JCPenney Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and good workplace. Somewhat unorganized
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Montclair, CAJuly 14, 2018
It was overall an okay job. I’m glad I worked there so I could see how much it took to have a job in retail but overall I think it was a really draining experience
Pros
Good job, great coworkers, okay management
Cons
Customers, no flow, barely any growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What happens when a company has no tenured people.
Fine Jewelry Expert (Former Employee) –  Lake Havasu City, AZJuly 14, 2018
In a store which had over 125 employees, there was only 1 full time associate. That alone demonstrates the company's commitment to an employee's future... or lack thereof. Why reward service with a regular paycheck and provide health care when instead you could just hire 2-3 times more people, and cut them back to less than 8 hours per week when sales are low or you want to get rid of them? Why would someone care to go out of their way to do great work if there is no incentive? Welcome to JCP.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Minimal pay, no full time positions, no commission, inconsistent hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the application
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Goodyear, AZJuly 14, 2018
A typical work day is stressful, fast paced, and full of complaints. Managers were most often only worried about completing their credit card goal and not necessarily what the employee needed, they almost always prioritized the customer. The hardest part about this job would have to be that there was never a respect for availability, meaning one would almost always be scheduled at the non preferred times and dates that were given and having to deal with verbal abuse by unhappy customers.
Pros
$2 commission for every credit card, 25% discount
Cons
Managers only care for the customers and not the environment for the employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok working here
Cashier/ Night Trainer (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJuly 14, 2018
I felt that the salary here was not enough for what all the hard workers were being asked to do. The work environment was always very competitive and the working environment was not the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Sales Support Team Member (Former Employee) –  Richmond Heights, OHJuly 14, 2018
It was what I expected from a retail store. Co-workers were friendly enough and made working more enjoyable. Employee discount and first shot at deals is a plus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever Changing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 14, 2018
You must be willing to adapt to change often. Due to the company ups and downs you never know what the day will bring. My best advice will be for you to be open minded and flexible. the management set the tone for the store.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Palmdale, CAJuly 14, 2018
It was a fun and rewarding time to work here.you always had something to do here and it had different departments to explore and learn new things throughout the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal work
Sales Associate - Retail (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 13, 2018
i did not enjoy working here because i was too concerned i would not get enough hours. there is no room to move up in this company or have enough money to pay bills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be sure apply for a location that has good management.
Appliance Expert (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJuly 13, 2018
If management is poor, then there's little to no chance to be recognized for excellent work ethics nor advancements in the company. If you're simply looking for a paycheck, then it may be worth the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back but can be hectic
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CA 93277July 13, 2018
I started working here while I was in high school. It was a great first job while still in high school and attending community college. The hours are flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a kool place to be at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 13, 2018
Fun place to be at. Every one there was doing there jobs wasn't lacking off and playing around i had fun working there before i had to move down to zephyrhills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most people in my area were/are rude. Extremely rude.
Worker (Former Employee) –  Spanish Fork, UTJuly 13, 2018
Very poor almost non existent communication. Coworkers are obnoxious, rude and stupid. Very stupid. Some get recognized and paid to do nothing. Some employees get credit for just being there and others do a lot of work and never get credit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive an driven work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 13, 2018
JCPenny was a great company that had a family feel to their team members, they always had a set goal that gave the employees chances to receive prizes and compensation for their hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting workplace
Work and assist (Current Employee) –  Chino, CAJuly 13, 2018
Great place to start working and gain experience. JCPenney is a positive workplace and never a boring moment. Enjoy supporting team and assisting providing customer service.
Pros
discounts
Cons
working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great retail job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJuly 13, 2018
JCPenney is a great place to work at it does great with work schedule. It does work with flexible hours. The reason I left JCPenney is because the magment is not very good at some locations.
Pros
Lots of breaks
Cons
Mangment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAJuly 12, 2018
While providing customer service throughout the store I also took a cashier's position along with learning the position of an assistant manager. Maintain incoming and outgoing customer shipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always fun things going on
Jewlery Specialist (Current Employee) –  Burton, TXJuly 12, 2018
Best work family in the world.. all understanding, always helpful in training and always sweet and nice verses always on a negative side of them.........
Pros
lunches gift cards
Cons
nohours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to workf for
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZJuly 12, 2018
Everyone was always nice and wonderful to work with. I was very excited to go to work everyday!! very good company to work for!! if I could get rehired again I would!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad pay, management is never on same page
JCPenney Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Piqua, OHJuly 12, 2018
the store management is very off whenever it comes to simple day to day task. favoritism plays a large tole in where you are scheduled in the store and is very unfair. store pay is very unfair. when working in the back doing stock, unloading truck, and signing you are payed the same as working on the floor, which you just fold clothing, and many do nothing, but stand talk to one another counting the hours down.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Horseheads, NYJuly 12, 2018
I only worked the holiday season but even on the worse days the work wasn't bad but it did get tedious after awhile. They make sure you get the breaks you are supposed to which is nice and the other workers are always there to lend a hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 17,557 reviews
55.6K
45.2K
34.4K
21.3K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture