Aflac Employee Reviews for Insurance Agent

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mount, NCMay 19, 2018
Nice people but too much driving. I did not know enough locals to get in their good graces. I spent too much money on gas without getting enough financial compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Support
INSURANCE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Bridgeville, PAMay 19, 2018
It's a door to door sales job. They don't pay any benefits, they don'r give you refferals, there are no territories, there is no support. You just get sent out to knock on random doors. Sometimes I was given a list of places to go and found many of the businesses were closed sometimes the buildings weren't even standing anymore.
You can go broke working here.
Pros
None
Cons
No money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Commision Only and Its take a while to start making money
INSURANCE AGENT (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CAMay 17, 2018
The work environment is supportive but I recommend having another job while training. It takes a while to get certified to sell the product. If your not certified in their program, you will not be making money. You will also pay office rent and do a lot of driving at times. The staff is supportive but you need to go in with a plan. No sales, no money...
Pros
Learn alot about the product
Cons
The money is not always good. You hit dry seasons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly Good Employment
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Dawsonville, GAMay 17, 2018
Would answer phones, input data into computer, go to company's location to enroll employees, trouble shooting, preparing packets for employees. The pay is inconsistent, no health benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
Insurance sales representative (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MIMay 14, 2018
cold calls all day in person and on phone. market totally saturated by other aflac sales reps. some places said they are visited weekly 5 or more times a week by aflac reps.
Pros
none
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but well compensated
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMMay 10, 2018
AFLAC is a company where the career growth is up to the individual. It is a cut-throat industry and you get paid on how hard you work. Once pay does come in, it is very lucrative. However, to get to that point, it takes time and devotion to the job.
Pros
Good pay, flexible schedule
Cons
challenging and cut throat
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time consuming
Insurance sales (Former Employee) –  Benton County, ARMay 9, 2018
Not very satisfied with the experience of being a sales person since one really depends 100% on sales for survival so it is a tremendously stressful situation if you have family members to take care of. Also it feels like you are pushing people into buying something that it might not be as helpful to them but it will help your pocket.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom of schedule
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Maryville, MOMay 9, 2018
Making your own schedule is nice but there is no base salary. It is commission only, and that is hard when you first start out because all you are doing is trying to set appointments and build your book of business. If you have a good savings set up and can go a month without a paycheck then I would recommend trying it out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice friendly people
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  QuanahMay 1, 2018
This was a great job however in our area there was a lack of interest in the service they provided or the larger companies in our area already provided this type of insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aflac
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLApril 26, 2018
Loved the job. have to have a go getter mentality in order to survive. if you want to make money you have to go make it yourself. great culture. quarterly events are amazing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not feel part of this company
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRApril 23, 2018
did not feel a part of this company as a sales representative i wanted to feel more a part of this company but did not achieve this so the motivation was not their.
Cons
no salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good fit for people with minimal contacts or money
Account Manager/Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDApril 12, 2018
AFLAC is a great company and with real good products that I believe in. The problem is the people that sell the products. This is a real cut throat business and if you don't like making cold calls and getting constantly hung up on or you don't like walking door to door asking to speak to people, then this is not the job for you. The people that make great Aflac employees are people who have a lot of connections with businesses and also have a lot of money to spend. You have to spend a lot of money to make money in the insurance business.
Pros
you make your own hours
Cons
you lose more money than you make
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 29, 2018
good company to work for. The sky is the limit.You set the ceiling for your success.The management works in your behalf. The more successful you are the more they push you and reward your hard effort.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress cold call sales
Insurance Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIMarch 26, 2018
Had to pay for your own training. High stress cold call sales. No defined territory the person next to you in class was a direct competitor for your custimers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wild Ride
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYMarch 24, 2018
You are a 1099 employee without any benefits, representing a benefits company. You will invest thousands of dollars and hours into your business to hopefully see it grow. You choose your work hours which is nice, and bring in business however you want (cold-calling, in-person, etc). The Rochester leadership at the top is great, the middle managers are buffoons. The scary thing: you don't have a salary, you only get the commission from your sales. They pay you upfront, but if something happens (ie somebody cancels, an account fails to pay invoices, etc) Aflac charges you that money back. You can be indebted to the company, and they put an interest rate on that debt. They charge you a certain percentage of your new commissions to pay it down, plus any monthly commission is pushed over to pay down that balance.
Pros
Flexible hours, good pay
Cons
Company debt, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough support
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Saint Peters, MO 63376March 23, 2018
If they liked you they would help you be successful if they didnt you were going to struggle. They were not fair about spreading good leads to everyone
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for. But the pay is a hit & miss.
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Salisbury, MDMarch 22, 2018
I love Aflac, I love my coworkers, they are a positive company to work for. I love what I do, there is a lot of travel time. You have to use your own vehicle which means more money in gas, more wear & tear on your vehicle. But you meet a lot of new people, room for growth, flexible schedule, more time with family. It's strictly a 1099 company. So they do not offer major medical health insurance, but you can get Aflac Supplemental Insurance on a employee discount. The pay varies. You work hard, but don't get paid until you have enrolled new employers. But, there's like 5 steps you have to take before you finally get paid which makes paying the bills difficult at times, unless you have a spouse for financial back up or a PT job on the side. However, there are bonuses, fine dinners & fancy trips that are all incentives. But very hard to accomplish. This career is for you or not. All depends on how disciplined you are to work on your own with little to no supervision.
Pros
Flexible schedule, bonuses, & trips.
Cons
1099 only, no health insurance, pay is not consistent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine job, terrible coworkers
Insurance Agent and Sales (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVMarch 15, 2018
there isnt much to say about aflac beyond the fact I enjoyed the job until a coworker stole a massive account from me that cost me a ton of money, my manager hid the fact this happened as well.
Pros
good pay
Cons
morals
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance sale
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, GAMarch 13, 2018
Aflac was a decent company to work for. We had quotas and one-on-one training. I was an independent contractor using my own vehicle. I needed to find something a little more stable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company
Intern/Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 6, 2018
AFLAC is a very strong company with a great training program. There is always opportunities to move up in management after sales. Schedules are flexible for the employees.
Pros
Good environment
Cons
commission only position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aflac. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,304 reviews
5757
4594
3486
2244
1223

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture