Goodwill Industries Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TX 78753August 12, 2018
Love the training that is provided to move up to management. They help build a person into getting the right training. They also offer so many resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive lots to do
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Castle Rock, COAugust 12, 2018
the typical day was fast in donations with people lining up around the building, I leaned more effective ways to clean the management was great the workplace culture was fine if you keep everyone at arms length, hardest part of the job is dealing with lines of donations and the most enjoyable part is completing tasks
Pros
Work to be done
Cons
Lots of cleaning and moving heavy stuff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good all-round. Job
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Antioch, TNAugust 12, 2018
They were very helpful in training it was a great experience in working as administrator .its was very helpful in the training the people very Nice to work for
Pros
Lucky
Cons
Noned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of variety with different clients, but difficult work-life balance.
Job Coach, Vocational Support (Current Employee) –  Menasha, WIAugust 12, 2018
Very rewarding to help clients learn and reach their employment goals, but the hours are too variable/difficult, and the pay is unbearably low. It's challenging to have a work-life balance when the hours are so all-over-the-place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Kerrville, TXAugust 12, 2018
normal cashier duties and stocked shelves, clothing racks abd cleaned the store areas as required abs at store closing.

Management was small bur responsive to needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for.
Floor Technician (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXAugust 12, 2018
My experience there was bad except for working with my fellow co workers. The management lies about being good for disabled Veterans. There's no way a person could survive on what they pay. I would never recommend anyone work there unless they like low wages and bad managers. Michele Eachen
Cons
Low wages. People talk bad about you behind your back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Lead Supervisor/ Merchandise Processor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 12, 2018
They gave me the necessary training I needed to become more successful on my career path, as well as giving me the motivation to rise and achieve In success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a stocker
merchandise processer (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZAugust 12, 2018
They made me feel comfortable and I had good working hours. I was paid biweekly at a good pay rate. I enjoyed displaying household items in the linen department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing First Job. Horrible Career.
Retail Donation Assistant (Former Employee) –  1211 Alverser Dr, Midlothian, VA 23113August 12, 2018
This job is easy to get.

Physical labor, lots of lifting and moving around.

Employees are very friendly.

It gets HOT in the summer. Drink lots of water!

Overall I'd recommend this job as a filler if one is struggling to find a job elsewhere. It pays fair but could become stressful and tiring over time simply by how the job is formatted.

Amazing store, amazing employees, just an exhausting job.With an environment where one bad egg spoils the mood of many.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place, should be temporary
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ARAugust 12, 2018
A nice place to work. The customers can be harsh as it's usually the worst around the community. The company really only cares about sales and money, so very typical. My coworkers were great as well as the management. I would recommend as a temporary job as the pay isn't good at all.
Pros
Great Management, discounts
Cons
Customers. low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Goodwill Industries?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very drama field atmosphere no way of advancing in my career there they have taken away our good insurance and replaced it with nothing and the
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAAugust 12, 2018
I'm glad they give me the opportunity to work with them but it's time to move on I feel that I can put my experience in time in another place that would benefit me and my employer I love working with people I enjoy making money I would just like to have this opportunity now just to move away from Goodwill Industries
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 12, 2018
Gives a person a chance to communicate with the community and get to know people from all cultures and back rounds. Working here has you count your blessings and encourages you to help others.
Pros
The customer interaction
Cons
The customer interaction can be depressing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Donor Greeter & Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONAugust 12, 2018
learned a lot from this job, good place too work for someone with disabilities would recommend my family and friends work here sometimes i wish i had never left
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that takes care of their employees and their customers.
ASM (Current Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARAugust 12, 2018
I enjoy working for this company. I Love the people i work for and the customers. We do a lot for the community and that makes me feel goo about what I do for the company.
Pros
Benefits for part-timers and lots of good through the mission to benefit the community.
Cons
High turnover for part-time positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Book Processor (Former Employee) –  Ferguson, MOAugust 12, 2018
You had to watch your footing when you walked around in the store. You would have to constantly stay on your toes or be yelled at if you don't move fast enough. It really isn't a great place for people to work if they have disabilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill review
Textile producer (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INAugust 12, 2018
Over all its not a bad company at all, there's a few things that arnt so great but every place is like that. I decently enjoyed working there, other wise I wouldn't have lasted 3 years.
Pros
Flexible schedules, cross training, aleays busy
Cons
Managment, orginization, non perfessional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer good company to work for
Retail Associate- Rack runner (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 11, 2018
Was a good company to work for but in past 5 years they have changed. Now they are more about the money and less on caring about their employees..The people that Goodwill is expose to stand for are no longer welcome there to work .
Pros
the people you work with
Cons
upper management work employees like dogs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Williston VermontAugust 11, 2018
It wasn't the best working environment for myself,I loved my fellow co-workers but its basically over worked and under paid and the manager isnt the best
Pros
Good people
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my customer base
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rockford, MIAugust 11, 2018
I loved my job at the Goodwill but after working there for 3 years, I had never received a raise and my benefits were slowly cut. I probably made more money beginning my career there till when I ended it. I had to quit for there was no progression.
Pros
Discount, Pto
Cons
no insurance, no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with pleasant coworkers.
Senior Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, SCAugust 11, 2018
While a productive work environment, the daily quotas are not ideal for stores, as the amount of employees cannot meet the requirements most of the time, thus not earning their salary bonuses. The administrative process is ideal and the training is through and engaging, often engaging seminars to update employees of new company policies.
Cons
Short breaks (2 breaks of 15 minutes), lunch breaks (30 minutes)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodwill Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 13,671 reviews
54.4K
43.6K
33.1K
21.2K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture