Aflac Employee Reviews for Agent

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent
Agent (Former Employee) –  Carroll, IADecember 11, 2017
Working with great people that are willing to working to help you work towards your goals.
It established your roll in the community as a independent agent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an Independent agent
Agent (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAOctober 30, 2017
I worked semi-independently, I set my own schedule and created my own work zone. I managed my own time, took breaks when I needed and took time off when I needed.
Pros
I was my own boss
Cons
I worked on commission so the pay was not always great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and Insurance skills both necessary
Agent Representative (Former Employee) –  Tustin, CAOctober 19, 2017
I got hired on a commission only rate and was trained or several months. The downside for me was learning in a group setting and working without understanding the needs of the customer which a provider needs to express in cold sales.
Pros
Good growing company for an excellent sales pro
Cons
It could become alot of busywork, if a schedule is not made upon a sale because of the process insurance, providers need to implement afterwards, done individually.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what was advertised
Agent (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIOctober 2, 2017
Training was good. Support for skills brought in was very poor. Accounts obtained were taken by other agent and management did not rectify the issue. Too many agents working the same region. No sense of respect for others hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Agent (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXSeptember 26, 2017
Waste of time, working for this company. They use you so much and don't pay a dime. cheater in insurance business? They use you for all time and no help provided. Aflac name business hate you so bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced cold calling position
Agent (Current Employee) –  Garden City, NYAugust 6, 2017
All Aflac Agents are provided the same leads making it difficult to cold call because receptionists are getting calls from all over. I thought Aflac would sell itself because I love everything about it including the coverage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere and Good Place to Work
BUSINESS SOLUTIONS AGENT (Current Employee) –  Mount Juliet, TNAugust 3, 2017
I enjoy working for Aflac. The hardest part of the job is getting out of the door to go to work mentally. The most enjoyable part of the job is having the flexibility to have a work/life balance. The atmosphere is energetic and you have to be willing to go out and meet people. The management team just wants you to go and do your job just like most management teams.
Pros
work your on schedule
Cons
if you don't like working on commissions then it is not the place for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very positive, cooperative environment
Agent (Former Employee) –  Garden City, NYAugust 1, 2017
Aflac features a very positive, cooperative environment in which your coworkers and managers provide plenty of encouragement and advice. The managers will not stand over your shoulder and so you will have to be a self-starter to succeed.
Pros
The compensation is straight commission. The sky's the limit.
Cons
The compensation is straight commission. There's no guarantee of compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability
agent (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaJuly 31, 2017
Great company to work for but you need to believe you could do it be very consistent. Be ready for allot of rejection but its very rewarding
when your able to help employees cover there families for the unexpected.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance sales
Agent (Former Employee) –  Show Low, AZJuly 20, 2017
You are your own boss working on your own schedule. Up front premium commissions are good but it takes a long time to build a client list and residual income.
Pros
set your own hours and schedule
Cons
It takes a long time to build a decent income. pay all your own expenses
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport

Want to know more about Aflac?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive business
Agent (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 12, 2017
Services are fabtastic but cery saturated market. High turnover. Takes a good 5 years to accumulate enough residual income to start paying off. Limited support in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing
AGENT (Current Employee) –  boardman ohioJuly 10, 2017
Aflac is a great company to work for but it has the down falls of any commission only based job. The commission rate is great but there is weeks you will go without a paycheck because that is the name of the game.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place
Agent, Michigan (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids MiJuly 6, 2017
Hard to get started. Loads of support from management to get you going. The market is highly saturated and the insurance salesman get a very bad rap.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Agent (Former Employee) –  Raymore, MoJune 23, 2017
Great company.
.Team players. Very helpful to new Agents.

Started early. Went on calls either already had appointments or cold calls.
The people I worked with were super.
Pros
Goal Setting, Fun, relaxed.
Cons
Cold Calls not for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a salesman
Agent (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 9, 2017
Very much a challenge for new Agents. No money until you sell. If can take 6 months to a year to build a book of business and most major accounts are already booked.
Pros
Freedome
Cons
No Mone
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too saturated with agents
Agent (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCJune 6, 2017
This was not a good working environment because the company had so many agents in the field already hounding companies to purchase the products that there was no room for growth. The companies were hostile towards new agents coming in and it was stressful to find enough interested companies to even make a profit. I had to pay back my salary because people jumped on their contracts. Basically, I didn't get paid for my work and dedication.
I took the job assuming it was a job and not volunteer work. I do volunteer work already and unfortunately I can't pay my bills on the volunteer work.
Pros
Flexible times
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has its ups and downs!
Contract Agent (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAMay 23, 2017
Has the potential to bring you a great harvest if trained correctly. I really enjoyed the flexibility and the other agents being so supportive. Opportunity was there but you must fight to keep your hard work intact.
Pros
Great income
Cons
Profit has unfortunate turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible compensation
Agent (Current Employee) –  Ridgeland, MSMay 20, 2017
This company would be great if they cared more about their agents in the field. The compensation is way to low for all the hours you have to put in, if they were to pay their agents more their turn over wouldn't be so high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gotta love the DUCK
Agent (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCMay 8, 2017
I was with the company for a very short time and I enjoyed it all. The training was awsome and the upper management is great. This is not the place for introverts. You get out what you put in. Lots of contests and prizes to be won. BIG on recognition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Job
Inurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 28, 2017
Love this job when youre able to get in front of the business owner.
The hardest part of this is getting into the businesses and then holding on to the business. Lots of prospecting, cold calling and determination needed for the long haul.
Pros
time is your own
Cons
its hard to stay motivated, taxes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aflac. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,914 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5