American Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Central SingaporeApril 6, 2017
We task to do collection of credit card debts from corporate customer. I enjoy the colleague and friendly working environment. The hardest part of the job is you have to call hundreds customer account within a day.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
call hundreds customer account within a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb Benefits
Dedicated Travel Advisor (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 1, 2017
AMEX is one of the best company to work for as they really pamper there employees.

Though the process I was in was a bit challenging however the satisfaction we used get after getting the job done was awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
C Language Developer (Former Employee) –  philippinesMarch 13, 2017
I have learned a lot on this company specially in programming. most of my team mates are productive on work. We do have work life balance. The management are all good with their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and supportive
Senior Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Central SingaporeFebruary 17, 2017
With good budget for training, young staff. good benefits, forward looking. nice co-workers, structured systems. After office hour call out is not so pleasant
Pros
Free meals
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Regional Sales Strategic, APAC (Current Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 20, 2016
Poor management skills
Do not have proper on-boarding plans
specific training are not layout clearly
Harsh words from management
Pros
work from home
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee) –  PhilippinesJuly 31, 2016
Qhwn i had a mass in my throat, the management didn't give me option for medical leave, instead they agreed for me to resign for me to take some rest and be well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Company to work for
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 25, 2016
It was the most ideal workplace where you get to enjoy both work and life. It is a company you would want to stay for as long as you can. Colleagues are highly professional and you just can't help but perform at your best.
Pros
Being pushed to your limits. Take pride of yourself once you overcome.
Cons
The job itself can really be demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at American Express.
Lead Project Manager (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMarch 8, 2016
There was work-life balance, flexibility in working from home when needed. I had great mentors and had the opportunity to work with different people from different places, remotely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political workplace.
Marketing Executive, Membership Rewards (Former Employee) –  MBCNovember 4, 2015
Generally hire and fire situations are abundant. You constantly have to be on your toes, long hours with little benefits. Have to always be politically correct in all conversations.
Pros
Get American Express credit cards without fees.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and stimulating environment
Dedicated Travel Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pasir PanjangOctober 19, 2015
Built relationships with team members and vendors alike. AMEX created the path for me to enhance my skill sets and set a higher expectation of myself
Pros
Site inspections of hotels
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, a lot of internal opportunities
SENIOR REGIONAL MARKETING MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Pasir PanjangMarch 15, 2015
There are many internal opportunities within American Express. In terms of salary / work life balance it is very much dependent on the business units. Generally B2C are tougher with lower salaries whilst those in B2B i.e. merchant, corporate travel have higher salaries and better work life balance.
Pros
Internal opportunities
Cons
Uncompetitive Salaries especially for internal promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day in a Client General Manager role
Client General Manager (Current Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 14, 2014
In General a typical day would involve interacting with colleagues from the operations teams, both to troubleshoot customer service issues and also to align on service.

A fair bit of my time is taken to plan strategic initiatives and actions for my portfolio of clients. This would include action items and business plans, including business reviews.
Pros
Exposure to a variety of industries, ability to work remotely
Cons
Long hours, unforgiving environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with big pantry
Finance Associate (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 24, 2014
Learn lots of product knowledge.Proud to be working for a company with such a long history. Learnt to be independent at work.
Pros
Free lunches provided sometimes
Cons
Work overtime to rush for deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Marketing (Current Employee) –  Singapore, S00June 2, 2014
good company; with work life balance, alot of employee engagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic working enviornment with good work life balance
Account Development Manager Strategic Client Group (Current Employee) –  MapleTree Business CityApril 24, 2014
Typical day at work I would say its fast paced some would refer as a roller coaster at times.
Essentally what I have learnt in my company would be strong communication skills and consultative selling skill sets
co-works are a great bunch, always ready to lend a helping hand
Hardest part of my job. well internal red tapes and managing time
Most enjoyable part is when I am able exceed both client's expectations and my targets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work for
Director, Head of FI and Margin Trading Sales (Former Employee) –  Singapore, S00January 5, 2014
I have worked with American Express for 16.5 years and have enjoyed working for the company every minute. The company practiced its blue box values seriously. It was always target oriented sales job but rewards followed the achievements.
Pros
Best Company culture
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthy atmosphere
Shift manager (Former Employee) –  Indra Gandhi International AirportMarch 21, 2013
Its one of the best company in this world, I enjoyed my worked journey with American express
Pros
supporting staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more American Express reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,602 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

American Express Reviews by Location