Dollar Tree Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 19, 2018
I enjoyed working at Dollar Tree. The managers were very understanding of my life circumstances and gaveme the time off I needed to get better. When I moved out of state the company transferred my employment.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
In the smaller stores there's not enough room for high volume sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Director-Space Planning and Visual Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAMay 19, 2018
Worked there for about 10 years. Great people and good benefits. I would have stayed until retirement if not for lack of upward mobility. I would recommend to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with the right people
Assistant Manager/employee (Former Employee) –  Wadena, MNMay 19, 2018
Fun with the right people, but A LOT of drama and blaming that goes on. Very stressful at times and always in a rush to go home. For the most part not enough hours, and a lot of favoritism going on.
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place to work!
Asst. Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALMay 19, 2018
I only worked here a short time !!! I was over worked and under paid . I knew I was not going to work their long.. I started off as cashier . I worked for the company for over 3 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leader ship
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMay 18, 2018
I loved working here. Great team Easy no complaints, basic skills communication is very well management is very understanding team members or easy going stocking shelves cashiering helping customers and cleaning up at closing easiest job I've ever had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Workers
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILMay 18, 2018
I was lucky to have fantastic co-workers. My peers were like my family. Outside of the workers in the store, the management wasn't all that great. The store I was at was the perfect beginners job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only say
Replenishment Specialist/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLMay 18, 2018
That this was a part time position as I had another part time position at a boxstore. No benefits not full time. Made it work for me. Had a good crew. Worked hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Frieght Manager (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAMay 18, 2018
checking email see any planograms can from corp. walk the floor what is the recovery looks like and what product needs to be filled. then talk to my department manager see whats going on for the day
Pros
none
Cons
stressfull
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Cashier (Current Employee) –  East Longmeadow, MAMay 18, 2018
If you have a manager who works with you then your work schedule is pretty flexible. You do not have to formally put in requests off but instead mark your name on a calendar for what days you need off. It helps if your life schedule is pretty hectic and you need certain days or time off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very disorganized and very poor managment
Cashier / Stocker (Former Employee) –  McComb, MSMay 18, 2018
As a whole i love to shop at dollar tree but as a worker at that location i had bad experiance... i was a stocker trailer unloader and cashier.. There was never and organization no hours to do the work needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management & job description
Folk Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Olive Branch, MSMay 18, 2018
The biggest issues come from poor managers that do not know what they're doing. The next issues comes from the company's systems of how they distribute products in/out of the warehouse. It's very backwards making it frustrating for the employees.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Poor management & job detail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Attleboro, MAMay 18, 2018
Typical day consisted of:
-Being yelled at by the manager
-Stocking shelves
-Tending the cash register
-Folding/Blowing up balloons
-Cleaning/organizing shelves and isles
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressfull
store manager (Former Employee) –  Florida State, FLMay 18, 2018
No Upper Management Support. Very Demanding and Treated Cashier Like they were Always Replaceable turn over was Horrendous. And Starting rate was below average and only Allowed a four hour shift per cashier
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work with 2 arcade machines.
Reach Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMay 18, 2018
My typical day at work consisted of unloading the dock with the reach truck and relocating them in the overheads. The management team is very friendly and understanding of the pace set for the day. The hardest part of the day is cleaning up the mess left by the previous shift. The most enjoyable part of the day is being able to finish specific zones and helping other zones get their pallets in the overheads.
Pros
Time passes by quick.
Cons
Not really flexible on schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved every moment
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMay 18, 2018
extremely friendly environment amazing supervisors and a wonderful time working there and meeting new people. went into work clocked in and helped customers if they needed help rang up people at the cashier and always made sure to be stocking when customers where not at the register
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful place
Assistant Manager- Key holder (Current Employee) –  Bloomfield, CTMay 18, 2018
Poor Management. no communication or team orientated company. Management doesn't acknowledge the associates complain or concerns of how they are being talk to or treated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management responsibilities
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Wyoming, MIMay 18, 2018
I enjoyed my time at Dollar Tree for the most part. I enjoyed identifying tasks for employees to complete, ordering inventory, creating schedule, and working with shoppers.
Pros
something new daily
Cons
inconsistency with work schedule in relation to not knowing weekly if opening or closing and when
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job Experience.
Freight Associate (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXMay 18, 2018
It is a part-time company. they don't have the hours to give the many employees they hire to keep minimal cost. good first time work experience. Pay to low to Support a family. good for extra cash. fun environment
Pros
no pros
Cons
short breaks, short work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and no respect
Manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaMay 17, 2018
6 day work weeks & 12 hour days are normal.
Senior management has no respect for Store teams. No work life balance.
The company culture is one of disrespect & mistrust.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting point for autonomy skills
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Oxnard, CAMay 17, 2018
Typical day is usually busy with a few exceptions
Mostly understaffed which makes work harder to accomplish
If you are ambitious you will adapt and gain a strong and quick hustle
Management opportunities are frequent if you are reliable and understand procedures
If you enjoy working Independently this is a strong starting point to gain more autonomy and leadership skills
Pros
Opportunities to grow are frequent
Cons
Understaffed and poor wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar Tree. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10,927 reviews
52.8K
42.8K
33.1K
21.2K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.2Culture