American Express Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 6,149 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empowering and friendly culture
Assistant Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 11, 2018
American Express has an empowering and friendly culture. Believes in working hard and playing hard and has work life balance as well. Fun place to be in!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable workplace but little career progression
Administrator (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJuly 11, 2018
Fun events every now and then but low chance of getting a promotion unless unless someone leaves. Inexperienced management makes work more challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Values
Vice President and General Manager (Former Employee) –  SingaporeJune 13, 2018
The company has a strong values driven culture; enables employees to work autonomously and embraces diversity.
Being a global company you get to work with colleagues around the globe and develop a woking knowledge of many different cultures.
Pros
Global Company
Cons
Not competitive enough in the current payments space.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and Work life Balance
Cards Officer (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 26, 2018
I love working with American Express company. It has always been in my heart wherever i go. I hope they will opportunities for Permanent Position. Very productivity and work live balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovation on the go, ever evolving, fast paced, multi cultural, abundant opportunities
Manager- Product Pricing Strategy, Revenue Growth (Current Employee) –  SingaporeApril 3, 2018
One of my best experiences of the corporate world!
American Express has raised my profile immensely and transformed me into a great professional who is not shy of taking calculated risks and think strategically for the growth of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Pasir PanjangFebruary 10, 2018
Had the opportunity to work in different roles during my 11 years there. Supported different leaders of different nationalities and worked very well with them.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and performance driven environment
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Pasir PanjangJanuary 18, 2018
High in values , diverse culture , people oriented company.
Flexible working pattern ( work from home is allowed) .
Employee engagements and rewards and recoginition .
Pros
Famils trip
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, relax and great
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beach roadOctober 2, 2017
I was just a contract staff then however the people there do appreciate you and help you in many ways

I left because I need to pursue my degree if not I would not have left
Pros
Good colleague and great environment
Cons
Not many full time position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Central SingaporeApril 6, 2017
We task to do collection of credit card debts from corporate customer. I enjoy the colleague and friendly working environment. The hardest part of the job is you have to call hundreds customer account within a day.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
call hundreds customer account within a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb Benefits
Dedicated Travel Advisor (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 1, 2017
AMEX is one of the best company to work for as they really pamper there employees.

Though the process I was in was a bit challenging however the satisfaction we used get after getting the job done was awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
C Language Developer (Former Employee) –  philippinesMarch 13, 2017
I have learned a lot on this company specially in programming. most of my team mates are productive on work. We do have work life balance. The management are all good with their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and supportive
Senior Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Central SingaporeFebruary 17, 2017
With good budget for training, young staff. good benefits, forward looking. nice co-workers, structured systems. After office hour call out is not so pleasant
Pros
Free meals
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Regional Sales Strategic, APAC (Current Employee) –  SingaporeOctober 20, 2016
Poor management skills
Do not have proper on-boarding plans
specific training are not layout clearly
Harsh words from management
Pros
work from home
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee) –  PhilippinesJuly 31, 2016
Qhwn i had a mass in my throat, the management didn't give me option for medical leave, instead they agreed for me to resign for me to take some rest and be well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Company to work for
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMay 25, 2016
It was the most ideal workplace where you get to enjoy both work and life. It is a company you would want to stay for as long as you can. Colleagues are highly professional and you just can't help but perform at your best.
Pros
Being pushed to your limits. Take pride of yourself once you overcome.
Cons
The job itself can really be demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at American Express.
Lead Project Manager (Former Employee) –  SingaporeMarch 8, 2016
There was work-life balance, flexibility in working from home when needed. I had great mentors and had the opportunity to work with different people from different places, remotely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political workplace.
Marketing Executive, Membership Rewards (Former Employee) –  MBCNovember 4, 2015
Generally hire and fire situations are abundant. You constantly have to be on your toes, long hours with little benefits. Have to always be politically correct in all conversations.
Pros
Get American Express credit cards without fees.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and stimulating environment
Dedicated Travel Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pasir PanjangOctober 19, 2015
Built relationships with team members and vendors alike. AMEX created the path for me to enhance my skill sets and set a higher expectation of myself
Pros
Site inspections of hotels
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, a lot of internal opportunities
SENIOR REGIONAL MARKETING MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Pasir PanjangMarch 15, 2015
There are many internal opportunities within American Express. In terms of salary / work life balance it is very much dependent on the business units. Generally B2C are tougher with lower salaries whilst those in B2B i.e. merchant, corporate travel have higher salaries and better work life balance.
Pros
Internal opportunities
Cons
Uncompetitive Salaries especially for internal promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day in a Client General Manager role
Client General Manager (Current Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 14, 2014
In General a typical day would involve interacting with colleagues from the operations teams, both to troubleshoot customer service issues and also to align on service.

A fair bit of my time is taken to plan strategic initiatives and actions for my portfolio of clients. This would include action items and business plans, including business reviews.
Pros
Exposure to a variety of industries, ability to work remotely
Cons
Long hours, unforgiving environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 6,149 reviews
52.8K
42K
3875
2248
1175

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

American Express Reviews by Location