Department of Veterans Affairs Employee Reviews for Customer Service Representative

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you value the E Quadrant the VA is a great place
Veterans Service Representative (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 14, 2018
Promotions are annually for the most part, either in a grade increase or in a step increase. Production and quality standards however give it very much a sales feel without the commissions.
Pros
Job security as long as you do your job
Cons
Quality and Production Standards, no control of income
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation
Veteran Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 13, 2018
Great salary and benefits but work is repetitive. Benefits and vacation pay are great. Systems are outdated and in need of upgrades. Upward movement is limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This review pertains specifically to a position held at Long Beach City College as a Student Worker.
Veterans Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAApril 13, 2018
The environment was great, with friendly staff members and friendly leadership. The department head ensured that we understood our jobs and all tasks related to it. Training was provided and continuous. The employees work very well together, to ensure that no individual is overloaded or distracted from their studies. The compensation was very fair for the work requirement.
Pros
Flexible Scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 21, 2018
One of the best jobs I had after college. Very good pay and excellent management. Had plenty of training and chances to grow. Some of the best benefits that you will get.
Pros
benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management culture and stressful work environment
Rating Veterans Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMarch 20, 2018
If you are looking for a job with continual change in a somewhat stable job then you found the right place. An excellent job helping Veteran's but also unreasonable expectations set forth by management. This is also a place where there is "management by chaos" theory. There is a significant amount of potential and it is fantastic when it comes to helping Veterans and their families. Coming from a Veteran, Veterans are at an advantage in the hiring process. However, people become dismayed by the lack of vision and the constant reactive nature of the business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent agency to work with.
Supervisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 20, 2018
Job security.
Rewarding.
Working from home incentive once a week.
Thrift Savings Plan (401K)
End of year bonus.
Transportation subsidy
Paid annual & sick leave
Pros
Serving veterans
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Mission
Veteran Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMarch 19, 2018
As a Veteran, the mission of the VA attracted me to wanting to be an employee. Helping other Veterans and ensuring that they get the proper and needed medical care was rewarding. In addition, to helping Veterans get their disability claims process in timely manner was fulfilling,
Pros
Benefits, joy of helping Veterans
Cons
Lack of Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vsr
VETERANS SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 13, 2018
High paced work environment with quick advances. The only reason Il left was because I got married, moved and decided to be a stay at home mom. Great job.
Pros
great pay
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place
Veterans Service Representative & Advocate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 8, 2018
It is a very rewarding career but very competitive. If you are not afraid of working with or for people who are diagnosed with PTSD cursing on a daily basis anyone will enjoy working for the VA.
Pros
Perfect raise yearly and bonus in addition to overtime
Cons
Too political
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vsr
Veteran Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMarch 7, 2018
very stressful and not fulfilling, hardest job ever. I learned about how to process a claim for disability somewhat. There was nothing enjoyable. the culture was bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VBA is a great place to work, especially as a Veteran. it is fulfilling to be able to go to work and relate to those you are trying to help
Veterans Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMarch 6, 2018
VBA is a great place to work, especially as a Veteran. Really enjoy my time there. Every day is different from the next, every client's problem is different from the next.
Pros
Job security, advancement
Cons
Very fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal experience.
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 26, 2018
Working for the VA, was an interesting experience. A lot of the work was repetitious but satisfying as it related to the benefits of servicemen and women. I found it rewarding.
Pros
Consistant
Cons
Overly competitive at time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt good about being able to help veterans
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCFebruary 12, 2018
My job was to review the veteran's file and based on the medical evidence of record rate the veterans disabilities. As a rating specialist I was on production and quality. I learned to navigate through different software applications and that flexibility was required due to the changes in regulations, which was the hardest part of the job. Regulations changes were frequent and trying to keep up was at times difficult. The most enjoyable part was knowing you were helping the veterans and the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political game
Rating Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 3, 2018
Overall it's a political game within this organization. Years ago this was the bread & butter of employment and in the past 5 years they have went down hill. I would not recommend applying for a job with them. Select a different Federal organization.
Cons
political
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intra-Departmental Training
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLJanuary 28, 2018
Assisting the Veteran and his family with questions concerning benefits this agency provides was one of the rewarding factors of this job. Continued Intra-Depatmental training on new local, state and federal policies pertaining to Veteran benefits.
Pros
Helping the Veteran who served this country.
Cons
Unable to identify any.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work place
Customer Service work-study (Former Employee) –  Fresno CA.January 13, 2018
It was work-study under the GI Bill chapter 35. I work for them for a year and I worked in the public affairs office and did photography and graphic Communications, and media output along with customer service.
Pros
Active, hard work
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready for a new beginning
Rating Veterans Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSDecember 25, 2017
While serving Veterans like myself is an honor to me and I love what I do on a daily basis, the standards set to properly served Veterans are absurd. Working at the VA is working towards attaining a number verses adequately and timely serving Veterans. While honorably serving Veterans, I am ready to pursue a career in the Business administration field.
Pros
Telework
Cons
Production and Quality punitive standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Veterans Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VADecember 7, 2017
Its a good place for getting started, definitely is what you make of it,. Sometimes you'll be drained from the work load and the clients. however if you work hard you can move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promises unfulfilled
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UT 84158November 27, 2017
Worked me in higher than grade level duties then denied promotion. As the song goes..they’ll use you, yes and abuse you, they’ll take your soul if you let them, oh but don’t you let them!
Favoritism, nepotism, discrimination, unethical behavior.... i started out intensely committed to helping veterans and now see that the very agency whose mission it is to help them treats civilian employees who have integrity with disdain. There are exceptions as i know employees in other divisions who are treated well. If you work there beware and watch your back.
Pros
Good benefits and good internship program
Cons
Management will throw you under the bus to get their bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work an "internship"
Veterans Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 22, 2017
If your time is limited, have a backup plan. There was no advancement. The internship was not really an internship. People were hired to clean up the government's backlog and then "let go."
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Veterans Affairs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,914 reviews
51.6K
41.1K
3752
2239
1233

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture