JCPenney Employee Reviews

Found 22,049 reviews matching the search See all 22,050 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They really help you one on one if you need any help.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hammond, LAJanuary 23, 2020
I loved working there it was a really positive place to be.I am truly grateful for the experience.This was my first job and I realized that I like working retail.You get to meet a lot of new people, it’s a lot of net working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Golden Rule
Fine Jewelry Associate (Current Employee) –  West Covina, CAJanuary 23, 2020
Golden rule to everyone.
Customers first.
Teamwork.
Leadership development.
Compliance.
Ethical standards.
Employees safety.
Training and development.
Motivation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Replenishment Associate (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAJanuary 23, 2020
Wonderful job to work at. The people there are very friendly. Love the environment and energy in the building. Would highly recommend people to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly management
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXJanuary 23, 2020
Everyone in management are friendly and call you if they need you to come in. Work well with schedules for school and other things. A lot of friendly people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, Good staff
Dressing Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAJanuary 23, 2020
I enjoyed my time there must of the other kids my age were all great people super friendly. The managers were really great too it’s just the assistant managers that seem to be very rude they think very highly of themselves while managers helped to fold clothes and clean the place during closing the assistant managers refused and just walked around bossing others to pick up clothes even though they we’re standing right next to it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing work hours. Culture does not value input from underlings.
Commissioned Furniture Sales (Former Employee) –  Hixson, TNJanuary 23, 2020
For a time, had somewhat regular work hours. As company changed corporate management, the culture was turned upside down. Nepotism was rampant. "Little children" were promoted to management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, pay not so great
JCPenney Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXJanuary 23, 2020
I really love working at the location in Tyler. The managers are flexible and treat me and my coworkers better than I've been treated at other places, and they're very flexible with hours. The starting pay is at 8.50 so it's not the worst but it's not something you can live off of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Into clothing brands.
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAJanuary 23, 2020
Good place would recommend, however you must like your job to do. I did not like folding clothes or working at fitting rooms therefore I left. If you enjoy do stuff I would recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jcpenney Store Associate
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 23, 2020
No work life balance-
Horrible pay
No room for advancement
Required to work every hoilday
New Years, Easter, Mother/Father Day July 4th Memorial Day Thanksgiving Day(opens at 1pm Black Friday Christmas Eve & Christmas Day- NO EXCEPTIONS!
If you work in salon- tips are taxedtaxedarareataxedtaxedBeware
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I stayed business learning new things to help the customers and represent JC Penney's departments store
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sandusky, OHJanuary 23, 2020
J C Penney is a great place to work. I loved assisting the customers, it made the day go fairly well. My co workers helped me whenever I needed to understand more about my job and responsibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
SR.OPS Manager (Current Employee) –  Lenexa, KSJanuary 23, 2020
JCP is a great company to work for. They have a great training program and have provided me with several opportunities to grow and develop me current leadership abilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a positive work environment
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cape Coral, FLJanuary 23, 2020
I worked here for a long time and they overwork you for little pay. It’s also not a very positive work environment. I would only recommend this job for high school students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jcpenny
Sale Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2020
It is exciting to work here they work with your Schedule You meet new people and have a great team to work with I learn so much how to communicate more with costumers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente de trabajo
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 23, 2020
Es un lugar maravillosos para trabajar, te sientes comprometido y productivo, se trabaja mucho pero es reconocido.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Greeneville, TNJanuary 22, 2020
Best job I ever had. Fantastic management, very understanding that sometimes life happens. Great environment and great advancement opportunities! The best job hands down !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good company on a downward slide.
Head Trainer, Sales and Lead Installer (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 22, 2020
I did enjoy working here alot for the first 16 years, the last year desperation was setting in and decisions were not made on what is best for the company. If you focus on your job and can be a pretty easy place to work.
Pros
hours and company vehicle
Cons
All pros were being taken away..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JcPenney
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Plattsburgh, NYJanuary 22, 2020
Love the people I work with. But not respected by all leads. One has made me cry a couple times and yelled at for no reason when I was doing what I was supposed to be doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personally I have been treated more than fairly when needing to change my availability.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Newnan, GAJanuary 22, 2020
I've been with this company for almost 10 years. It really is more like family even with some of the regular customers. I also feel like some of the values have come back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A peacful work place
Store Operations Associate (Current Employee) –  Newnan, GAJanuary 22, 2020
Great management , my co- workers are of all races. They are kind and respectful Advancement is there for anyone wanting to move up in retail. great working hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never enough payroll
GM Manager (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 22, 2020
Constantly cutting payroll and not enough hours to get tasks done. Store is always a disaster. Very upset customers as the check out stations never have enough staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 22,050 reviews
56.9K
46.4K
35.4K
21.8K
11.6K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture