Department of Veterans Affairs

Department of Veterans Affairs Employee Reviews for Customer Service Representative

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promises unfulfilled
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UT 84158November 27, 2017
Worked me in higher than grade level duties then denied promotion. As the song goes..they’ll use you, yes and abuse you, they’ll take your soul if you let them, oh but don’t you let them!
Favoritism, nepotism, discrimination, unethical behavior.... i started out intensely committed to helping veterans and now see that the very agency whose mission it is to help them treats civilian employees who have integrity with disdain. There are exceptions as i know employees in other divisions who are treated well. If you work there beware and watch your back.
Pros
Good benefits and good internship program
Cons
Management will throw you under the bus to get their bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work an "internship"
Veterans Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 22, 2017
If your time is limited, have a backup plan. There was no advancement. The internship was not really an internship. People were hired to clean up the government's backlog and then "let go."
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metric focused managers without leadership ability
Veterans Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NENovember 18, 2017
The Veterans' Benefit Administration is a organization that treats frontline employees as disposable. They frequently expect workers to make production quotas with computer systems that don't work. They don't allow "exempted time" or time off production due to the failing computer systems. Additionally, the quota system prevents employees from working collaboratively. When you can't make either production or quality standards you are "allowed" 60 days to get back on standard (without training) or you're fired. Haven't mentioned it yet but it takes around two years to become proficient if you last that long and as a bonus the rules change weekly. The manual that tells you the rules is down about 1/3 of the time.
Pros
Your manager will leave you alone until you're on the verge of being fired.
Cons
Everyone at the worker level hates the job and they turn over about 30% of the work force each year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as before
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WI 53214November 16, 2017
same as the last review. Not recommended too much hostility and ulterior motives between teams and individual employees. Not veteran centric but veterans and their dependents are our primary customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Military Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 13, 2017
Working for this federal agency was one of the most rewarding opportunities to continue to serve this great nation. I have served this great nation for over 30 yrs and the Department of Veterans Affairs gave me that opportunity.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCOctober 30, 2017
High satisfaction helping veterans. Hard work. Mental stress is high because of the required high numbers you need to obtain. working hours are some what flexible. paid time off is good about 25 days a year that is both sick and paid time off. overall not a bad place to work.
Pros
Government job and good benefits
Cons
no more job security you now can be fired just because your supervisor does not like you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 9, 2017
Great people, hard hours. Always pressured to work faster while delivering excellent customer service. No flexibility in shifts, out dated software that had to be used.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
lack of flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Asst. Supervisory Veteran Service Representative (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 1, 2017
Great people to work with. Great benefits package. Ample opportunity for advancement. Ability to pay back those that dedicated their lives for our freedom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Stressful
Veterans Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 15, 2017
This was the worst job I've ever had! The workload was too extreme and the amount of data expected to be mastered was unnatural for any one person to learn and master in doing this job.
Pros
Federal job
Cons
bad job
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits/Horrible Work Environment
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 12, 2017
It's pretty hard to find a place that provides better benefits. But the expectations and lack of training make it an unbearable environment. Whether you're a great employee or not so great employee, you will be treated the same. Management does not have the power to make changes, so an unstable environment will remain unstable. Very robotic environment, do not expect any sympathy for lack of on the job training.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Training has nothing to do with actual work, Poor work environment, Hiring process needs to be changed to bring in more qualified employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production standards
Veterans Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJuly 28, 2017
Expectations for production standards each day are difficult to attain. Training for the position is lacking and inefficient which sets up the individual for failure.
Pros
Good working environment, decent benefits
Cons
Production standards, training
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment and people
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Darwin NTJuly 23, 2017
Enjoyed assisting veterans daily with their issues , interetung legislation and completing forms etc. muliskilling with my good interpersonal skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The VA is a terrible employer
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WV 25701July 20, 2017
The training is severely inadequate and the management is made up of yes men and cronies. The position of VSR is a great job once you get the hang of what needs to be done, however the amount of incompetency by coworkers (nationwide) and management is astounding. If you do not suck up to management you will be removed eventually (cronyism). You are not allowed to use teamwork to complete tasks.
Pros
salary, work from home 4 days a week
Cons
management, no teamwork, cronyism
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People
Veteran Service Representative (GS-7) (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA 92108July 13, 2017
The employees that work there are a good mixture of race and military background. Managers are well experienced and everyone for the most part gets along.
Pros
federal
Cons
cubicle
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, bad management with micromanaging and too lofty of standards
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJuly 9, 2017
Great benefits, bad management with micromanaging and too lofty of standards that are impossible and the pressure very hard to handle. My coach was not personable and did not have people skills.
Pros
Good money
Cons
To make the standards no breaks or lunch and great deal of pressure and micromanging
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
File Clerk/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 29, 2017
The VA provided training that was necessary to perform my job. Training was continuous, and very informative on a personal basis, as well as for my job performance. Being productive was essential to my department.
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love our veterans
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJune 14, 2017
I love the people, my job and how management do everything to help you and I love working with everyone. The workplace culture is a place I can say this is ware my kids can work. The hardest part about my job is when I am off or not working, because I miss the veterans and family. This is a family of staff that cares about each other and our veterans and family.
Pros
Keep working hard for our veterans.
Cons
Also room to add or improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high production and quality
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 8, 2017
A typical day at the VA as a VSR ( Veteran Service Representative) is to process a set number of claims depending on your GS level while keeping a high level of quality as well. The high productivity and quality expectations produce a high level of stress for the employees as well as management. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with all of the changes that occur within laws and regulations sometimes daily that regulate how to process a claim. The most enjoyable part of this job is the knowledge that you are helping Veteran's and their families receive the help, medical and money that they deserve.
Pros
Helping those that have given there all
Cons
Very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and opportunity
VETERANS SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (retired) (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIJune 6, 2017
Work hard and get paid for providing results. The pace is fast and the stress level is required accuracy within a time frame. Strong union and good benefits.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Work hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 6, 2017
Excellent! Opportunity for professional growth is limitless, with some personal application. Meet great people from every walk of life. No dull moment at the VARO!
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Veterans Affairs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,372 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6