Dollar Tree Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decline to comment
Part Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Clairsville, OHDecember 13, 2017
Decline to comment I feel it is an individual opinion where some one works and it is an individuals responsibility to choose the company that suits their needs.
Pros
Starter Job
Cons
pay is below average
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Clerk
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rowland Heights, CA 91748December 10, 2017
It was not a bad job. I liked how we would work in the afternoon and in door away from the weather. But I didn't like how my days off were split. I would have stayed but I wanted to purse Aircraft Mechanic School.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
somewhat outgoing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  South Plainfield, NJDecember 9, 2017
easy job to learn and not hard, had to make sure you knew where the merchandise went and knew how to stock shelves. somewhat accomadating to your needs
Pros
discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCDecember 6, 2017
The management was not supportive, Pay was low for what they expect from you, very high turn over on staff, productivity is extreme for the time frame they give you to do the tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No leadership
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIDecember 4, 2017
Poor oversight! Lack of corporate understanding of everyday situations. Twenty percent do eighty percent of the work. High turn over rate. Environment was beyond dirty at many locations.
Pros
meeting and getting to know regulars.
Cons
Company leadership structure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the best minimum wage job to have
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 20, 2017
Pay isn't great but the hours aren't restricted you can work 40 hrs a week meaning you can get up to 80 hrs resulting in a $400-$500 paycheck if you want & they appreciate that instead of overwork you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location poorly managed
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richland, WANovember 18, 2017
When I was hired, there was a extreme "buddy system" with most employees being friends with the location manager outside of work as well as among themselves as employees, being outside work party pals.
Pros
Breaks and lunches are mandatory and time given to be taken
Cons
Lack of continual reliable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work. Good people.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bedford, PANovember 14, 2017
My boss was a good role model for me. She had a great work ethic. I enjoyed interacting with customers but also the down time of stocking shelves by myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much work, low page range
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 13, 2017
To much work, low page range. To much work to do and projects included in just less than 5 hours per day. The possibility to rise your salary after a year are really hard to get. wide variety of products and good prices, but poor customer service culture
Pros
flexibility to study and work at the same time
Cons
low salary, a few hours/week and a lot of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under paid
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 12, 2017
Ask you to do more than the salary. Only want to pay minimum wage but want you to cashier, through freight, mop, clean bathroom, recover the store and keep the front area clean while your the only cashier there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar Tree
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brandon, FLNovember 12, 2017
Good work place i liked working here although its fast paced management has always been great to me. In a job like this you have to be able to keep up but also have fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Stocker/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Eastpointe, MINovember 9, 2017
I was working there for a short time because I wasn't on the schedule at the time when I was working there. They told me to call before showing up there, then they finally said that they put me on the schedule after a month of waiting. They got a new manager that I don't know about. He let me go after he can't call me to tell me to report up there after a change of management.
Pros
completed my training, worked at fast paced
Cons
not being in a schedule, no benefits, forgot to call me about showing up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 3, 2017
It is retail so you work weekends, Holidays, and odd hours.
I was scheduled for every Holiday, so I never made a Thanksgiving dinner for my family, we ate turkey days after. When people from headquarters would come to the store it was so stressful, that when they offered a management position I refused. The extra .75 cents an hour was not worth the headache. But it did put food on the table.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic Work Enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MINovember 2, 2017
The environment was always chaotic and there was always issues. The hardest part of the job is there was never enough cashiers to cover the amount of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing nice
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bedford, INNovember 1, 2017
The management was very poor. The store was very poorly ran. The equipment worked poorly. Management is more concerned rude service than customer service friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, easy job with low pay to match.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLOctober 30, 2017
Starting at minimum wage and only getting a 7% increase once per year means that no one is going to make much money at dollar tree, but the job is not difficult at all and the hours can be flexible.
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
Wage, lack of benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work, Corrupt Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2017
Several occasions where management took part in corrupted actions. Some of these consisted of stealing and swiping things through the register, only to void it later.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollar tree
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hawthorne, CAOctober 27, 2017
Nice job for your first job , typical day customers complain , its only you at the register being the only cashier managers dont come out to help.

hardest part no manager support

most enjoyable part clocking out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newport, OROctober 25, 2017
Great working experience at Dollar Tree. Cashiering and cash handling
Opened and closed store
Stocked shelves
Creativity displayed merchandise
Cleaned bathrooms and made sure store was tidy and sanitary
Trained new sales associates
I was sorry to have to leave on maternity and then relocated to different city.
Pros
Loved working with customers
Cons
stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at dollar trer
Part- time Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NC 27105October 24, 2017
Typical day at work was stressful, customers very rude I learned how to work on the registers. Hardest part of the job unloading the truck. Most enjoyable part of my job was unloading floats.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar Tree. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 9,327 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3