JCPenney Employee Reviews

Found 20,487 reviews matching the search See all 20,500 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAJuly 20, 2019
It could have been better the managers were always slow, some customers where so rude and they only had me for about a month due to seasonal help so I believe it could have been better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest part of the job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Holyoke, MA , Meriden CT, Farmington CTJuly 20, 2019
surviving the stressful challenge of the need for strong in person customer assistance expected by the customers in an environment that cant afford the resources due to on line sales shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Specialist
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZJuly 19, 2019
This was a great place to work until management starting changing everything.they took away our fulltime status.our benefits too and i had to quit and look for a job that would give me benefits. I used to love this place..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive company
Cashier/ Floor Support (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCJuly 19, 2019
Worked during Seasonal times, my duties was cashier to unloading truck to stocking shelves. During the Holidays I did have to work 2 full days during the weekend's
Pros
Discounts of clothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCPenney ( Sales Associate)
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Daly City, CAJuly 19, 2019
JCPenney was a interesting work experience! The staff was great to work with besides the rude / horrible management. Overall it was a good time working at JCPenney’s.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and stressful goals to meet
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Prattville, ALJuly 19, 2019
JCPenney does not like giving raises, they make goals high and make you work your butt off. I was there for over 2 years and I only made 8.50 an hour.
Pros
A job to go to
Cons
Short breaks, realistic goals because you often have to work alone and possible goals walk out the door.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIJuly 19, 2019
Poor customer service and staffing. Horrible management. Promotions went to alcoholics and drug addicts. Store was never recovered or cleaned. It was hard to even take a bathroom break due to lack of coverage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Colonial Heights, VA 23834July 18, 2019
it is a great in between job or part time employment. Great benefit would be discount to all employees. great place to meet friends and to shop; reasonable pricing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jcpenny children’s sept cashier
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Montclair, CAJuly 18, 2019
Very relaxed check dressing rooms we would get long lines but we wouldn’t feel that rushed. We were encouraged to get credit apps we were paid extra 5 bucks each so we got submitted as a motivator which was cool.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is fine
Temporary Employee (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 18, 2019
If you are interested in working at a department store than JCPenney is a fine start.

Few days/or weeks you will slowly start to rethink why did I say ‘yes’.
Pros
none
Cons
Not productive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J.C. Penney
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 18, 2019
Greet customers upon arrival
• Assist customers with any questions they may have concerning a purchase
• Assist customers with refunds, returns, and resolve common complaints
• Maintain a clean and neat stock area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an all around good place to work.
Operations Associate (Current Employee) –  Orangeburg, SCJuly 18, 2019
The company is a good place to work when you need something in the mean time, until you do what you actually want to do. The work load is not hard and it makes time pass faster.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Campbellsville, KYJuly 18, 2019
Productive work place. The day started early and there were several different shifts. I had to supervise many employees. Opened and closed the store. There was quite a bit of responsibility with this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCPenney credit card
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJJuly 18, 2019
This job was very easy job, but the only thing was getting the customer to apply for the jcpenney credit card. The managers always make sure that we get at least 2 credit cards a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company's employees need to know better dress code. The co workers need to come on time. Not enough cashiers. All fitting rooms should be open
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 18, 2019
Not enough teamwork. Lack of staff. Lack of communication. Not enough hours. Working late. Not enough security guards. All Fitting rooms should be in use not just only one being open. All recovery should learn how to do cashier incase of short of staff.
Pros
There's no pros
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slightly above average retail
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARJuly 18, 2019
JC Penney's can be considered to be one of the "better" retail jobs that one can be employed by. The experience that you have at any JC Penney's is almost completely dependent on management. When management communicates with each other and can create plans for associates to follow, then things are wonderful. But when management does not communicate with each other, it can be very chaotic for other associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAJuly 17, 2019
I enjoyed working at JcPenney. This location was very organized and the managers were very professional. It was a great work environment and I loved working at the cash registers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, never bored.
Fine Jewlery Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 17, 2019
Working in fine jewelry was fun, of course you would have a few bad customers here and there but nothing too bad. Training was very vague and done too quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the people that I did.
Asset Protection Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARJuly 17, 2019
No adequate training. no help in apprehension. Did not give me the adequate tools needed to do a efficient job did not fix equipment in a timely manner. The managers were good assistanted as much as possible. Employees were good to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJuly 17, 2019
All-around good company. Nice people, good investment to be in. Growth opportunities, great pay, good learning experience. Had a wonderful time working for thw company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 20,500 reviews
56.4K
46K
35.1K
21.7K
11.4K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture