AMC Theatres Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for your first job, but management didn't really seem to care about how long you worked even if you were under age
PFilm crew (Former Employee) –  Westminster, CONovember 13, 2017
Amc theaters was an interesting place to work at, you will meet a lot of great people when working there. It really does teach you how the real work experience looks.
Pros
Decent lunch breaks
Cons
Worked to long for being under age
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy-going workplace as long as you do your job right.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Ocoee, FLNovember 12, 2017
A typical day at work is very laid back. I was an usher, and as long as you follow the schedule of theaters you need to clean, and work at a reasonable pace, the job is simple. Hardest part of the job is honestly to walk into a theater you are about to clean, and watch people either leave their trash, or drop things on the way out and not attempt to pick them up. The most enjoyable part of the job for me was my fellow crew members. It was a very friendly environment, and everyone worked together very well.
Pros
Discounts at concession when on-shift, free movie tickets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conflicted
AMC Associate (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 11, 2017
I liked amc and hated it the same time. I enjoyed working with my coworkers. The managers were ok. Some not so much. Dealing with the public was a mess but at times ok.
Pros
Get to watch movies for free
Cons
Pay was bad for the amount of work put in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Film Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CANovember 10, 2017
It is a good first job in the fact that it gives you work experience. It does teach you how to deal with guests and quick changes to the pace in the workplace.
Pros
Work experience, get to see free movies
Cons
Work hours, Schedule changes weekly, not very good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CANovember 10, 2017
fun place to work.free movies. sick hours. is great if you only need a part time job. you meet some pretty amazing people working at a theater. id still be working there if i didnt move.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My summary
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Coon Rapids, MNNovember 9, 2017
All in all it was a great experience but being paid so little to do so much takes it's toll on you after awhile. you get discounts but only when working you get free movies but only if the theater has room for you. It's a real workers vibe rather than a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for teenagers or college students
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 8, 2017
It's fun working for AMC if you remain as a crew member.

favoritism plays a big role, especially as you move up in the company.

A lot of managers, not all, like to help you move up, but they also are not the greatest with shaping you into what they are expecting out of you. They then use the opportunity to fire those who aren't "cut out for the job" to look good for corporate. So then you kind of just question if they help people to move up just for numbers.
Pros
paid time off, free movies, flexible schedules
Cons
late hours, no leaving until the last movie ends and everyone is out of the building. weekends and holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The managers are younger and less educated than you
FILM CREW (Former Employee) –  Morristown, NJNovember 8, 2017
Really, the worst part of working for AMC was how mean and lazy the managers and supervisors were. Second worst was probably the company culture in general. You'd be expected to work like a machine all weekend long, and no breaks unless you were a minor (so that means you can't eat or drink for literally hours unless you sneak it).
Pros
Free movies when you're not working
Cons
Being treated like a slave
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crew members is where it's at
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Independence, MONovember 7, 2017
When I started working at AMC I was welcomed with open arms. The crew help you settle in and are always there if you aren't understanding the work place. It's all about the crew and management. I will always recommend friends or family to apply there, they are a great team.
Pros
15 minute paid breaks
Cons
Start off minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Crew (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 7, 2017
If you want a good first time job, this is it. Perfect for a high schooler with a busy schedule. Just make sure you are open at least 2 days out of the weekend.
Pros
Free movie tickets, discounts
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great social grounds
Film Crew (Former Employee) –  Rockland County, NYNovember 5, 2017
AMC is a great first job for people just starting out it is very fun but yet juvenile. I would say it;s a starter job its easy light not much to do making it ideal for kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cook (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 5, 2017
Movies were good. Kitchen enviorment was fun and different. Learned a lot. At times struggled with staff, but the kitchen still flowed. Great dishes as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my exp
Concession Stand Worker (Former Employee) –  Grapevine, TXNovember 4, 2017
grapevine was not pleasant Arlington was bomb best place to work at everyone was great but grapevine was the worst and they didn't even give benefits/discounts like Arlington did, managers wouldn't even given me a raise even though their starting was a dollar higher.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management, brown nosers
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNNovember 4, 2017
someone close to me worked at AMC Bad management, always scheduled for closings which means clean all the machines and even grease drains. Pay was minimum wage. If manager got upset with you he cut your hours. Very petty childish environment.
Pros
free movies, popcorn
Cons
management, pay, work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  South Miami, FLNovember 3, 2017
AMC is an okay location to work as a teenager just entering the work force; however, it is not a very promising or beneficial place to work. The management is okay, but the coworkers are the ones who really makes the experience better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Theatre Crew (Current Employee) –  Lombard, ILNovember 3, 2017
It was a great job to work at. But I was getting to old for the pay. It wasn’t enough for my liking. But overall the job was very very very nice to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are disposable
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 3, 2017
As a company they realize their employees are disposable. There is no attempt at work life balance. They don't practice the same values they expect of their employees.
Pros
Free Movies
Cons
Unethical, poor culture, no value placed on employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Crew (Current Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IANovember 2, 2017
Everyone is always happy. I learned how to work 3 different areas. You always had a laugh while you were there. The hardest part was when working in concessions and it got really busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with lots of exciting people around.
Busser/Server (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJNovember 1, 2017
A typical day at work consisted of looking at the busser flow recognizing the time you should be at the theater and if there are no theaters broken either run trays or roll silverware, you could find something to do especially on busy days. I learned a lot about hard work and where your work could take you if you stay consistent, I learned a lot about how business was run, you can learn a lot just being in the environment. The hardest part of the job was definitely Final 12 since it's the last objective and everyone is typically tired, so it can be stressful. The easiest part of the job is rolling silverware because it's a simple and fast task. The most enjoyable part of the job is being around all the other bussers and the relationships you can build.
Pros
Great tips, half price on food purchase, free movies
Cons
Low wages, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will do it all.
Usher/Ticket Taker (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CANovember 1, 2017
Be ready to work a different job everyday cause one day you my be doing ticket sells the next you an usher cleaning theaters. You will never be bored there cause there is always something to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AMC Theatres. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,848 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6