Dollar Tree Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toleratable
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Malden, MAFebruary 11, 2018
At the time i was working there in that location a lot of the managers & employees where very inappropriate & unprofessional at all times. They would never care to mess up your schedule because their lives where always more important.
Pros
great customers
Cons
horrible co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers lovley
Assistance Manager (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 11, 2018
I love my job, its just people expect for people to do to much for the pay...But my customers are great they always make my day. If they would pay more money it wouldn't be so bad..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Casher/Stocker (Current Employee) –  Nampa, IDFebruary 11, 2018
Dollar Tree is a great place to work I've been there for 7yrs now and I love it there just need more hours but besides that always have fun working the customers are great
Pros
none
Cons
no healthcare .15 cent raises a year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  High Ridge, MO 63049February 11, 2018
I enjoyed working for this company. It was laid back & the Manager & other employees were friendly.
I knew what my job was for the day when I arrived. I would either run the cash register or stock the shelves.
The store was small but clean & well maintained.
I didn't find any aspect of this job hard.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere, Clean, well maintained store.
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The store I had was awesome
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 11, 2018
My managers were awesome but Dollar tree is a temporary job. It is not a job where you can be promised a steady salary and great pension benefits. This job is for teenagers that are in need of getting their feet wet in the work experience and be able to pay for their train fare or food. Besides that Dollar Tree did provide me the opportunity after working for them for 2/3 years to become supervisor but one thing I never liked was the store manager's favoritism
Pros
Great for food shopping
Cons
Didn't like the favoritism problem even though it didn't affect me in any way
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ONFebruary 11, 2018
Management was terrible. They tend to talk to you like youre stupid. Not impressed with my position there. Made you come in if you called in sick. Dont answer the phone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place, calm,respectful employees and very easy to understand the work if you're willing to work
Dollar Tree stocker (Former Employee) –  Pinellas County, FLFebruary 11, 2018
Easy going job, just have to be willing to work and listen, things can get a little frustrating when working stock and unloading, u jus have to remain humble and energetic...sometimes trucks may not come as planned and u may get a little backed up in ur work but be patient and do as much as you can and there will always be room left to get it done on your next shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the dollar tree
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAFebruary 10, 2018
a typical day at work would be arriving on time being dressed for work properly with store apparel and clocking in on time and getting my stuff in my locker and then getting my cash register ready for customers . and while not buy i would stay busy by cleaning the store and arranging the store items . i learned that people like it when you are nice and have a smile and answer them with a response to a question exactly hoe they asked you . or if they are looking for a product you show them where it is at . my management team was very nice but professional. the workplace culture was very outgoing and was very big on advertising the store and the store products.the hardest part of the job was nothing it was super easy the most enjoyable part of the job was getting a discount and break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working beside my boss
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Webster, NYFebruary 10, 2018
I enjoyed working at Dollar tree i had an awesome boss very caring and understanding of his employers, he appreciated us and it showed. A typical day at work was all ways busy with cashing out customers item returns or re-shops. The hardest part of the job getting customers to understand that we give no cash back just exchanges. The post enjoyable part is working with people because i enjoy that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
That stire sucked
Manger Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCFebruary 10, 2018
Don't work for amber she lazy and store is a wreck the mangers here feed the gosup and fighting aloud no call no shows to favorites and they also could show up when ever they want to it was crazy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a fantastic work environment
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ONFebruary 10, 2018
Loved the people I worked with. The management team at the store that I worked at are fantastic. The work environment was always good. It was always fun yet productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it wouldnt reccommend to
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYFebruary 10, 2018
stressful the management was very poor didn't get hours like i was suppose to the customers were always nice that was the best part. pay sucked for being an assistant manager
Pros
had a lot of time off
Cons
u never get hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual but somewhat hectic workplace
Dollar Tree Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Grey Hwy. Macon, GAFebruary 10, 2018
Shelves were stocked but messy.
Overstock meant uboats over the floor.
Decent freezer section.
Employees were overall nice excluding a few exceptions.
Pros
Decent Breaks
Cons
Harsh Customer Conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Stocker/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSFebruary 10, 2018
the only thing i dont like about working at dollar treee is bthe pay. some employees should make more such as the stockers and truck unloaders. other than that the job is okay for a jb.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Dollar Tree Cashier (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSFebruary 10, 2018
I opened and had to ring up customers stuff, I had to stock the shelf, I had to close and count my drawer down, I had to greet customers, sweep and mop
Pros
10% discount
Cons
15 mins
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bay City, MIFebruary 9, 2018
i had fun working with such productive workers everything was fun and enjoyable the management was nice and the employees were strong and helpful i had a blast working for dollar tree
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple ,fun ,always on the move
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Auburn, NYFebruary 9, 2018
A causal workday at dollar tree would be when truck came on the weekend and I and two other employees would help unload an put materials onto u-boats an start stocking, if not unloading truck then cashier would be my task and job for the day.
Cons
Short 10 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 9, 2018
There are definitely opportunities for advancement
They pull you into the culture
Surrounding stores help out tremendously
The hours given to the store aren't always enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working quietly overnight
Overnight Stocker Associate (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WIFebruary 9, 2018
I have only been working here for about 3 months, and I do like the people I work with, but there are some rules that are just ridiculous. I'm not sure if its just the overnight manager, but no music is allowed. (Overhead music) headphones, I understand. But no background music. Also, the day people mess things up when they're putting stuff away, and the overnight people have to waste our time fixing what they did, and it takes away from out output count and if you dont have a certain amount of boxes done, you start loosing hours. There's not really any time to make your area look nice and neat and presentable sometimes because you have to get these boxes out, and nothing is allowed to go back into the backroom. You better find a spot for it, without making the whole thing look bad.If you try to explain this on your sheet, you're just told, the DM doesnt care about the why, they just see numbers. You get on a "list" if you go over or under a minute on your time. You cannot clock in early, it must always be on the dot. same with clocking out. and hours are hard to come by. at the most overnight people bet 10 or 15 hours a week if it gets really crazy. also the schedule changes so much, but you do get a call for a heads up.
Pros
dress comfortably, don't have to interact with customers
Cons
little hours, pay is 7.25 then after 11pm pay goes to 8.25.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollar tree nice to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VAFebruary 9, 2018
i did cashier register and straight the aisle and put back to shelf and refill gum and candy is empty and stock full manager are nice to me gave alot project to do everyday
Pros
only 10 minute
Cons
i have 10minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar Tree. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 9,988 reviews
52.6K
42.6K
32.8K
21.1K
1944

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.2Culture