JCPenney Employee Reviews

Showing all 20,470 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monotonous
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Plantation, FLJuly 15, 2019
Lots of pressure from management to sign people up for credit cards, they will pull you aside to tell you to sign more people up. Fairly monotonous work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hurry hurry hurry
Store Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAJuly 15, 2019
1st we start with clearance pricing at 5 am while waiting for the truck to get here then we unload truck and get ready to go to the mens store (we have 2 stores in our mall) we unpack and put ething out in storethen about 11 am we take a break 10 mins and off to the mens store and unpack and put away the mens store. then about 130 pm we may get lunch and then at 2pm we go home.yeah its crazy
Pros
we get free christmas pizza if we work christmas eve
Cons
sweltering stock room in summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving the forklift all day.
Warehouse associate and Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GAJuly 15, 2019
A typical day starts off with instructions giving and then I am driving the forklift all day which includes loading and unloading trucks taking all merchandise to it's prospective areas. Very diverse company with the hardest part of my job having to sometimes find equipment to use and the most enjoyable part was doing what I loved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok 😊
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJuly 15, 2019
The management is why I left, They have cut everyone's hours so I had to quit, I'm about making money not being used but barely paid. That's not how employees are suppose to be treated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAJuly 15, 2019
jcp was my home away from home .. enjoyed going to work everyday ,from working with my coworkers to engaging with the customers .The best part of working at jcp was so family orientated. miss my jcp family
Pros
the holidays dinners, the discounts
Cons
health care, short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 15, 2019
At first I really enjoyed my job. However once the “newness,” wears off, management stops acting so “nice.” It is very toxic, and it all comes from management. There are so many supervisors and they all hate one another. They all give you different tasks to do, and get frustrated when you don’t complete them, and act like the other task another manager told you to do is not important . Management does nothing but sit in the office and go outside for a smoke. They only help out when you call for them. There is little to no training, so you are stuck in difficult situations by yourself. The pay isn’t fair. You could be doing the same job, or even more than someone else, and receive up to 3-4 dollars less. They pick favorites and honestly the managers are just a bunch of bullies. They believe they are so high up and important. When all they do is manage a store that will probably be shut
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a healthy environment
Merchandising Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, MNJuly 14, 2019
As an employee here, you are seen as just another employee. It is a place made to make you feel like you owe the company something and you are just a number.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place
L.O.D/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJuly 14, 2019
Fantastic place to work great for first time jobs. Great flexible hours safe environment your challenges and helped provide solutions. A great community to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has its ups and downs
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJuly 14, 2019
The managers were pretty nice but as a whole between all associates and managers, it wasn't as connected as it could've been. Also communication and scheduling needs work. Some associates would have to work the register and recover their department by themselves. This caused problems being able to get everything done before closing. Better communication is also needed, they have morning meetings before opening and people who don't have opening shifts sometimes miss important info and never get told later.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommend
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tukwila, WAJuly 14, 2019
Everyone is willing to help each other out. If your alone at a sachet register you can call for help and there is always 1 or 2 more people to run over and help you with your line of customers. Some customers have attitudes over little things but that doesn't ruin the experience of working there. But they only pay 11.50 an hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cottonwood, AZJuly 14, 2019
Customer service Is a good way to get experience with customers and salesmanship I learned so much about helping a customer and getting credit card applications by being consistent. There was always something to do my shift went by quick and the team was superb like a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCPENNY'S is a nice place to work. I love the customer interaction and the commission opportunity.
Sales Associate/Windows Expert (Current Employee) –  Montclair, CAJuly 14, 2019
I have been working evenings and weekends at JCPENNY'S for almost 10 years. Starting as a seasonal cashier to now working in Home Specialty where I sell Custom Windows, Shutters and also Mattresses. My hourly base is 13.25 plus commission which makes up for the base rate and part time hours worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management Bad Hours
JCPenney Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Merrillville, INJuly 14, 2019
I greatly enjoyed my job at this company and the management was friendly. The job was not hard and it didn’t make me unsatisfied. It’s just the worst part was I barely got hours and my wages weren’t high enough.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Bad Hour, Bad Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Eh
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 14, 2019
There's no proper training. They may teach you the basics but ultimately end up pairing you with a "buddy" (who's just another associate, not a manager) who has to teach you everything they know. Management tends to ignore you. They only like to pretend they have a good relationship with associates whenever corporate comes over. Associates are told day and night to push the credit card. If your numbers are low, you're accused of not doing your job. In actuality, no one wants the card.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid.
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Concord, CAJuly 14, 2019
Management was terrible. SiJcp was a complete joke. Gratis was only really given to management. But wouldn’t even be on the floor to sell to products. Management made their own schedule regardless of what they were scheduled
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad management, will not recommend to anyone to work here decrimination and harrasment thru the supervisor everyday
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Woodfield mall Schaumburg IllinoisJuly 14, 2019
Harassment
Descriminatiob
Low pay
Not enough employees in fitting room
Will make cashiers to work in fitting room
Will take advantage of nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, NJJuly 13, 2019
Horrible place to work. Managers are constantly on your butt for simple tasks, penny raises, no chance of moving up, no hours, I could go on and on. Please do yourself a favor and look somewhere else. The place is going under anyway. Not worth your time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Merchandise Associate (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMJuly 13, 2019
I really liked the jcpenney store I worked at. I liked all my managers. They did a good job at communicating with the workers. The only bad part was the other employees that worked the sales floor. They liked to play the blame game and not take responsibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the salon was difficult, management did little to get new clients in the door. Compensation is below average than a McDonald's worker.
Senior / Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNJuly 13, 2019
JCP salons in certain areas that don't do well you will be working to stay poor. They start you at $9 and make you work like a sweat shop taking clients just to get commission on services product commission is not at a reasonable percentage. They have sales that only hurt stylist and the education is only given if you can make it to a central location educators don't go to salonsseachsalon to ensure
Pros
Discount
Cons
Working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retired in 2017
Custom decorating customer service (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 13, 2019
I felt that my career with JCPenney included an office position with in a one girl position. Each day was on your own to produce and follow up all procedures each day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 20,470 reviews
56.4K
46K
35.1K
21.7K
11.4K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture