeup choices. I also got to learn about the different kinds of makeup that are offered there.
Pros
Learning about makeup
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Retails Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Colorado SpringsOctober 25, 2017
Great place to be friendly management must of the time. Old CEO is back so sure it's better than before I left. They are unstandable and willing to work with you
Pros
Awesome customers
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Retail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brea, CAOctober 13, 2017
Help keep store clean and assisted customers with their needs and helped customers help find items that they are looking for if not in store than in online.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Enid, OKOctober 9, 2017
This place is not a job I would recommend to anyone. I worked here for about a year and was treated bad by management for a long time. I was continuously lied to by the managers. I also was forced to do other employees jobs while they were rewarded with the option of leaving work early.
Pros
It's a job
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Work Environment
Floor Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tukwila, WAOctober 9, 2017
A work day their, there is always something to do, there are no such thing as standing and idling around. In this line of work you have to be fast-paced and learn your store well. Take away skills from this job would be better communication skill, ability to multitask, sales, and various skills. The hardest part is if you are a student, getting enough hours and making schedule work. But the managers are more than willing to help work around that part. It is just time and dedication you have to invest in the company. I enjoyed working with my team members and learning all the skills of what it takes to be a good sales associate that would benefit the customers needs.
Pros
discounts, friendly colleagues, learning experiences
Cons
Time flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is awful
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIOctober 3, 2017
Don't work here every time I see it I sing to myself burn JCP burn and I don't even care to use correct grammar bc I don't want people working there I feel bad if you work there now get out while you can
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work very happy at this job
RETAIL SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXSeptember 29, 2017
Maintain the location's orderliness and appearance
Great customer service
Assist shoppers concerning merchandise
Restocking inventory
Charge customers if the store was full
Cashier job
Pros
Holiday's free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude manager
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miamisburg, OHSeptember 29, 2017
I explained to her multiple times that this was my first job, she was very rude every time I had to ask a question and she would not work with me on my schedule
Pros
Discount
Cons
Rude people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 14,973 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6