Chick-fil-A Employee Reviews for Cook

Found 426 reviews matching the search See all 10,793 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad work environment
Cook (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MD 21740January 8, 2019
a typical day at work included making sandwiches and running the kitchen smoothly.

how to be on time and hard work

good manager and fair.

I was given more responsibilities the longer i worked there, i changed employees outlook on our work with positive energy.

hot kitchen

employees
Pros
free dinner
Cons
closed on Sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and food
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJanuary 3, 2019
This was my first job and I had no previous work experience. This job was regarding as it helped me to become more responsible and independent. However, this was a temporary job.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Not enough hourse
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard, not worth it
Cashier and Cook (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHJanuary 2, 2019
A typical day at Chick'fil'A would be interrupting the cashier to sign in, then going to the back of the store and stand at your station until you go on break. I learned how to be patient and work as a team. The work place culture was the best part about the job, friendly, and hard working. The hardest part about the job was working fast but doing it correctly. The most enjoyable thing about this job was that the managers let the people in the back listen to music.
Pros
Free meal after every six hours of work
Cons
hierarchy of poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good place to work
Cook/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJanuary 2, 2019
good place to work at for the most part, sometimes very stressful and not good communication, decent hours but no overtime unless an assistant or director
Pros
free meals
Cons
no benefits or overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place fun co workers
Cook (Former Employee) –  Roanoke Rapids, NCDecember 31, 2018
I liked chick fil a everyone was great and nice the job was easy chick fil a kept me busy I always had something to do the consumer was nice the employees was nice everyone got alone
Pros
Meals were great and mangers cares for workers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joseph bushnell
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXDecember 18, 2018
I want the cook job the Monday-Friday afternoon. I pay $40 dollars and the cashiers and the really good and the drive thru that hard and the I pay $60.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a great place to work
Cashier, cook, porter (Former Employee) –  Houma, LADecember 17, 2018
customer service and and always say my pleasure
the hardest part of a job is when it gets busy, you must know how to handle pressure in a timely manner.

The most enjoyable part about the job is being off on Sundays and holidays
Pros
free food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the job the only thing I couldn't get over is the hour I had gotten compared to the new employees
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 16, 2018
I worked there for almost 9 months. When I asked for a raise they declined my request and said I would get more hours.not so long after a new employee started working and my hours got cut. When I asked the manager why my hours went down he said that he needed more workers.
Pros
A free meal when you go on break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Cashier and Cook (Former Employee) –  Moline, ILDecember 12, 2018
Working at Chick-fil-A taught me a lot of communication skills, the management was professional and always did the best to help out whenever they could.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I I think it's a good job with benefits that can help a person alit
Cook (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GADecember 6, 2018
I have various skills in all forms of cooking and labor work .I'm dependable and trustworthy and hard working. I'm a people person get along with others well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cook (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VADecember 3, 2018
Job was fine but they had poor management. Not enough hours. Can work for years and never get a vacation. Didn't requested days off. Talk to you any kind of way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work at
Cook (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 27, 2018
good place to have a first job during high school helps you build leadership skills and team bonding it is a fast paced job and you gotta be quick with everything you do
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cook at chick fil a
Cook (Former Employee) –  Danville, VANovember 27, 2018
Fast paced. You’re always on your feet doing something whether it be fries, grilling, breading, squeezing lemons, frying, or boxing the food. You’ll learn to be able to multitask.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fine except for poor management
Back of House Cook (Former Employee) –  7597 N Mesa St, El Paso, TX 79912November 25, 2018
The job was very fast paced and consistent along with a good pay but with the owner of the store not always being there management fell onto team leaders and many were unfit for the job, constantly making it hard on others and actively trying to get others fired
Pros
sundays always off, no graveyard, 7 dollar free meal, discount.
Cons
poor management, really fast paced and tone deaf management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced, sometimes stressful
Cook (Current Employee) –  Branson, MONovember 21, 2018
Decent pay and they care about their employees. Work through the winter which is important for a tourist town. And they always have Sundays off which is really great.
Pros
Discount plus paid break food
Cons
No healthcare or anything, always changing schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced busy environment
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARNovember 19, 2018
Knowledgeable staff and management
Equal opportunity
Christian based facility
Overall good service
Clean utinsels always ready to use
Effective method of cutting down meal preparation time
Pros
Free lunch, decent break time
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agradable
Cook (Current Employee) –  Longview, TXNovember 10, 2018
Lugar muy agradable y acogedor. Buenas personas trabajando.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fast paced, and team work essential business
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PANovember 8, 2018
A good fast food job. On average high schoolers will be employed or seen mostly. the older staff are usually the higher ups. most of the work is unseen and is done in the back. Everything in the store has a 2 minute window of completion as soon as the order is placed in. Out front staff take care of any hospitality needs and cleaning.
Pros
Raises were availbe, work plans included benefits if signed into them, staff was very friendly, good leadership
Cons
Too fast at times, very slow progression, tight working areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good family oriented work enviroment
cook (Former Employee) –  Roanoke Rapids, NCNovember 8, 2018
during my time here i enjoyed it it is a fast paced job and if you can't keep up then you will get left behind. overall the pay was great i made more money there then i had at any other fast food job i had worked at and the staff was amazing it was never a dull day there if I hadn't moved away then I would still be there.
Pros
good pay and great work enviroment.
Cons
fast paced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but can get really stressful and fast during meal rushes.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Centerville, UTNovember 5, 2018
I enjoyed my time working at Chick-fil-A. The pay was less than I would have liked but they were very flexible with my school and football schedule. Free meal every time you work and unlimited drinks. Half-off whenever you come on your own time. As far as fast food goes, this might be as good as it gets.
Pros
Free meals, discounts, fun people
Cons
low wage, stressful at times, can get monotonous
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chick-fil-A. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 10,797 reviews
54.9K
43.2K
31.9K
2492
1319

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture