JCPenney Employee Reviews for Cashier

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone is friendly who can have fun with at times
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Warner Robins, GAOctober 18, 2018
I loved working at jc penny, I always knew when to take on a task and when to help someone else. once I clocked in, usually my area was a mess, so I got straight to work, mainly folding clothes. management was great there, out of three different managers, all of them were understandable and good to have a chat with whenever they would pass you by. if I had to pick the hardest thing about this job, it wouldve been taking on making sure your department is as clean and nice as it can be.
Pros
free snacks, good hours, friendly environment
Cons
fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Display Setter
DISPLAY SETTER/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MIOctober 15, 2018
Great fun, wonderful people. Would recommend for people looking for a job during college. Set store for sales, holidays and department settings. Make the store comfortable for shoppers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  greensbor ncOctober 14, 2018
They stay busy. Coupons are really golden in this establishment, coworkers are friendly. I feel the management needs more work, they could have been more open to schedules and pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jcpenny Review.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Beavercreek, OHOctober 9, 2018
Jcpenney is a very nice store to work at but it's to slow of a paces for me.I have recently located and live to far away.I like to stay busy and this isn't job to do that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 4, 2018
I gave this job four starts because it was a great job great benefits the only problem is they overhire so hours given per week are short other than that my co worker were nice everybody gets their job done great teamwork
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lousy managment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSOctober 2, 2018
dishonest management!!
They expect you to continue to ask customers over and over to the point of aggravating many of them if they will take out a Penney's credit card.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Maplewood, MNSeptember 29, 2018
I loved working here and the people I worked with were great. this was a great first time job and i wish i could have made it work with them. i would definitely recommend this job to people!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy ,quick paced
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Valley Stream, NYSeptember 24, 2018
Helped direct people to the right sections of the store.
Folded clothes and returned them to the right tables/ shelves
Collected money and returned change
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to gain more experience in communications
Sell and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, CASeptember 23, 2018
I have a great job experience being a cashiers because helping my customers to complete their needs is my concern. I earned how to stay calm and deal with any kind of issues such as complaining from customers or exchange and refund.
Pros
great experience
Cons
It closed down
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yankton, SDSeptember 21, 2018
I enjoyed my time there management was very helpful all employees worked well together as a team system was easy to use shifts were flexible discounts were awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOSeptember 20, 2018
A job that keeps you busy and looking forward to the next challenge. There is always work to be done even on slow days, helping people, zoning or running the front is always enjoyable.
Pros
discount
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCPenny is a great place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNSeptember 20, 2018
JCPenny is a fast-paced, competitive job that requires you to be attentive at all times. JCPenny is really flexible with hours and is willing to co-exsist with school and everyday life.
Pros
Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It an ok place to work , very demanding for minimum wage
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CASeptember 18, 2018
I've worked here for over a year and its fluctuated on how they would treat employees. There a few select managers that are very nice and have respect for everybody, others since they are above they just demand.
Pros
occasional work parties or appreciation parties
Cons
short breaks, too demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rotating door
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 12, 2018
Management and human resources skill were poor and the call in service was poor the management was betting on when I would quit once I was hired no st hour and sometimes the would and would not give me hours
Pros
N/a
Cons
Management did not manage well
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXSeptember 1, 2018
working at JCPenney wasn't too bad. it was kind of fun with lots of stuff to do. It kind of reminded me of going back to high school because of how the employees acted. It was very repetitive but also had days that were different.
Pros
fun
Cons
repetative
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  AugustaAugust 31, 2018
Cool company i would reccommend alot of people to work here it was actually a nice experience i only left them because i had a tragic death in my family
Pros
Great discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JC Penny
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Van Nuys, CAAugust 26, 2018
During my employment at JC Penny I was happy to go to work and enjoyed the vibe to the days with my coworkers. I had a good amount of obligations along with a decent relationship with my manager.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCP is a fast paste improving environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Weslaco, TXAugust 26, 2018
My experience with JCP has shown me so much work ethic, it has molded me into a better and wiser team member. The managers at JCP really appreciate their associates.
Pros
credit apps
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Messy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLAugust 23, 2018
Management was always very rude and unorganized, also very pushy. My duties/responsibilities were usually not clearly defined. The customers are always very rude, but other staff my level were nice.
Pros
30 minute lunch break
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily
Casher/Stocker (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 19, 2018
well they want you to move always and picking things off the floor you always need to say hi to guests be happy the mangt does always tell you good job
Pros
discounts
Cons
discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 18,414 reviews
55.8K
45.4K
34.6K
21.4K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture