Aflac Employee Reviews

Showing all 2,589 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDNovember 7, 2018
i enjoyed working here for many reasons, including the flexibility of my schedule throughout school, and how i got to work at my own pace. This made it easy to get done what i needed to when i could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i don't know how people make a living working there
Benefits Specialist (Current Employee) –  Malvern, PANovember 6, 2018
Aflac is great, i believe in the products offered and i like the company. HOWEVER, it is a 100% commission-based pay structure. You don't sell you don't eat. i don' know how people do this for a living.
Pros
extremely flexible schedue
Cons
it is extremely hard to make a dollar there
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission
Independent Agent (Current Employee) –  Sharonville, OHNovember 6, 2018
Aflac's mission is to partner with businesses to help both the business and the employees save money through voluntary benefits. These benefits include Accident, Short Term Disability, Hospital, Cancer. Life, Dental and Vision insurance policies.
Pros
Helps people and the pay is good
Cons
Hard work getting started
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need more employee training
Benefits Counselor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GANovember 5, 2018
One must have money already to pay for gas to ride daily on cold calls without a promise of income. Must have a computer to work effectively. Never rely on others
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
income based on sales only
Licensed Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Orangeburg, SCNovember 3, 2018
got paid on sales only
a lot of driving
self managed
hardest part was going on sales calls and not making a sale
I did not enjoy this job and would not work on commission ever again
Pros
indepent agent
Cons
income based on sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees' willingness to discredit other employees.
Business Development Consultant (Current Employee) –  Buena Park, CANovember 3, 2018
Do not know who to trust in a cutthroat atmosphere. Continously looking over the shoulder, except when canvassing; and not given too much opportunity to canvass. Constantly being told what I should not be doing and no mentoring on what I should be doing. Very frustrating.
Pros
Flexible shcedule
Cons
Employees' willingness to discredit other employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Claims Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAOctober 29, 2018
Great company to work for, great benefits, however, advancements and job considerations is all about who you know. Take you time on any assignments and questions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional opportunity for people who posses an enterpreneurial spirit and a strong belief in their own abilities
semi retired (Former Employee) –  Wexford PaOctober 28, 2018
I was a self employed Independent Contractor and became a captive agent once I became a Sales Coordinator.
Excellent place to work,learn and thrive.
Most of my experiences were very positive and uplifting. You were offered an opportunity and the latitude to progress and excell at your own pace.
AFLAC is an exceptional company withworld class leadership but it is not for everyone.It is less structured than other companies, whereas you can determine your career path and you are judged and promoted upon your own potential and not having to wait for a position to become available.

My typical work day started around 6:30 AM and ended around 7 to 8PM. I was self employed and there was no limit to what I could accomplish.
The positions at AFLAC are to be looked at as business ownership and not as an employee. Many fail because they cannot distinguish between the two.
I held several Coordinator positions in seven different states over my 22 year career at AFLAC. from Augusending in May 2015.
Pros
Freedom to grow and prosper as your levels of knowledge and experience are enhanced.
Cons
Coordinator positions are sometime filled by persons not ready.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!
Benefits Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, AROctober 27, 2018
Unless you know someone, who knows someone, who knows someone...then you aren't going to make it in this "business". You'll be promised 90 days of training and receive less than a weeks worth. Some aren't even trained yet and told to "go market" without knowing what to say or do. These people above you are ruthless and unless you're directly making them immediate money then you're worthless to them and not worth their time to train - this is straight from the hiring boss to two agents reaching out to him for help. Lovely, right? Unless you just want to go waste a ton of gas money for little to no pay, then have at it. If you're in dire need of money to pay bills...do NOT waste your time here. They'll sell you a dream but you'll drown in your bills trying to achieve it.
Pros
Ability to set your own hours.
Cons
Cutthroat, no training, pay is horrid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun Job, if you can survive commission only.
Independent Agent (Former Employee) –  Athens, GAOctober 26, 2018
Commission only and being completely self driven is difficult. You got the training, then it was done. You could make 50 calls a day and all of them have been in contact with an AFLAC agent in the past two weeks, or you could make 2 calls and land 2 huge sales.
Pros
Own hours, Bonuses, Travel Opprotunities
Cons
Commission Only, Need to be extremely slef motivated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You never know if you will make money.
Aflac Agent (Current Employee) –  IdahoOctober 26, 2018
Complete commission. High turnover, even in upper management. No stability. You MUST have a different reliable income in order to take the 2-3 years it will take for Aflac to possibly be your only source of income.
Pros
Make your own schedule
Cons
Not allot of help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taught me a lot
District Sales Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 25, 2018
I learned a lot about running a business working with Aflac. The overarching desire to help others is prevalent throughout the company. The opportunity for advancement is solely based on personal accomplishment which is great for stoking entrepreneurial fires.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Independent Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYOctober 25, 2018
If you're willing to put in the time and learn Aflac can be a great financial opportunity with growth. Aflac makes it fun and encouraging 2 get you where you need to be with sales.
Pros
Can be a big money maker and flexible schedule.
Cons
The market can be very saturated in your area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly a great place to work
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Columbus, GAOctober 24, 2018
Aflac is truly a great place to work, fast pace, great pay. Unfortunately in some areas (NOT ALL) leadership can be the biggest downside. They need more leadership training and development and simply need to remove bad/toxic leaders.
Pros
Employee centered work place, great benefits, competitive pay
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great minded people
Employee Benefits Consultant, coordinator trainer (Current Employee) –  Columbus, GAOctober 24, 2018
Great place to work at people are nice and motivate you to push harder to attend your goal the only thing the income is not consistent as you have to keep opening business to stay in the game
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aflac in Troy Michigan is terrible
Benefits Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIOctober 23, 2018
Absolutely terrible terrible place. Don’t even apply or go to the interviews here. Poor management, poor support, commission based but set up for failure. All around poor office.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth the time
INSURANCE AGENT (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaOctober 22, 2018
YOu had to drive all over the state, you had other people coming into your area and taking your clients away from you. YOu were commissioned passed pay and they would not tell you if your commissioned got taken back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will not work until licensed
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Rosedale, MDOctober 21, 2018
will not work unless licensed, if i am not licensed i will not get paid but they will hold your work for you but i dont know how true this is but the company from different areas wished to hire me until today and its 2018 that was back in 2012-2014 be licensed or you wont get paid and you pick how many hours you want to work...and the pay is decent ....good for the most part and benefits
Pros
everything but pay
Cons
not licensed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office and field work
Insurance Producer - Independent Contractor (1099) (Current Employee) –  Towson, MDOctober 18, 2018
A typical work day was in office calls and then meeting with clients in the field. This job was 100 % commission based. I decided to leave Aflac for a job with a more consistent salary.
Cons
Able to meet new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Regional Admin/Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 18, 2018
This company is a great company to work for. the training and guidance Aflac gives makes you feel you are apart of a family.They teach you many different business skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aflac. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,589 reviews
5848
4653
3560
2281
1247

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture